We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B during our SA Travels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B during our SA Travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Rivonia twice during our trip to South Africa. We absolutely loved it. The owners and staff were very friendly and make us feel so welcome. It was also kid friendly which was important to us. The breakfast was outstanding and our children absolutely loved watching the birds especially the Guinea Fowl! We felt like we were in a country setting even though we were in the city. The rooms had everything we needed, were clean and everything very well maintained. Of all the places we stayed on our trip, the Rivonia B&B was the best. I would highly recommend Rivonia to anyone looking for a great place to stay while in Joburg.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    70
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
130
44
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manzini
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was our second stay at Rivonia B&B and all we can say is we will never stay anywhere else when we are in Joburg. This place has everything you want when you are away from home - great rooms, wonderfull breakfast and very friendly staff - all in a safe and relaxing environment.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us this excellent review. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have stayed at Rivonia Bed and Breakfast many times. This is our home away from home. The rooms are very clean, staff are super nice and Breakfast is the best ever.

Thank you to the Rivonia Bed and Breakfast Team for making our stay so wonderfull.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thank you for the kind words! You and your husband are part of the Rivonia B&B family. You are extra special people and we always look forward to your sojourns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Joined friends at the bed and breakfast for a wonderful breakfast. Your staff are friendly and your hostess (tall blond lady) was ensuring guests was happy. The bird feeders were beautiful to see the birds and the tweeting.
Had a tour of the facility with my friends and discovered you are even pet friendly, wow - what a win, I always travel with my toy pom. Will recommend to other friends. Thanks for the experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms I viewed were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
What a surprise to receive a review from friends visiting our guests. Thanks so much! We take great pride in our Rivonia B&B breakfasts. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwekwe, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Rivonia B&B is the place to be. I greatly enjoyed spending some time ther with my wife and kidz. The kidz thoroughly enjoyed the experience next time we in Joburg will definitely not go anywhere but B&B. The staff was friendly and they made us feel like we at home. The beds where comfortable with spacious rooms. Breakfast was excellent esp. the coffee.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
You and your family are welcome any time! So glad you enjoyed your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Rivonia B&B is a pleasent place in very good location. You get everything what you need for your business trip and the atmosphere of the place is unique.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanislav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
We liked that 'our atmosphere is unique'. It makes us feel special. Thank you so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have been to Jo'burg many times and stayed at different places but, Rivonia has been the BEST without doubt.
The room was spacious with very comfortable beds. Very nice full kitchenette and bathroom with lots of hot water. All very clean.
Excellent breakfast and very, very pleasant, caring and helpful staff.
All in all we had a wonderful 2 weeks stay at Rivonia and will definitely stay there again. To all traveling South Africa Rivonia would be my best recommendation.
Thank you to the management and staff of Rivonia.
Thank you very, very much for the LOVELY FLOWERS in our room when we got back from the hospital. It was very touching. God bless.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Naina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillymSouthAfrica, Owner at Rivonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
We were thrilled to receive notification of your review. So glad you found your stay with us special. Our team is 'muito simpatico' as they say in Portuguese. They try to go out of their way to make guests feel at home. Do visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
6.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivonia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivonia Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 River Road | Gauteng, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivonia Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning, country-style guest house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac, within a security area. Attractive, well-equipped rooms, each with its own entrance, nestle amongst trees in a large rambling garden. Strategically located in Sandton, north of Johannesburg, Rivonia B&B offers easy access to all major highways and is within easy reach of Sandton City, the Sandton Convention Centre, Gallagher Estate, the Barnyard Theatre, Montecasino and Sunninghill and Morningside Clinics. Mouth watering breakfasts, buffet & cooked-to-order, are served daily. Dinners are served Mondays - Thursdays (by arrangement). A shuttle service is available for transfers to & from OR Tambo & Lanseria Airports (charges apply). Rivonia B&B offers free internet access and DSTV (the hotel bouquet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rivonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing