We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A must visit

We went here with a group of children. We were very surprised at how well preserved the house and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Peanut_face
,
Pretoria, South Africa
a Special tour to here the whole story of Sammy Marks and the farm

We were interviewed by a tour leader that was very well informed of how Summy Marks live with his... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
otto u
,
Pretoria, South Africa
Read all 165 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Pretoria
from $76.08
More Info
from $69.09
More Info
from $103.74
More Info
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
82
64
15
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
82
64
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea garden guided tour house tour victorian mansion potato salad original furniture old house lush gardens interesting house step back in time picnic basket cultural history learn something old trees love history shady trees paul kruger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 165 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2016

What a wonderfull person. Always on the go and thoughtfull at his age. Cannot ask for better. I love this museum and is well looked after with love and care.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank NitaB208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

This has often been a must visit to take overseas tourists. Our most recent experience was very disappointing. The place appeared to be run-down. We asked why and were told that it is no longer on the recognised itinerary by tourist companies. Shame

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank manddjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

The tour of the house is affordable and well worth the trip! The tour guides are friendly and very knowledgeable, which just made the entire experience that much more interesting. The tour guide we had, in particular, had done some of her own research to slake her curiosity - and the result was an hour well spent.

Tea in the garden afterwards was soothing, with the beauty of nature surrounding you on this estate it's like stepping back into the past!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Janka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Worth while seeing. Well looked after and a piece of South African history. Quaint restaurant with seating undervthe trees offering picnic baskets as well.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Gundid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

A 5 course meal in the Sammy Marks Kitchen is a highlight of heritage tourism in South Africa. One cannot help but to be transported back to the day when Sammy was living in this house - it is so well preserved and the atmosphere with it!
Brilliant activity for the history lover!

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Lorraine-Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews