We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much better than any hotel”
Review of 40 on Ilkey B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
40 on Ilkey B&B
Ranked #53 of 372 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have stayed there more times than I care to remember - still the best value for money and situated less than 5 minutes from Menlyn and Lynwood Bridge - Some very good places to eat out and very close to teh N1 Highway - Highly recommended

Room Tip: Just ask Danel which is my favoroute room - If yopu are luck and I am not there you can have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennievdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night, and can say that it was a very comfortable room with a gorgeous bathroom (his and her sinks!).and a large, comfy bed.
We couldn't stay for breakfast, but the chef was very friendly and accommodating to us while we were waiting for the bill.

Great place if you are looking for something central, well located and comfortable - good value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LodgeTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Danel and Johan are such great hosts who welcome you as if you were staying at their own home and are a long time friend. Facilities are very good and everything that you may need on business or leisure. Also the proximity to Menlyn.
The setting is great and the bird life and the gardens are exceptional. Will be back! Thanks!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Shanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed for one night and found it a comfortable and friendly place. The owner is very welcoming and helpful. This establishment is a good average standard - the room was well equipped if somewhat dated - tea/coffee facilities, toiletries, TV, small fridge and microwave and the bathroom had both a bath and shower. There were minor little things that caught my eye - the partially unhooked curtains, the somewhat dark room etc. However, I would recommend this establishment to anyone wanting a homely environment, for a slightly longer stay and for the quiet suburban setting in close distance to various places in the East of Pretoria (Menlyn, CSIR, St Albans College, Lynnwood Bridge etc).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Place has a great homey feeling, the people are friendly and the service is good. The rooms and breakfast is always amazing. The location is also very ideel, its near everything including Menlyn mall. They really go the extra mile to make sure your stay is a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wynandwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

staying in this hotel has been like a home for me.The staff of the hotel are very fiendly,responds speedily to any of my needs within the hotel premises and related with me as though we had known each other for long.The ambience of the hotel makes me feel as though i'm at home.The hotel environment is extremely clean.i cannot but comment on the location of the hotel;quiet,calm and not rowdy.the security of its location is lovely and well organised.I therefore say that if you want a cool,serene and secured environment while planning your trip to pretoria,THINK 40 on ILKEY B&B.

Room Tip: rooms in the main house are better but in any case,you are covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRISKOLLINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I travel to Pretoria for business and are normally booked at 40 on Ilkey. The experience there always makes it feel more like holiday as being there for work. The staff became like family (those family you actually look forward to see, lol) and the relaxing and friendly atmosphere makes you forget that you are in the middle of a big city. Situated so conveniently is also a big plus on my trips.
One of the features of this guesthouse is the lovely room and comfortable beds with cushions. Rooms are always spotlessly neat. I look forward to my next visit soon and being greeted by Danel and her friendly and professional staff. Thanks for being my holiday home in the big city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntonvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
5.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Bed & Breakfast in Waterkloof
#159 of 372 in Pretoria
3 reviews
5.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital
9.8 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 on Ilkey B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 on Ilkey B&B

Address: 40 Ilkey Road | Lynnwood Glen Estate, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 372 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: $64 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 40 on Ilkey B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Johan and Danel Muller, will offer you the warmest South African welcome! 40 on Ilkey has 10 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms. Warm wooden floors and decor in shades of honey are completed by comfortable beds with crisp percale linen. Each room is fully serviced and stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 40 on Ilkey B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing