We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“typical traveller hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Meilen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“typical traveller hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

stayed at there for 4 nights while attending a conference. Building is fairly new with nice architecture. Rooms are a bit on the small side. Our room was facing the main road and it was noisy, especially on Friday and Saturday evening and night with the mall and restaurants just across the road. The window did not close properly. Breakfast was good and generous, breakfast restaurant airy and light with access to the garden and pool deck. Staff friendly. Proximity to Gautrain, almost walking distance. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelMeilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for the review. We're happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed the breakfast. We will look into the issue you have raised about the windows. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    54
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
6
4
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights in i thought would b budget hotel. New, modern and clean. Has onsite restaurant nice outdoor pool terrace area and serves decent breakfasts. Free underground parking and wifi can be purchase from AllwaysOn. Got reduced rate by booking online. Its also possible to bid for weekend bookings at most of the four branded hotels in the chain.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My business partner is currently staying in the City Lodge Hatfield, doing business in Pretoria. The rooms don't have direct dial numbers, so when I needed to call her to discuss progress, I had to phone reception and be forwarded to her room. A little out-dated, but not a huge issue.

The woman who answered my call on the first day was acceptable but apathetic. The man who answered my call on the second day was apathetic on my first call, but when the connection dropped and I had to ring back, he became incredibly rude - only routing the call after making it clear that doing so wasn't worth his while, and that this was a stupid thing to be asking.

An incredibly disappointing and unnecessary experience for such a vital requirement (with no other alternatives). This isn't a hotel to recommend for those that need the most basic of business amenities. They also only offer 15 minutes of slow WiFi each day, which is poor for business needs.

My (large) company won't ever be staying with this chain again - despite our regular working in this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank displeasedbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was used as part of a sporting tournament that I was involved in. From the Road it looks a bit small and basic but this is deceptive as once you get passed the reception the hotel opens up and the rooms are fantastic as are the other facilities. My room was big and had all I required over my 8 night stay. The breakfast was great but they don't do dinners but there are so many restaurants close by. This is a great location and I would stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces the Road as Friday and Saturday nights are very noisy and I found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for one week for our training in our office based in Pretoria. Facilities are good; with nice pool, cafe and clean room. This is strategically located in the university area where there are also lots of place to eat, dine and shop. It is a 10 minutes walk to the office, thus very convenient. What makes it excellent is their hospitality and friendly atmosphere. Never had I encountered problems or issues with them. They are ready to assist and serve with a kind attitude. Generally I have observed this kind of attitude in the whole South Africa; from the baggers in the groceries, restaurant servers, etc.. they are all kind and nice.

I have been to many countries and South Africa is unique in that way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worknleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is in a decent location and staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean and reasonably sized. Rooms facing the Hilda Road side are a bit noisy but not overly so. the hotel is very business traveler oriented. Hotel is reasonably priced and decent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_g_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a refreshing change - hotel staff that really do go out of their way to be polite. At this hotel, they have taken their maxim "I am kind" to the ultimate. I felt that nothing was too much trouble - even in the busy hubbub of breakfast. The hotel cafe where I ate my supper was really nice. I chose a steak wrap which had the descriptor "spicy", but I was sadly disappointed as there was nothing spicy about the wrap. What there was, was delicious anyway - the steak was a bit too overcooked, but still tender. The breakfast was good and the coffee set me up for the day. All in all, a good place to stay in Pretoria if you are on business. If you are arriving by car, this hotel is situated in a one-way street and you will approach from Duncan street. The hotel is on the right and it is best to turn into the Fields Parking parking and arcade just before the hotel or you will have to double back around the block to park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Hatfield, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#12 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#14 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Hatfield

Property: City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
Address: 407 Hilda Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the Gautrain’s Hatfield Station, the 184-room City Lodge Hatfield is the ideal accommodation location for business and leisure travelers in the Jacaranda City. It is close to Pretoria’s CBD, just a few minutes from the city’s sporting and cultural attractions, and has excellent access to the city’s major roads and surrounding freeway system. With two meeting rooms (a 10-seater and a 12-seater), it’s great for meetings as well. The hotel is also equipped with all the other facilities that City Lodges have become famous for around South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing