We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I travel widely for work and am becoming increasingly allergic to large hotels, no matter how many stars they have behind their name, but when I choose a guest house for a more homely and peaceful environment, I am often disappointed by the lack of comfort and service. Not so here! I stayed at the Oasis for approximately 4 weeks for work in June / July and was extremely impressed by how welcoming and friendly Anita and Grahame were, without being in any way intrusive or invasive of privacy. The level of attention to detail in the furnishings and finishings rival the most excellent larger hotels, the garden is a delight and the practice of hanging left-over fruit in the enormous trees, makes sure that the garden is always populated by magnificent birds of all colours and sizes. In all a really great choice form just about every aspect I can think of. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: the garden rooms were my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seansalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write your review. We so enjoyed having you and your crew here to liven up the place and we were particularly delighted when you chose to bring your family to stay here as well. What confident young gentlemen you have both parented! We strapped a Barbet breeding log on to that "feeding tree" and the Barbets' now have a younster peeping out - too cute! I will post a photo of him for you. We also have two tiny babies in their flimsy "spider web nest" This is the third set of fledglings form this Sunbird family. Fond regards and good memories, Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

On our 4-week trip throughout the region, the folks at Oasis were one of the friendliest and warmest we met. The service level is high and we can't think of something they didn't think of! You can even make your own sandwiches for lunch for free. The chef taught cooking himself, but is a real natural - what a great food. Although the interior of Oasis is very classic, it suits the place perfectly. Rooms are big, comfortable and have big en-suite bathrooms. The garden and pool area are also very well-kept. Furthermore, the guesthouse is very close to "Lillisleaf", the hideout of the 'Rivonia-12' (including Nelson Mandela) which now turned into a very nice modern museum and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

What a breath of fresh air to meet two such young, enthusiastic and adventurous travellers! Thank you for the review and I will definitely let Owen know that his skill in the kitchen is appreciated! We look forward to your next visit where your travels take you further south into our wonderful country. Kind regards, Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I can't recommend this guest house highly enough, everything about it has been absolutely faultless. The welcome from everyone was warm and friendly ( including the pets), the room was spotless, the staff are kind and efficient, the grounds are beautiful and as a single female business traveller in ZA I have always felt secure and comfortable. I may have stayed on business but I will be coming back and staying with my husband for pleasure. Many thanks to all of you for making my stay so enjoyable and comfortable

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review. We are thrilled when guests rave about The Oasis - we try really hard to be "a cut above the rest" and are delighted to be termed a "gem" Hopefully your comment about feeling secure and comfortable as a single female business traveller will encourage more ladies to take the plunge and try out The Oasis. See you soon. Kind regards, Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to South Africa more than 10 times in the last 24 months and always staying in Oasis Guest House. It is the best place you can ever chose to stay at in Johannesburg. Very friendly staff and owners. From the moment you arrive till you check out you will never feel away from home. Well decorated guest house with lots of old and traditional stuff. Food is great and taste just like home. Highly recommended .....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohdalqaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you Mr.M. We enjoy the fact that you keep coming back here. It is a compliment that you highly recommend us and that you find The Oasis a home like your own - looking forward to the next visit. Kind regards, Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I with my wife stayed in Aug 2012.
A five star B&B .
This property along with owner and staff is flawless.

I am a frequent traveller and always use public transport . This property just a street away from main bus route. Some good Indian restaurants are very nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjeevkuchhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for putting pen to paper! We are indeed fortunate to have a huge selection of restaurants in the area and Raj (the Indian restaurant up the road) is one of my favourites. Looking forward to your next trip down south. Kind regards, Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the 5 star b&b in August 2013. From the moment we arrived we were treated well. The owner and his daughter were very friendly and helped us with our luggage . The place is very tastefully decorated and the location is superb. The breakfast was scrumptious and we felt right at home . The only upsetting thing was that there was no ironing board in the room and no regular iron but other than that we really enjoyed our stay. There is also a pillow room so you can choose your own pillow , be it down, latex etc. The staff are efficient and very professional. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: 5 star with difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shan069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation. Hopefully this will encourage some of your own wedding guests to spend time here as well at the end of the year! Although we have put a steam iron in each room, your comments about the regular iron are noted. There are obviously times when the steam iron will not suffice. An iron was the cause of a huge fire in a nearby guest house a few years back and has made us very hesitant to send irons to the bedrooms. Since your outfits were for a special occasion, we did not mind lending you our own iron and board. We look forward to another visit to your "hood" Best wishes for the preparations in the coming months. Kind regards, Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the Oasis for 3 nights in late July. I can honestly say I have never stayed at a more welcoming and charming hotel/guest house. The grounds are beautiful, the interior decor is an eclectic mix of old world charm, and is very comfortable, clean and welcoming. The food was excellent, as was the service, and Graham and Anita are clearly focussed on providing a world class experience for their guests. I'll be staying at the Oasis the next time I visit Joburg!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcmolloy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesburgBeazley, Owner at The Oasis Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Clean, comfortable, interesting, welcoming, world class experience… all words we love to hear! I will pass on the message to all the staff members that made your stay here with us a memorable one. Hopefully your next visit will be warm enough to swim in our pool! Kind regards, Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivonia
0.4 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
8.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
88 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis Boutique Hotel

Address: 29 Homestead Road | between 11th and 12th Avenue, Rivonia 2128, South Africa (Formerly The Oasis Guest House)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Rivonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rivonia
Price Range: $88 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oasis Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The little luxuries make you feel special...silver service, crystal glassware, Persian carpets, an original South Afican art collection, pillow topped mattresses and 300 thread count linen. The attention to detail catches your eye...the breakfasts, the filter coffee, the welcome drink. The added extras make it value for money...free wireless internet, iPod docking station, DVD player and it's the superb service and warm hospitality that will keep you coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oasis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Boutique Hotel Rivonia/Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing