We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about the vibe”
Review of Tribeca Original

Tribeca Original
Ranked #174 of 687 Restaurants in Pretoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's about the vibe”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

(Brooklyn) Great place for people watching - cool waiters, chilled cocktails, great food and stunning menu.

Helpful?
Thank Travelgraag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    54
    29
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not quite "American" but reliable for drinks and coffee”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We liked this place for casual drinks, morning coffee, or a quick bite with friends because the menu is large and has options for everyone. The place is slightly more mixed racially, and is one of the only spots where you'll see openly gay men enjoying dinner together, which makes it feel a bit more like home. It's not New York by any means, but it's a good choice while in Pretoria!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sara_shumway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ibiza in Pretoria”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

If you looking for a fabulous play to "chill out" - people watch - tap your feet to the to the beat - bask under the umbrellas whilst fine mist sprays keep you cool - fabulous food and desserts - the best cappucinos and margaritas - you have to go to Tribeca on Brooklyn Square Pretoria.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheKraffts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lot of people”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The drinks and so were good, but sometimes there can be many people

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank MatthysE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exactly What I Needed”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

I was recently in Pretoria, South Africa and was invited to go to Tribeca with some friends. The cafe is located in an outdoor shopping centre in an area of the city named Brooklyn, just minutes from the University of Pretoria. I arrived close to 10 pm and found a bustling patio ambience decorated with mood lighting and umbrellas from the earlier days sun. Any customer would instantly feel relaxed and welcomed by gracious staff who made an extra effort to accommodate my rather large party. Although we all only ordered beverages (coffees, hot chocolates, and smoothies that were prepared with brilliance), sights and smells from neighboring tables teased my senses as I viewed dishes that stimulated my wonder and curiosity. The next time I am in Pretoria I plan to visit Tribeca and snack on their bistro-stye pizza while taking in its properly fitting atmosphere. Tribeca will most definitely please locals and visitors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodGuy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribeca Original also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Tribeca Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing