We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True South African hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FernIvy Guest House
Ranked #106 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2011

South African guest houses are usually really nice and FernIvy is not an exception. There is a real attention to details in service, rooms and hospitality. The staff is extremely helpful and make you feel welcome and well cared for. There is everything you need for relaxation but also for work. Wireless internet works perfectly; there are comfortable chairs if you need work, and a kitchenette is also there if you rather have your meal at the guest house.

The garden has a nice relaxed feelilng with huge banana trees. And if you have time for sun bathing you can go to the rooftop, admire the view and enjoy the sun.

FernIvy is conveniently located close to the Union building - so there are plenty of nice surroundings for a jog. You can reach the Gautrain station by car in only 5 minutes and the nearest cafe, restaurant and shops in 5 minutes walk.

If you have time, listen to Oscar, the eight year old parrot of the house, he has a great repertoire of sounds, whistles and words.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saivayrynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

When you are back in Finland, remember that the warm South African sun is waiting for you on our rooftop patio! Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. It was nice having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have been staying at Fernivy regularly for about 4 years and it is an exceptional guest house catering for all my needs. Marguerite, the owner and her staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It has a wonderful location and all rooms are fully equipped with kitchenette, DSTV, A/C, wifi etc.

It is quiet, impeccably clean and full of amenities ranging from pool, spa, as well as a well-stocked honesty bar that has a state of the art pinball machine if you like that kind of thing.

I stay at Fernivy about 100 nights in the year and recommend it highly.

The only negative thing can say is the squawk of Oscar the Parrot.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 are bigger with balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Oscar only squawks at regular and valued guests.
In any case, he/she says to say "Hi" in English.
And thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Fernivy a lot this year. Two years ago we were also there and had some good memories of it. This year we decided to come with our parents, both well into their seventies. Fernivy comes with fluffy towels, a whole lot of pillows in crispy clean white beddings, your own kitchenette, and some old brown sherry with chocolate to begin your stay there. You can bring snacks, order food, use their bar stacked with beers and wine, the staff is always willing to help you, whether you like to order biltong or find a restaurant, it does not matter. We love it there and will come back again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yootje73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thanks. It is always nice to get compliments - especially from overseas visitors. It indicates that we meet international standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

You will be well looked after, I have no complaints whatsoever, neither did my friends, all staff so friendly, rooms so comfortable. Say hello to Oscar the African Grey parrot.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. It is really appreciated.
Oscar says "Hello" too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I spent five days here and really enjoyed the rooms, the ambiance and our hosts. Rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. I overlooked the pool and garden and got so much work done while there.

Breakfast was great. Location was excellent. I was able to walk up to the Union Buildings, the US Embassy and downtown. There's a small shopping area 5 minutes down the road with everything you need.

If you need to be in Pretoria and you'd like a nice, personal touch, I'd highly recommend Fernivy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nantene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

We are glad that you found your stay so pleasant that you extended your stay.

We are sorry that room 9 is not of the same standard,but we rarely make use of it, except in exceptional circumstances like yours.

Oscar has been with us fore some 15 years - that is some 10 years prior to starting the guest house! Still, the majority of the guests seem to like him. Perhaps his effect is louder in room 9!

We cover him up in the evenings on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Very nice rooms, and excellent hosts, who went out of their way to provide personal service. They picked me up from the airport, brought me to malls, and when I had mentioned I liked certain snacks, they were added to the the breakfast basket that is provided in the weekend.
The breakfast served in the lounge and/or on the outside patio was very nice.

I made reservations at FernIvy for a weekend, but ended up staying a week.
This meant I had to change rooms a few times, as most rooms were already booked.That gave me a chance to see the different rooms.
All the rooms I stayed in had a kitchenette with microwave, and al were beautifully decorated.
All rooms had good wireless reception. There is also a computer for guests in the lounge.

Room 1 = the best, upstairs at end of hallway, roomy, own litlle balcony, privacy, king size bed and lovely bath and separate rain shower.

Room 2: upstairs, with balcony, with nice tree next to it, bed either king size or twin whatever you prefer. Roomy, with rainshower (no bath).

Room 6 near pool in corner, light roomy and with comfy sofa but waterfeatures on 2 sites (pool and entrance). Bathroom door cannot close due to very big (very nice) bath (+ rain shower), which may be an issue if you are staying with 2 in the room (but only queen size bed).

Be aware; room next to stairs (9 ), is quite dark due to little daylight. Interior very nice
But room is next to kitchen, so in the morning en during day noise from staff and parrot (imitates ringing phone among others)
Also noise as people walk past on the stairs to and from their rooms. So little privacy
Only shower, and small cupboard as kitchenette, no sink.
Wireless reception was not very good on the guest network, but I was allowed to log on to the second network to get reception.

I did not stay in the rooms on the lower ground next to the pool. They seemed to be quite small. But it is nice to be able to step out into the pool area.
Although the pool was quite cold and limited in size; it is not big enough to comfortably swim laps.

Location: situated in a leafy suburb,with several embassies. A small but nice shopping mall is 10-15 minute walking distance from the B&B. There are cafe's, a small Woolworth supermarket, an excellent photoshop (Ludwig) and a nice craftshop. Also walking distance are the Union Buildings with a nice park.
There is an excellent beautician a few blocks up the road (walking distance): The Green Place, 145 Percy Street
The facial included a lovely massage.

Negative: limited tv channels; majority seemed to be sport channels.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We are glad we could help out and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I enjoyed staying at the guesthouse very much. It is very nice and quite and thus perfect if you are on holiday or in Pretoria for work (which was my case). The owners are very, very nice and helpful and I appreciated their hospitality very much. They are nice and well educated people and surprised me by offering to take me to the city center themselves. The rooms are just perfect - especially for their price. Very nicely furnished and offer all the luxury one can imagine for the category. I also tested the spa offer and enjoyed the massage a lot! I can only recommend you this place and hope myself to be able to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Msm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernivy, Owner at FernIvy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

The rating does not do justice to the review. The review is so complimentary one can not help but wonder why the ratings are not perfect.

Thanks for responding. It was nice having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.6 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
9.9 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#18 of 74 in Pretoria
144 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amper Bo Guest House
Amper Bo Guest House
#218 of 364 in Pretoria
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.7 mi away
TreeTops & Treats Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FernIvy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FernIvy Guest House

Address: 793 Merton Avenue | Eastwood, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: $81 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FernIvy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet street in the leafy suburb of Eastwood, between the Union Buildings and the Presidents official residence, this guesthouse caters for the discerning traveller or businessperson. Though in the very heart of the capital city, accommodation is quite and comfortable. En suite bathrooms, pool, tan deck, business centre, panorama patio and pub, jacuzzi and airport transfers. Near universities, hospitals, government departments and sports venues, cinemas, theatres and malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your FernIvy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing