We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out.”

National Zoological Gardens of South Africa
Ranked #6 of 117 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The large cages at this renowned zoo are home to an expansive collection of animals from all over the world.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic way to start 2014, the zoo. Ample secure parking for visitors at a minimal fee. The entrace fee was well worth the outing. From google earth the zoo does not look that big but don't be fooled, so wear your most comfortable shoes. Be prepared to walk alot. I suggest bringing extra water as the water points is far apart and not clearly marked. The food we bought at a vender was not expensive, but the quality was also not up to scratch. Bring your own picnic basket, lots of well maintained grass to enjoy lunch. Be sure to go to the aquarium, interesting fish life on display. All and all a great day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WBronkhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    193
    69
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Educational and huge variety”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The long drive from Johannesburg South was well worth it, particularly to see such a huge variety of animals, from different parts of the planet including Kangaroos, Komodo dragons and Sharks, not leaving out the beautiful tiger, South Africa's "Big 5" and lots of other flora and fauna.

The only animal I tried to find using the sign boards but could not, was the giraffe.
All in all, the facilities were great, clean toilets and lots of information on each species.

The walk (compared to the golf-cart option) around the park is quite long, so do take comfortable shoes and some sunblock and water.

All in all, a well worth it R75pp spend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nolan987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal for a family trip, but needs some serious improvements!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is one of the few place in South Africa where you will find so many animals from Africa and around the world on display in one place.
With such a huge variety of animals to see and information-boards to observe, you won't have to worry about losing interest.
Although this place might be impressive, it is not perfect: Some of the facilities, like the Wooden-Benches and picnic-tables are out-dated, full of splinters and dirty.
During my visit, I felt very uncomfortable and emotional when looking at some of the animals, beacuse they looked unhappy and very skinny; but at least most of the animals were in good condition.
The river flowing through the Zoo was quite filthy and had a horrible stench, I saw plastics, cans, clothes and even condoms flowing through it!
I believe that this zoo has great potential, but the maintenance staff need to keep this place clean, and it needs some serious renovation to impress the International Tourists that visit the Zoo.
The cable-cart ride can be lots of fun for people of all ages, and once you reach the top, you get to see the breathtaking and amazing skyline of the busy and beautiful city of Pretoria.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiaville, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for kids!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We visited the zoo for a daytrip and had a great time. It is a truly awesome place for families with little kids to experience nature in the middle of a large city. We took our own picnic with us and enjoyed sitting at one of the picnic tables, watching some animals while eating. It is a huge zoo, so plan to stay for the whole day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Zoo”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For children that don't get to see the wild animAls the zoo is the perfect place to visit especially on a lazy Sunday afternoon, however the situation of the zoo is not in one of the best areas of Pretoria on both occasions to our visit we had to park in a make shift parking lot across the road and one had to compete with the taxis! However all is not doom and gloom, the zoo is worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Zoological Gardens of South Africa also viewed

 

Been to National Zoological Gardens of South Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing