We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Wildt Cheetah Centre”

Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$225.32*
and up
Ann Van Dyk Cheetah Centre Half-Day Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
$158.82*
and up
Ann Van Dyk Cheetah Centre Tour from Johannesburg or Pretoria
Ranked #1 of 116 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cheetah Centre in South Africa was established in 1971, initially as a cheetah breeding project and the Centre has during the past 40 years bred over 800 cheetah cubs. Various conservation projects have been initiated since its inception which also inlcudes a successful African wild dog breeding programme. Known in the past as the De Wildt Cheetah Centre the name has recently been changed to the Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre as a tribute to the woman who has devoted her life to the survival of the cheetahs as well as other rare and endangered species
Sasolburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“De Wildt Cheetah Centre”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The he De Wildt Cheetah and Wildlife Centre is is situated in the foothills of the Magaliesberg mountain range to the west of Pretoria North.

At this location cheetahs are bred in captivity and later released back into the wild.

On arrival we were provided with an extensive lecture and film on the background and history of the breeding program as well as how Ann van Dyk started the program despite setbacks and permit restrictions.

At the end of the lecture we were taken around the encampments on an open safari vehicle where the cheetahs are kept and could get real close to them, with only a fence between you and the cheetah. The last part of the drive through trip was really exciting as we entered a large camp and the cheetahs were fed. That gave us a lot of very good photo opportunities and see some of them running at high speed.

As an optional extra we could enter a cage in the presence of a cheetah handler and we selected to be photographed with the King Cheetah.

A very good visit - strongly recommended.

To ensure that your timing is correct, I suggest you call before you go. Tel: (012) 504 9906/7/8

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Boschenvaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    106
    15
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LANCASTER
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We went as a family and were able to get lots of fabulous pictures of these wonderful creatures. The tour was very informative and interactive. Highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank katej150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ann Van Dyk Cheetah Centre changed my life!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent two weeks volunteering at the Ann Van Dyk Cheetah Centre during the summer of 2012. Every minute I spent there was breathtaking. The animals are beautiful and the staff, especially Linda and Alan, is nothing short of amazing. Getting a glimpse of wild life up-close in a friendly and welcoming learning environment truly changed my life.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheetah Centre”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had an absolute blast at the De Wildt cheetah centre! I travelled there with a group of volunteers in May 2011 to help take care of the cheetahs, wild dogs, and vultures for two weeks. Needless to say, it was the time of my life. All of the staff at De Wildt were awesome, but Linda and Alan went above and beyond to make our stay as much fun as it could be. I'll never forget when a group of us got the chance to take a break from weeding to go with Linda to watch a family of wild dogs play. Or the time that Alan encouraged us to kneel down in front of a food bowl with two cheetahs and "eat" dinner with them for an awesome photo. Both Linda and Alan were exceptional hosts, and they made a great experience an incredible one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alan and Linda”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have visited the Ann Van Dyke Cheetah Centre numerous times and every time the standout attraction is not the animals but the people helping them. Without the people the animals at De Wildt would have lead very different lives. One person in particular needs a special mention...Alan Strachan. The behind the scene work he does to ensure the animals are taken care of is immeasurable. Along with his partner Linda, the two work very well together to make sure guest and animal alike are treated as fairly as possible. Because of their hard work De Wildt becomes the sanctuary it is and a lot of the credit should go to Alan and Linda.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 811one_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre also viewed

 
 

Been to Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing