We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs and Pizza's and the biggest wine glasses!”
Review of Rocket

Rocket
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Rivonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great Ribs and Pizza's and the biggest wine glasses!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We enjoyed a good meal at Rocket with good, but not too invasive waitress service. The wine we enjoyed was called Sophie't' Blanche which , apparently, slang for Sauvignon Blanc and, at only 140 Rand a bottle (£7) it was excellent. I enjoyed the ribs whilst my guests enjoyed Salmon and a vegetarian pizza (sin carne). The restaurant is spacious and comfortable but the smell of cigarette smoke 'wafted' through occasionally, spoiling the experience. The dessert options were very good and the whole meal cost less than 600 Rand (£33).
My only criticism is that the waiters appear to be US trained and clear plates before everyone has finished eating!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matkincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“dissapointing platter”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We came on a Saturday afternoon for a few drinks and a snack. I ordered the platter with cheeses and cold cuts and was quite dissappointed with it. It took a while before it arrived and was quite boring: a few slices of bland cheese with a pile of blue cheese in the middle, some slices of ham and chorizo with three leaves of rocket surrounded by (too many) dried figs and olives. Way overpriced in my opinion. Service was good and fast and the atmosphere was as could be expected on a Saturday afternoon..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab lunch venue ..”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch with my girlfriends - fab ! Wine selection is good and was nicely chilled for a summers day lunch. The waiter was attentive and did not blink an eye as we mixed and matched the menu to our tastes. He was quietly attentive but did not hover even as we lingered on for ages. Chicken livers were a treat (sauce could have been a little thicker), chips definitely some of the best in Joburg and squid / calamari combo was a hit. Lovely atmosphere, good food and wine and friends to share it with - what more could a girl ask !!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallyD040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We so enjoyed our meal at Rocket - all 4 meal selections were outstanding and the service was great...only suggestion would be to spruce up the interior it looked a little tired...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great casual place to eat”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Food was quite good, good service. We were there on a Friday night and it was very busy but we still had good service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocket also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
 
Rivonia, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Rocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing