We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!”

Royal Ridge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Ridge Guest House
Ranked #34 of 360 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I have stayed in Royal Ridge Guest House for 3 months during a project in Pretoria. I cannot explain how warm the environment and the landlady Ms. Dot was at all times...The rooms are extremely clean, the helpers in the house are extremely friendly. The neighbourhoud is very safe. The nice front yard has beautiful roses and a little pool that you can enjoy watching during your breakfasts outside. Without a doubt I would recommend to everyone to taste this warm guest house and enjoy this beautiful country -South Africa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanuCetinAkca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oakland, ca
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Both 'Mrs. Dot' and her guest house are Gems! From the moment you enter her home you feel comfortable, welcome and pampered. I was there for business for a week and totally enjoyed the experience. The gardens (and birds) were fabulous. Mrs. Dot and her staff were sincerely friendly and open. She went out of her way to make us the foods we liked. The rooms are spacious, light filled and quiet and there is even a suite available with its own kitchen/living room should you have a family visit.
Its in the best area in town as well and is totally safe and secure.
I will be back when i come back to SA on vacation!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

WE were allocated the family suite as we requested a Bath for my partner. The Suite consisted of a large lounge and dining room, a Kitchen, which we were not intending to use and 2 bedrooms. The total area was probably 100m2, very nice for a long term stay but unfortunately wasted on an overnight stay.
The gardens are very well kept and the main swimming pool was a nice place to relax after being out and about. There is another small pool in another section of the property.

Negatives...
It is expensive by S.A. standards and the large room was great, but..
1.There is only 1 satellite channel so you are at the mercy of watching the only channel chosen by the hostess.
2. Why is it only the country B@B's that are half the price, make an effort to provide a few biscuits or fruit? It's just the thought that counts and creates a good and lasting impression.
3. The breakfast consisted of 4 cereals, Yoghurt, 1 fruit juice then a platter of 3 fruits. The hot meal was standard bacon and 1 egg, sausage and mushrooms in a creamy cheese sauce. This was followed by some pastries which were at least fresh.
So as I said before it was just a standard breakfast. When staying in a 5 star establishment you don’t expect “standard fare”, it should be exceptional to leave a lasting impression. Am I wrong?

Positives, huge room, tranquil garden, and quiet neighborhood and attentive hostess

  • Liked — Large Room
  • Disliked — Lack of extra touches
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2007

I stayed at the Royal Ridge guest house for 3 weeks while visiting friends in Pretoria and felt quite at home at all times. The setting of the guest house provides privacy when you need it while the warm staff and host are always there to keep you company. Our host Dot de la Rouviere, made us feel like we were part of her family and she always went out of her way to help.

The guest house is well located in the Waterkloof Ridge area, a neighborhood that is quite safe. You will need a car to get around in Pretoria. However, if you are not used to driving on the left side like myself, Ms. Dot is always able to help. I was extremely spoiled during my trip to South Africa and have no idea how to adjust back!

Royal Ridge truly was a home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank serazade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
7.0 mi away
Dinkwe Guest House
Dinkwe Guest House
#36 of 360 in Pretoria
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montpellier Guesthouse
Montpellier Guesthouse
#56 of 360 in Pretoria
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capital House Boutique Hotel
Capital House Boutique Hotel
#32 of 360 in Pretoria
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Waterhouse Guest Lodge
Waterhouse Guest Lodge
#40 of 360 in Pretoria
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duke & Duchess Boutique Hotel
Duke & Duchess Boutique Hotel
#27 of 360 in Pretoria
38 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hudson House
Hudson House
#16 of 360 in Pretoria
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ridge Guest House

Property: Royal Ridge Guest House
Address: 269 Polaris Avenue | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 360 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Ridge Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Royal Ridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing