We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FernIvy Guest House
Ranked #85 of 358 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

There are no words to describe Fern Ivy. It is unsurpassed. Marguerite and her husband are extremely welcoming and energetic and easy to relate to. They picked us up from the train station and gave us a little driving tour of Pretoria on the way back to the guesthouse. Marguerite then took us on a tour of the house, which was architecturally modern with classic decor and cool features - two roof decks with great views! We had our choice of rooms - and it was a tough decision!They were both exquisite, but we chose the one that was closer to the pool and hot tub. We were tired from traveling and thought we would enjoy dinner in by the pool. Marguerite even helped us order sushi from a local restaurant. The rooms are large, well furnished, and equipped with kitchenettes. We really enjoyed the complimentary decanter of sherry. And of course, there was plenty of Amarula at the bar!

We weren't there long enough to use the fitness room, but Marguerite is quite the runner and knows of a lot of good routes in the area. If you're fast enough, she'll even run with you! In the morning my husband and I (sans Marguerite, b/c we were hurting from all the travel and the major elevation differential) went for a short jog to the Union buildings, and then returned to the guesthouse for a delicious breakfast prepared by the staff - who were also wonderful.

The ambiance and hospitality of Fern Ivy were inspiring - stay here and you will seriously consider converting your own home into a guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmercier311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It was really nice seeing you again in Boston. And thank you again for the breakfast. Also, thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

What a find. Rooms are well appointed with lovely white cotton sheets, good shower and lovely breakfast. Fernivy is well located near a lovely cafe and shops. The owners and staff were very helpful. On our first night we were a little disorganised and concerned about walking to the cafe so the owners daughter drove us down. The next day my husband discovered he has lost a critical part of his Ipad and he was driven to the nearest Apple store. All in all everything worked well and we given fantastic assistance. I highly recommend Fernivy

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have the large room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We glad we could help. It was nice having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

FernIvy is an example of perfect guesthouse hospitality, which you can find only in South Africa. Location is perfect both for business and holiday, the neighborhood is really quiet and beautiful, and the Union Buildings are just a few minutes walk away. Ample parking, small pool and a very nice rooftop veranda for sunbathing. Service could not be any better than this. We will definitely go back! Prices are very good concerning the luxury quality!.

Room Tip: Number one is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. It was nice having you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

South African guest houses are usually really nice and FernIvy is not an exception. There is a real attention to details in service, rooms and hospitality. The staff is extremely helpful and make you feel welcome and well cared for. There is everything you need for relaxation but also for work. Wireless internet works perfectly; there are comfortable chairs if you need work, and a kitchenette is also there if you rather have your meal at the guest house.

The garden has a nice relaxed feelilng with huge banana trees. And if you have time for sun bathing you can go to the rooftop, admire the view and enjoy the sun.

FernIvy is conveniently located close to the Union building - so there are plenty of nice surroundings for a jog. You can reach the Gautrain station by car in only 5 minutes and the nearest cafe, restaurant and shops in 5 minutes walk.

If you have time, listen to Oscar, the eight year old parrot of the house, he has a great repertoire of sounds, whistles and words.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saivayrynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
When you are back in Finland, remember that the warm South African sun is waiting for you on our rooftop patio! Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. It was nice having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have been staying at Fernivy regularly for about 4 years and it is an exceptional guest house catering for all my needs. Marguerite, the owner and her staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It has a wonderful location and all rooms are fully equipped with kitchenette, DSTV, A/C, wifi etc.

It is quiet, impeccably clean and full of amenities ranging from pool, spa, as well as a well-stocked honesty bar that has a state of the art pinball machine if you like that kind of thing.

I stay at Fernivy about 100 nights in the year and recommend it highly.

The only negative thing can say is the squawk of Oscar the Parrot.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 are bigger with balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Oscar only squawks at regular and valued guests.
In any case, he/she says to say "Hi" in English.
And thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Fernivy a lot this year. Two years ago we were also there and had some good memories of it. This year we decided to come with our parents, both well into their seventies. Fernivy comes with fluffy towels, a whole lot of pillows in crispy clean white beddings, your own kitchenette, and some old brown sherry with chocolate to begin your stay there. You can bring snacks, order food, use their bar stacked with beers and wine, the staff is always willing to help you, whether you like to order biltong or find a restaurant, it does not matter. We love it there and will come back again and again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yootje73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thanks. It is always nice to get compliments - especially from overseas visitors. It indicates that we meet international standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

You will be well looked after, I have no complaints whatsoever, neither did my friends, all staff so friendly, rooms so comfortable. Say hello to Oscar the African Grey parrot.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. It is really appreciated.
Oscar says "Hello" too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Meintjieskop Guest Lodge
Meintjieskop Guest Lodge
#32 of 72 in Pretoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.7 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#29 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun Pretoria
Southern Sun Pretoria
#8 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca Ira Wellness Retreat
Ca Ira Wellness Retreat
#86 of 358 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FernIvy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FernIvy Guest House

Property: FernIvy Guest House
Address: 793 Merton Avenue | Eastwood, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — FernIvy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet street in the leafy suburb of Eastwood, between the Union Buildings and the Presidents official residence, this guesthouse caters for the discerning traveller or businessperson. Though in the very heart of the capital city, accommodation is quite and comfortable. En suite bathrooms, pool, tan deck, business centre, panorama patio and pub, jacuzzi and airport transfers. Near universities, hospitals, government departments and sports venues, cinemas, theatres and malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your FernIvy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing