We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Day Out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Zoological Gardens of South Africa

National Zoological Gardens of South Africa
Ranked #6 of 112 things to do in Pretoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The large cages at this renowned zoo are home to an expansive collection of animals from all over the world.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun Day Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I remembering visiting the Zoo when I was a small kid. Did not do it for years and then took my own kids to see it. Always a good experience. Quite a walk, but that's half the fun. Places to eat in the Zoo and, of course, the cable cars which you absolutely have to do. There is also now parking available across the road from the Zoo entrance!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Britskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    173
    59
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I really enjoyed my visit to the Zoo. Although situated in a very old part of Pretoria once you are in the Zoo this doesn't matter. All the animals are well looked after and the enclosures are all nice and big. I can recommend this Zoo as a fun day outing for the whole family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AldeenvanderWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

a great place to spend the day, well maintained.
great for kids.
animalis are in great condition and the enclosures are modern.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovedtheisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great venue to take the family to, especially if you have children.
Best time to go is early in the morning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Capicejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had never been to a zoo before so it was a great experience and my advice is do not arrive so late like we did because we arrived at 2pm. You'll not be able to do much especially in winter where it gets dark early. The upside was that it was located in the heart of the town so it is very accessible though the downside is you tour the zoo yourself and there is no one to guide you or tell you anything about what you want to know.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nonhle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Zoological Gardens of South Africa also viewed

 

Been to National Zoological Gardens of South Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing