We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious burger”
Review of Ginger and fig

Ginger and fig
Ranked #93 of 703 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Description: After 10 years in IT, Zane Figueiredo made a radical career shift to pursue his lifelong dream. He went back to school and studied full time at Prue Leith Chefs academy where he graduated with distinction. He then honed his skills working in Cape Town for a year. Returning home to Pretoria he decided to open Ginger and Fig! Ginger and Fig is an artisanal eatery serving homemade, preservative free, freshly baked, free range and organic foods (where possible) and of course great coffee.
Restaurant details
Description: After 10 years in IT, Zane Figueiredo made a radical career shift to pursue his lifelong dream. He went back to school and studied full time at Prue Leith Chefs academy where he graduated with distinction. He then honed his skills working in Cape Town for a year. Returning home to Pretoria he decided to open Ginger and Fig! Ginger and Fig is an artisanal eatery serving homemade, preservative free, freshly baked, free range and organic foods (where possible) and of course great coffee.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious burger”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Ginger & Fig has a stall at the Brooklyn Design Fair on Friday nights serving a Brisket burger with coffee & barbeque sauce that is out of this world!
If this is the quality on offer at a market stall, can't wait to visit the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NitaKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small and good”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a nice place for a quick lunch between weekend errands. The food is fresh and interesting. I had a soup and bread that I enjoyed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FB112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice for breakfast and lunch!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My dad and I had breakfast. I would highly recommend the smoked trout breakfast. The burgers looked nice! Great atmosphere for breakfasts and lunch. Not so much for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SAFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great brunch at not so impressive surroundings”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Recently had brunch and the food was really good. I had the Eggs Benedict and it was very well executed and the taste was divine. my partner had a more conventional breakfast and it was equally nice. It's a pity the small shopping area (if you could call it that) really detracts from the nice food, especially if you end up sitting outside on the pavement. Maybe move to a better location and up the prices a bit to compensate for the higher rent?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohSch59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch with Eclectic Twist”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Headed for lunch on the spur of the moment after husband read a good review. Took a gamble on the deconstructed butternut quiche while hubby ate a more conventional lunch. Deconstructed butternut extremely tasty and well thought out with nice flavour balance but you really do need to love butternut ( which I do!). The sweet potato crisps accompanying the pulled brisket were delicious as well.

For desert we had a rocky road - effectively chocolate ice cream with a number of well thought out accompaniments fetchingly displayed.

This restaurant and chef team feel to us as though they have a fast potential still to explore and we would like to see a formal fine dining restaurant in their future. In the meantime though, we will definitely be back for breakfast / lunch in the future. The fresh juices were absolutely stunning as well!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger and fig also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Ginger and fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing