We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but needs a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Louise Terrace Guest house
Ranked #3 of 9 Rivonia B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting johannesburg for training. My booking at a different hotel got cancelled due to renovation so that hotel made arrangements and booked me into the guesthouse. On first appearance it looked a bit worn out. Garden looked like it was not taken care of in a while and the parking is a bit cramped. The room i was staying in was spacious. Furniture needs to be retouched. Some of it is old, Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was nice but limited in what you can order of the menu. Overall experience was intermediate. Not an experience i would freely opt to have again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Helao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a really nice time at this guest house. So conveniently located, lots of attention to detail, and the manager, Brian, was so friendly. He went the extra mile to make us feel at home! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseTerraceBnB, Owner at Louise Terrace Guest house, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Thank you for the feedback, having spent my childhood growing up in this industry I strive to make a weary traveler at home, your review makes me love what I do even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked my mother into the BnB and she has not stopped raving about how comfortable her stay was. The staff was very friendly and Brian was an amazing host. He even allowed for a later than normal check out at no additional charge. Very clean establishment, tranquil, trendy and homely at the same time. Real value for money. I would strongly recommend the establishment and I will be making use of it in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed 1 night in Room 15. Situated on busy main road next to offices, so there isn't much to look at. I was worried about the noise from the traffic, but it did calm down after 8pm so I was able to have a good night's sleep. Comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent wi-fi connectivity. A hairdryer would be good and a chair with a back, and a comfortable armchair. There was a big crack on the cupboard/mirror. The water from the shower did cause a bit of a puddle on the outside. There was a dressing table with a stool, but this is not good if you have to work on your laptop. Nicholas & Brian were very hospitable. It was quiet in the breakfast room when I left and had a good chat to Nicholas and the 3 cute dogs. For longer stays I would prefer a guesthouse that has a lovely garden to look out to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I usually stay with friends when I am in South Africa, but it did not work out this time. So I decided to stay with Nicolas Brett (the owner) at his guest house in Rivonia, for the whole of October 13, as I met Nicolas in May this year…was suppose to stay in the guest house but had to cancel as we stayed in our house – and at that time, Nicolas gave us back all the deposit – amazing! I live overseas at the moment and usually go to South Africa once a year to sort out all our stuff like medical tests, tax, house issues (rented out) etc. and of course visiting family & friends. This was the first time in four years that I stayed in rented accommodation when coming home and it was a great experience. The location of the guest house could not have been better. My gym, which I always sign on with when I am in South Africa, is just down the road. Many of my friends, my old company & places I had to go to are close by –so perfect. I had my own drive-in entrance where my car was parked securely just below the staircase of my spacious 1-bed apartment, which also had a small balcony with 2 chairs & table. I had a small kitchen with cooker, microwave, fridge and washing machine (absolutely needed that!) & kitchen counter, separate bathroom with shower & specious bedroom with very comfortable, large bed, wardrobe & 2 comfy arm chairs. The room had lots of light, due to the large windows. I also had wireless internet as part of the deal! I woke up every morning early to the twittering of birds, which was wonderful. I could see the branches of a large tree through my bathroom window. There are also lots of trees around in neighbouring properties, which are visible via the large windows….but nobody could look into my room! Although the guest house is in the middle of businesses and roads, I never really heard street noise. The location of my dwelling was so private – I never really saw other guests. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was cleaned every day – By the way, there is now also a wonderful restaurant on his premises – open for breakfast & lunch…for now! I had a wonderful stay at this well located guest house. When my husband accompanies me in the future – or if I need accommodation again for myself in the future, we/I will definitely stay with Nicolas in his guest lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Every time I stay at the immaculate guest house, I receive nothing short of personalised hospitality. Last time I was there for business, on a not so friendly budget and Nicolas was flexible enough to ensure that me and my colleagues have confort way way beyond our budget. Oh and the breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hon Remmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We never had the pleasure as yet to stay at the Louise Terrace Guesthouse but would like to write about my experience with Nicolas.
My husband and I are currently working overseas and planned to visit South Africa for 24 days to sort out various issues. It took me a long time, on the internet, as well as using online accommodation agencies, which by the way were totally useless and just wasted my time, although I had given them exact requirements in terms budget, area, secure parking for 2 cars, internet access, small kitchen and most important exclusive use of a washing machine, as I always do my own washing wherever I go! – I was bombarded with at least 60 emails of unsuitable places.
When I found Louise Terrace Guesthouse and read all the positive reviews, I immediately phoned and spoke to Nicolas. He was just amazing – this is what he did : he allocated a one-bed apartment for us (which took some juggling on his part due to other bookings he had), with private driveway with secure parking for 2 cars – he even went out and bought a washing machine for the unit we were going to occupy – just amazing. Unexpectedly our tenant who was living in our house moved out and our fully furnished home was empty. We knew that there was damage and maintenance work had to be done. I cancelled the booking, for the 23 nights with Nicolas just one week before we arrived in South Africa. He was so kind to me on the phone, said he had total understanding for our situation. I knew he bought the washing machine specifically for us and offered to buy it off him. Amazingly he said that he would utilise the washing machine and gave us back our full payment! Amazing, amazing, amazing – that’s all I can say.
It is very unlikely that our house will be available to us the next time my husband and I are coming to South Africa and we will definitely stay with Nicolas.
Well, our time in SA is nearly over…leaving this Sunday, after fixing many things in our house. Nicolas invited me to have coffee with him before we leave – this will happen tomorrow and I look forward meeting him. Nina

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NinaAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rivonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Muco Guesthouse
Muco Guesthouse
#9 of 9 in Rivonia
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandton Lodge Rivonia
Sandton Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 7 in Rivonia
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sand River Guest House
Sand River Guest House
#4 of 9 in Rivonia
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louise Terrace Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louise Terrace Guest house

Address: 123 12th Avenue | Louise Terrace, Rivonia 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rivonia
Price Range: $36 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Louise Terrace Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best rates in the area, Louise Terrace is a luxuriously appointed AA recommended guest house in Rivonia that caters for guests desiring exclusivity, luxury Rivonia accommodation, and personal service, in a secure environment close to Sandton and is easily accessible. Louise Terrace Rivonia Bed and Breakfast offers to its clients superior rooms. 5 Self catering rooms which can be rented on a month basis at reduced rates, each en - suite room is appointed with wireless internet connectivity, and is decorated in Natural fabrics and is comfortably appointed. Each room has an HD LCD flat screen TV, and has a Coffee/Tea service in the room. Breakfast is free with a choice of either full English or continental breakfast. Please note that there is NO Breakfast served on Sundays Relax in our luxuriously appointed lounge and in the courtyard and terrace under the trees in this secure property. We offer a new conference facility that doubles as a function venue that seats 20 comfortably adjacent to our dining room,patio and Covered veranda. Relax in our luxuriously appointed lounge and in the courtyard and terrace under the trees in this secure property. We offer a new conference facility that doubles as a function venue that seats 20 comfortably adjacent to our dining room,patio and Covered veranda. Louise Terrace B and B in Rivonia is ideally located a mere 15 minutes from Fourways, Montecasino and Sandton Central. Numerous gourmet restaurants, coffee shops, boutique shops and restaurant bars are only 5 minutes away at Rivonia Square, or at Chilli lane in Sunninghill. Lanseria International Airport and OR Tambo International Airport are a mere 35 minutes away, along with Northgate shopping centre and the Coca Cola Dome. Louise Terrace is situated in Gauteng Province located in the leafy suburb of Rivonia. Louise Terrace is available for exclusive use for Corporate stays or families. 5 Standard rooms which can be rented on a month basis at reduced rates from R9900 (Self-Catering From R11900) per month including Bouquet DSTV, Utilities, Weekly cleaning, Linen and fully furnished. Free Wi Fi , Rooms can accommodate 2 people in 2 3/4 beds or 1 person in a Queen or King size Bed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Louise Terrace Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louise Terrace Guest House Rivonia/Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing