We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Ciao!

Ciao!
Ranked #376 of 703 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have been dining at Ciao for 12 years and never had a bad meal, well priced and the food is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Italian”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Food is good value for money. Enjoyed their pasta dishes - huge portions. Service needs to be improved. Overall, nice ambience with good food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rishen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bland, Boring and Overrated:(”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Words cannot describe my disappointment at the quality of the food I was served at Ciao! on Sunday, 28 October 2012. I had the Milano pizza, which was soggy and tasteless. The miniscule bits of chicken were insipid, and the sun-dried tomatoes appeared to be no more than "bits of gravel". The quality of the dish left me wondering whether the pizza was made with the previous day's leftovers. I was expecting a hot, sizzling pizza, but sadly what I received was a lukewarm, limp affair. The amaretto cheesecake was equally bland. The inattentive waitron staff made the task of placing my order an ordeal, to the extent that I had to signal the manager to bring me the dessert menu. In fact, I was served by THREE different guys, as ordering had lapsed into a case of whoever's eye I could catch and flag down. Not my best dining expereince. Sorry Ciao!...in my case, it's bye-bye for keeps.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch special!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

They lived up to the advertised Lunch time Express for 39.95.Worth the money and food ready in 10 minutes max!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartbeespoort
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ITALIAN EATERY”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nothing spectacular but nice atmosphere and typical Italian menu. Food prepared on time and waiters helpful. Manager must try and be more imaginative

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sp l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao! also viewed

 

Been to Ciao!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing