We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it better than the Apartheid Museum”

Liliesleaf Farm & Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rivonia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Westlake Village, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liked it better than the Apartheid Museum”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very interesting museum. Covered a shorter period of time than the Apartheid, but in much more detail.
We very much enjoyed our visit and were fascinated to learn of the planning that had taken place during that period of So. African history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    61
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well revamped display.”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The new exhibition is really well done and gives one a good feel of the history. Don't bother eating there though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bertram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I'm only Now Starting to GET IT!!!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

In the most incredibly powerful, yet gentle manner, the museum at Lilliesleaf Farm & Museum informs, provokes and draws out the gamut of human emotion without lecturing, hectoring or even showing the slightest hint of finger pointing!

It is a snapshot in time of arguably one of the most poignant moments in South Africa's History - the Rivonia Trials - where Mandela et al. were captured and sentenced to prison terms exceeding 20 years, set in the very real location that was the refuge, the strategy planning location and the place of final capture of - amongst others - Nelson Mandela, and those many figures (famous and unsung) who risked all to free the entire South African Nation.

Having grown up in South Africa, I left with a deeper and possibly for the first time more accurate understanding of what happened leading up to 1963, but also more questions than ever before about the WHY!

This museum has amazing footage taken at the time of the institution of Apartheid, of the leaders of the ANC, PAC etc during their arrests, the many atrocities that happened during the era of PASS LAWS, secret interview with various "wanted" political leaders, and yet, all this is presented in a very non-hostile manner. There are also interactive displays and interesting and amusing relics from the time of the resistance! This museum is most certainly about learning from the past and moving forward rather than about victimisation and blame. We left feeling uplifted and amazed at the human spirit! It is worth visiting again and again!

It is conveniently based in Rivonia, nearby the trendy and tourist friendly Sandton, easy to find. I went with family but feel this is not the place to take very young children.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Being a first time visitor to Johannesburg I had no idea what to expect at Liliesleaf but I'm so glad I went to check it out. This is a really well laid out museum with thought provoking and emotive exhibits. I toured the area on my own, relying on the guide pamphlet and signs along the way. The film which you can see in the little theatre was very interesting and gave a brief history to the events leading up to the raid on Liliesleaf and subsequent Rivonia trial. I was particularly moved by the story of Bram Fischer, absolutely fascinating. I would definitely recommend this little museum. I only had an hour to see it however I could have easily spent double that time there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing reconstructions”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

No expense has been spared reconstructing this historic farmhouse and relating the experiences and history surrounding it.

Perhaps most interesting are the photographs and newsreels from 1963 and prior which shows the transformation of the area from remote rural homestead to a museum now landlocked well within the vast Johannesburg suburbs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liliesleaf Farm & Museum also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Liliesleaf Farm & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing