We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely setting perfectly positioned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Hotel Pretoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Pretoria
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely setting perfectly positioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in Pretoria but away from the hustle and bustle. Easily accessible from all major routes. The exterior is very well kept and as you pass through the entrance you are pleasantly welcomed by all the staff. The conference rooms are a little small so be sure to chose thenrightnvenue for the size of the group who will occupy the venue. The food is well presented and there is a smorgasbord of options that will satisfy all appetites. The outdoor restaurant area is beautifully appointed and one wants to spend time in the gardens. The interior design is upmarket and tasteful. Thanks to the GM Daniel for taking time out to check on our conference and to ensure everything was in order.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for this constructive feedback, which is welcomed, and appreciated as always. You have highlighted various aspects of our operation that are specifically aimed at enhancing and maintaining the guest experience, and it is certainly encouraging to note that we are succeeding in our efforts to offer the highest level of guest service and facilities possible.

Kind regards,
Daniel Velayutham
General Manager
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
4
24
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am a facilitator that often run workshop at this hotel. Their customer service are of a very high quality. From the cleaners to Management,friendly helpful service. Delegates are happy with the food and he service offered.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rooinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this constructive review. I will take this back to my team as further motivation in our on-going training and development plan. This will certainly reinforce the value of providing excellent customer care and service, and the resulting enhancement of our guests experience, as referenced in your comments.

Sincerely,
Daniel Velayutham
General Manager
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Be careful, be careful, be very careful. There is a potential for a credit card fraud in this hotel. I stayed in Premier hotel Pretoria from 22 to 24 January in the middle of the Africa Cup.

At the time of check in I was asked for the credit card for photocopying. I was astonished that the reception staff took my card into an inside room room hidden away from me and came back with a photocopy of BOTH sides of the card. I am not sure how many copies he made. When I protested, he made a single tear and tried to throw the photocopy into a nearby dustbin. i insisted on getting it back. I was then finally checked in by debiting the amount upfront from the card.

South Africa is notorious for credit card frauds. There are professional credit card gangs that purchase details from different people and drain away your card to the maximum credit in a matter of 15 minutes!!!

The hotel is otherwise fine, rooms are decent, (mine was small) well maintained, food is OK. Most staff are nice as well. Ambience was noisy according to my friends who stayed in the lower floors. Internet connection is very expensive paid by quantity of use and not very good. If you keep your computer connected it just drains away before you know it.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms that were given to my friends are bigger, have flat screen TV and have fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhavram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XDvir, General Manager at Premier Hotel Pretoria, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent review of the Premier Hotel Pretoria.

Your concerns regarding credit card fraud are indeed valid, and this unfortunately applies to hotels worldwide. To safeguard the interest of our guests, and the business, we apply a specific policy for all payments processed via credit cards. This policy was formulated in accordance with banking regulations, and is available for review by all guests at any time.

In addition, all guests are expected to pay all charges in advance, or proffer a reasonable guarantee for any charges incurred - this is standard policy.

My management team and I are always on hand to address any concerns our guests may have, and I urge you to make use of this facility in future to ensure that you have a more enjoyable stay.

I do apologise if this has caused you any alarm or inconvenience, but be assured that we have the best interests of all guests in mind at all times, and I am most pleased that you were not a victim of fraud at Premier Hotel Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Daniel Velayutham
General Manager

Premier Hotel Pretoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a fairly basic hotel situated close to the Union Buildings in Pretoria. The reception staff were consistently friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable but basic and you need to pay for internet. There was plenty of outside noise from an alongside bar during a week-night stay, and light comes through the bathroom glass doors in the early morning. There is a good range for the buffet breakfast, but difficult to figure out what items are underneath each serving platter. Coffee service to the table was also not prompt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from noisy areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WP664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Union Buildings. My booking was handled by an agent so check-in was quite painless and handled very professionally. The hotel is relatively new and so is in a very good state of repair. The rooms are more than adequate (in fact quite big) if they are to be used as overnight stops. If you are going to spend most of your time in the room then they would be too small. The room was spotless, as always. A number of satellite channels are available in the room. The dining room offers a wide selection of good food both at dinner and for breakfast. Staff across the board were more than happy to help and were very polite.

Gripes: in this day and age I would expect limited free WiFi at a hotel. This is not the case and guests are required to pay for access at a rate that many might consider exorbitant.

Caution: it is not safe to walk around outside the hotel especially if you are alone.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms are best, Odd-numbered rooms unfortunately face towards a night club/bar/buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were happy with this hotel. We only stayed one night. We were in a tour of 6 and our tour guide was very efficient and we were booked in quickly and given a welcome drink etc. Room satisfactory. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is to avoid! Really!
First impression: I arrived and nobody at the reception...(it is supposed to be a 4* hotel...) had to wait a couple of mins alone in the tiny little lobby before someone appears.
I did my booking directly with the hotel and they already charged me the total amount in advance..fine.
When the receptionist arrived he was about to charge my CC (again!) a higher amount for the room, a higher amount for the trasnfert I had and something like 200R just "in case" I had some extras (???). He did not even know that all was already paid!
Then I got my room key and asked for internet...I was explained that since the Director was already home and the vouchers were in his office I had to wait until the next day to connect to Internet!!!!! Just unbelievable! No care at all if I had to work, no apologies, nothing! just normal procedure!
I booked a Suite and the size of the room was ok, cleanliness as well, but:
- Mini bar: empty! Nothing in it!
- Room very hot and no individual AC
- Terribly noisy! the room was facing the street and no sound proof!
After all this and after having asked to meet the Director, i asked if i could at least keep the room until 15h00 because i had a workshop there in the afternoon and did not want to wait in the lobby (c-out is at 11h00):
- the Director never show up or call...was in a meeting...
- I was told that i had to pay extra fee and finally, after big discussion with receptionist, i received a call in my room saying that "the general manager exceptionally allowed me to remain in the room until 14h00" !!! thank you very much for your kindness!
In brief: please do not make my mistake, just AVOID this crazy hotel!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danysker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.9 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#13 of 71 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Capital
Protea Hotel Capital
#22 of 71 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#2 of 71 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Pretoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Pretoria

Property: Premier Hotel Pretoria
Address: 573 Stanza Bopape Street (Church Street) | Arcadia, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Pretoria 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Pretoria provides everything you need for a luxury stay in the heart of South Africa's capital city. Pretoria is a lovely quiet city with a fascinating history, significant old buildings and wonderful museums. The green suburb of Arcadia is especially attractive and never more so than in October, when the thousands of Jacaranda trees burst into purple bloom and fill the air with their sweet fragrance. Pretoria itself is home to almost 100 000 Jacaranda's, earning the nickname of the "Jacaranda City". Premier Hotel Pretoria is located in this beautiful city and not only is its location ideal, but the impeccable service, excellent food standards and luxurious rooms will ensure that your stay is a memorable one. This 4-star hotel is in close proximity to the Union Buildings, Foreign Embassies, Central Business District and the Gautrain.The Premier Hotel Pretoria offers 118 air-conditioned bedrooms and several services and facilities to ensure a truly remarkable stay, including 24 hour reception service, limited room service, laundry, ironing and valet services, internet connectivity and satellite TV. Furthermore, a business centre for all your 'away from office' requirements, as well as a meeting venue, is available. A choice of boardrooms and conference venues are also available, all with state-of-the-art facilities. Additional facilities include a swimming pool, bar, restaurant, and secure on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Hotel Pretoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing