We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit if you have time”

President Paul Kruger House
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.60*
and up
Private Pretoria City Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
$71.40*
and up
Pretoria City Day Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
$126.12*
and up
Pretoria Sightseeing and History Tour from Johannesburg
Ranked #10 of 117 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
USA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Visit if you have time”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Upfront, I must admit that I would not have visited this place if I was in Pretoria for a day-trip or less. I happened to be in Pretoria on business and had time in the weekend to visit this place. From a historical perspective, the exhibits were well placed. I especially enjoyed the photos, old maps and the story of the times. I enjoyed the back end of the museum than the front side - where some people commented that it did not feel "authentic." They also have an old train on exhibit in the backyard - that was fascinating and you get pulled back in history. The logos of the train are intact. Visit this place if you are keen on enjoying history and learning about the struggle for influence between various factions.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank NickTimepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    87
    35
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Helps if one knows South African history. Really takes one back in time. House a tad small inside. Coach outside was lovely.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chinx259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oom Paul!!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Haven't been there in along time but the last time I went it was interesting to see how this family lived.He was a remarkable man.

Helpful?
Thank Jakalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“OK, a little bit of history”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Walked thru a President's house with a guide who introduced President Kruger - his contribution to South Africa as well as his personal life. Modest house for a president whose collection of gifts from the world is displayed. Nice courtyard, at the end of which housed the President's railway coach.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lowa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not a must see”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

It's a nice site to visit, but for me it wasn't a must see. The furniture wasn't authentic and the house doesn't really tell a story. The other parts of the site were interesting, they showed all the gifts given by different countries, but they didn't really tell a story. It was to scattered.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RowenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed President Paul Kruger House also viewed

 

Been to President Paul Kruger House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing