We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Black Bamboo”
Review of Black Bamboo

Black Bamboo
Ranked #4 of 806 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Black Bamboo offers a truly unique, world-class dining experience, which celebrates the synergy between food, wine and art. An ever-changing a-la-carte menu is inspired by international delicacies with a local twist, and a carefully selected wine list offers interesting options for every palate and occasion.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

We participated in #restaurantweek this year for the first time and decided to try #blackbamboo. I was expecting a watered down menu and service but alas was proven very wrong. From the moment we entered at the gate and was then welcomed by Ronald and Erez I knew we were in for a treat. The menu choices presented was mouth watering and paired with wines chosen by their sommelier we were blown away by unuasual taste combinations and new flavour bursts. Presentation being a given, I could truly reccomend the fillet of beef and the cheesecake as a pairing! Service was faultless and lunch was more than 3 hours of the senses being awakened. Cannot wait to try a wine tasting evening here!

Thank LynnG1794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBamboo1, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Dear Lynn G,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for us. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Once again, thank you!

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 389 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

Excellent setting, really great food. Portions perfect so you can do starters mains and desert. By far the best restaurant we visited in Pretoria, better than Kream! We will be back. Excellent friendly service as well.

Thank BB45Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBamboo1, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Dear BB45Brits,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for us. I appreciate your valuable comments and we are thrilled that you had a great experience with us. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Once again, thank you!

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Thank you to Black Bamboo for making our engagement a special experience. The food and service was absolutely wonderful. Only recommendation: when I made the booking, a lady assisted me, and I told her that I was planning to get engaged. She mentioned that she will ensure the evening is special, but nothing came of it. My (now) fiancee told our waiter (Patrick) what just happened, and then the restaurant made it special. Not sure who the lady was, but maybe she can better the communication. Otherwise, the rest was definitely perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cornell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBamboo1, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Dear Cornell B,

Thank you for reviewing us and taking the time to point out our positives and shortcomings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

fantastic food and excellent service. Thanks to Klaas and the chef. Enjoyed every second of our visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patrickmathula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBamboo1, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Dear patrickmathula,

Thank you for the kind words, we are really glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for joining us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

Quiet discreet setting with all the makings of something special. Attention to detail let this place down. Food arrived somewhat cold after some indifferent service. Missing an attentive and engaged owner/manager. Also seats are very low.

Thank Tjwswazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBamboo1, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Dear Tjwswazi,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your experience. It is very disappointing to read your review and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We always strive to offer our diners the best food experience it is therefore unfortunate that you did not enjoy the evening.

We apologise for your disappointment and thank you for your honest feedback.

Best Regards,
The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bamboo also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Black Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing