We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful setting, comfortable and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful setting, comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We spent two nights here on our way to the Kruger NP. and one on the way back. We were made very welcome by the owners Graham and Anita. The room we stayed in was luxurious and every whim was catered for, infact it was so comfortable we didn't want to leave. The staff were curtious and helpful. There is a notional menu for an evening meal but there are plenty restaurants close by with delivery options if required; but it is worth being hungry for the amazing breakfast where we were spoilt for choice. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leasholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
80
34
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Few trips to joburg for business and I tried some guest house. This one is far the best I have found. Everything went as well as it could have been. Makes you really fill at home. The owners are very kind and I will with pleasure remind my first night when we begin a world tour of liquors and wine. Place is ideally located for people having meetings in Centurion or midrand because you are against traffic. I will come back to joburg and I know that I will not have to look for another place.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois-remy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I could not have had a more comfortable and pleasurable stay. The owners are very kind, interesting and helpful; breakfasts and suppers were excellent and plentiful; and I loved the art and decor throughout. A safe area with good bars and restaurants closeby, and nice to be able to relax in the garden by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0n_B_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Situated in the northern suburb of Rivola (just north of Sandton) this guest house is truly an Oasis which more than warrants its 5 star rating. The interior of the guest house is beautifully decorated with an attention to detail that will constantatly amaze you. The tropically landscaped grounds, pool & lapa are also immaculate. A large staff is employed to see that perfection is maintained. Breakfast is a feast with a lovely variety of delictable foods & freshly baked breads & pasteries that would rival any world class hotel. There are many tasteful little touches provided by the owners Anita & Graham who are very oblidging. There is easy access by highway from the airport to Joburg. If you don't have a car there is a shopping area within walking distance which has places for lunch & dinner, banks & ATM machines & a variety of shops & services. Otherwise be prepared to rent a car or hire a taxi. Anita does also offer delicious set dinners at a very reasonable price. We stayed a total of 7 nights between safaris & could not have been happier. The beautiful surroundings & warm atmosphere makes The Oasis the place to stay during your visit to Joburg.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maraposa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xrhodie, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear Anonymous Guests.

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is these words that inspire us to try even harder, and realise that we have made someone appreciate our hard efforts.

Thank you again and we hope to host you soon.

Warmest regards

Anita and Grayham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregDurban
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I often travel to Johannesburg on Buisness, and the Oasis is my favorite place to stay. The location is ideal for easy access around the city, while the quiet gardens are a perfect place to relax after a busy day.

The breakfasts are outstanding, and every room has access to wireless broadband.

Graham and Anita are wonderful hosts, their attention to detail sets the Oasis apart from other Hotels and Guest Houses in the City, and as other Guests have mentioned you often feel like you are in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I had never stayed in a Guest House before on my trips to Joburg but proximity to the business district mandated me branching out from my usual haunts. What a wonderful surprise to find this gem of a place! The welcome was superb. I travelled with my husband and we immediately felt like we were visiting old friends. Anita and Graham really know what the customer wants.Our room was large and had every 5* comfort. It was immaculate from the cleanliness of the rooms to the manicured gardens with swimming pool. Security was also well-thought out without being obtrusive. Staff had a smile 24 hours a day and every request for assistance with travel or just recommending a good bottle of wine was met with courtesy and immediately attended to. Despite being bed and breakfast, Anita and Graham offer well-cooked, simple evening meals if you want to stay in at night. There is a well-stocked honesty bar and some of the best wines I have ever sampled at excellent prices- and I live in France a lot of the time, so I've tried some pretty good ones! I cannot recommend this place highly enough if you are travelling either on business or for pleasure, as the location is very good for Rosebank, Bryanston and Sandton. Luxury accomodation at an affordable price!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xrhodie, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Dear Sharon.

Thanks so much for your kind words. Even more so it was wonderful to meet the two of you. I really enjoyed your company and look forward to the day to see you again.

Warm regards

Grayham and Anita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The rooms are clean and well appointed, the washrooms are elegant with good shower pressure, and the whole place is spotless. There is free WiFi with good signal throughout the complex and the honesty bar is the most fairly priced I've ever seen. There is a wonderful yard in which you can lounge by the pool and marvel at the beautiful garden. There is an iPod dock atop a large and stylish speaker in each room, along with a nice sized TV and DVD player. An extensive DVD collection invites you to spend a night in rather than on the town. Breakfasts are plentiful and dinners can be had in a family setting with other guest for exceptionally low prices. The owners are very helpful and pleasant people, making your stay easy and fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.4 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
3.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
322 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.3 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Boutique Hotel

Property: The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Address: 29 Homestead Road | between 11th and 12th Avenue, Rivonia 2128, South Africa (Formerly The Oasis Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oasis Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The little luxuries make you feel special...silver service, crystal glassware, Persian carpets, an original South Afican art collection, pillow topped mattresses and 300 thread count linen. The attention to detail catches your eye...the breakfasts, the filter coffee, the welcome drink. The added extras make it value for money...free wireless internet, iPod docking station, DVD player and it's the superb service and warm hospitality that will keep you coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Oasis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Boutique Hotel Rivonia/Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing