We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homely feel..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights here on business, hotel is within walking distance to Hatfield square which is great for bars & restaurants! Breakfasts are very nice with good choice, everyone is friendly enough. Decent wee place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I also stayed in this hotel on a business trip for almost two months! Being small houses surrounded by gardens made the stay more pleasant. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast great: different fruits, cereals, croissants, meats and buffet of English breakfast. The other pro of this place are the free drinks served from 5 to 7 as well as some snacks. I have never seen this anywhere else!

Just a few things, completely agree with Teresita in "the water from the shower will spread over the floor no matter how hard you try to avoid" and also the wifi coverage is weak very weak in some rooms (24) and is not free. The air conditioner system of the rooms is quite nosy in the terrace.

Overall it was a great experience and I will recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception have better wifi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sin_Rumbo_Fijo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thanks for staying with us for such a long time - we're glad you enjoyed our sundowner drinks. Thanks also for the other constructive points you raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were only in town one night for the Bulls vs Force game and i wanted somewhere we didn't have to walk far. I got my wish there, as its right outside the ground.

The room was ok, if a little small, but the bed, shower and a/c were fine.Not sure about the bathroom window, as people walking past (maids etc) can easily see in.

The breakfast was good, buffet style, but go hungry, as the cost per person was as much as many evening meals we had in SA, so you'll want to eat your fill.

There is a decent lounge that we used, as our airport transfer was not until 5pm and that helped use up a few hours. An ok stay, but watch that breakfast cost!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is nicely laid out in courtyard format, with lots of nooks and crannies (both inside and out) in which to sit and work or relax. I was in a studio queen room, which was large and comfortable, and very clean and well-maintained. My only (small) criticism was the lack of hairdryer. Also the flipside of having a room that looks out onto open spaces is that you can sometimes be a bit exposed to people walking past, etc. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentTravellerKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are gald you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I come to this hotel on business with other colleagues and have stayed for two weeks. It's just 40 mins drive from Joburg. They offer free drinks from 5pm to 7pm each day, and free muffins in the morning at the entrance. I like the terrace the most because I've spent many happy evenings there relaxing. Rooms are spacious and with simple kitchenett, and are set in small houses instead of dull massive building. They have a small swimming pool which is nice to sit by, but probably don't expect you can swim inside.

Just some weird things here: water from the shower will spread over the floor no matter how hard you try to avoid; the cleaner will not replace your shampoo and shower gel until you've finished the last drop.

Room Tip: Try to choose one close to the reception which would have better wifi coverage (but wifi is only fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresitaCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Arcadia, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Charming and sweet, and you can't beat the nice happy hour on Friday evenings. The Internet was a bit slow -- not uncommon on this trip -- but everything else was top notch at the hotel: spacious and nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinaj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Located in a safe area of Pretoria, this charming hotel offers great rooms, full breakfast and very charming staff. There is a small pool in a nice green garden. Great place for a stopover or longer stay. Most rooms have a kitchenette.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rodo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
9.8 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#8 of 74 in Pretoria
203 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#16 of 74 in Pretoria
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Manor
Protea Hotel Pretoria Manor
#31 of 74 in Pretoria
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#24 of 74 in Pretoria
94 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Capital Menlyn Maine
The Capital Menlyn Maine
#18 of 74 in Pretoria
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Arcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Arcadia

Address: Corner Park & Hill Streets | Arcadia, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#14 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: $114 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Arcadia 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a lovingly restored, turn of the century manor house in leafy 'Embassy Row', in the suburb of Arcadia. Park-like gardens are wonderful for walks and guests are invited to sit back, relax and enjoy the grace and charm of a bygone era. The hotel is situated minutes away from shopping centres with cinemas and restaurants as well as the Loftus Stadium and the trendy suburb of Hatfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Arcadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Arcadia Hotel Pretoria
Courtyard Pretoria
Pretoria Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing