We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A must visit

We went here with a group of children. We were very surprised at how well preserved the house and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Peanut_face
,
Pretoria, South Africa
a Special tour to here the whole story of Sammy Marks and the farm

We were interviewed by a tour leader that was very well informed of how Summy Marks live with his... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
otto u
,
Pretoria, South Africa
Read all 166 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Pretoria
from $71.45
More Info
from $78.67
More Info
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
82
64
16
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
82
64
16
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea garden guided tour house tour victorian mansion potato salad original furniture old house lush gardens interesting house step back in time picnic basket cultural history learn something old trees south africa love history shady trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 166 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2019

Although we found the house most interesting, and it is rare to find such well preserved, original furniture in a house of this age, we were concerned about misinformation provided by our guide. The guide was very sweet and personable but as both my husband and I felt there were errors in her talk as parts did not make sense, I asked her about further reading. She mentioned that the little store on the premises has various short booklets on Sammy Marks. The information we then read in these booklets (published by the National Cultural History Museum) was fascinating but often contradicted what the guide had just told us. The guides have a responsibility to at least read the short booklets before providing the public with misinformation. Just one egregious example: The booklets mention how Sammy Marks provided money to many people, for instance giving loans to Paul Kruger, and after the Anglo Boer war helping people to rebuild their farms and lives, including giving Boer generals financial aid on generous terms. As De la Rey wrote, Marks “saved us all.” I won’t provide the utter nonsense that the guide told our group about Marks’s financial relationship with Paul Kruger. I just hope that this review will encourage the guide to read the brochures that she recommended to us.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

An easy day trip, to see a bit of Pretoria's history. An interesting property of which the house and its interior is the main attraction. Fees are reasonable and the parking relative easy. It is a Museum like visit and there are guided tours on offer to just make the process more structured and insightful than doing it oneself.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank MBATourismGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Sammy Marks's contribution to the expansion and support of Pretoria and surrounding areas if often not known. His home is classic of the time and has a beautiful rose garden, dated back from his time. The cellar has many an interesting story. A good pick nick spot - summer or winter. The drought has impacted the garden but will recover.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank AHidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

I have been mesmorised about this place since the first time I visited it about sixteen years ago. It is an amazing part of South Africa's history that remains untold.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Guest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Travel back in time in this amazingly well-preserved piece of history, a 48 room Victorian mansion, situated about 23km outside Pretoria. Stroll in the lush gardens and sit under shady trees. One can almost feel that the tycoon, and his family, will arrive by coach at any moment. The house originally belonged to 19th century agricultural, industrial and mining tycoon Sammy Marks, who lived there with his wife Bertha and their nine children. Their opulent life is remembered in this old world charm. The Estate has been well preserved and is a museum. Join the guided tour and hear its charming tale!

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Eleni1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews