We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horseback ride with the animals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseback Africa

Horseback Africa
Ranked #11 of 112 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horseback ride with the animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Three friends and I had a delightful experience at Pete's Riding at Villiera Winery outside of Cape Town, South Africa. Deirdre, who is delightful, leads the ride through a private game reserve. Our ride was about 2 hours of pure pleasure seeing zebra, wildebeest, wild boar, springbucks, eland, giraffe and many other animals up close and personal. The giraffe were so curious that they wanted to come right up to us. It was a magical experience. The horses are a South African farm breed which is similar to the American Quarterhorse. For anyone who rides or simply wants to be close to the animals, I highly recommend this activity. I found Deirdre through googling horseback riding in Cape Town, her direct email is: deirdre.gower@gmail.com. You won't regret this experience!!! There is a restaurant on site to enjoy a meal or a cup of coffee before or after your ride. And, of course, wine tasting....but not on Sundays. We hired a car and driver from Rikkis cab company to take us from Cape Town proper out toward Stellenbosch for our ride. Mike, the Rikkis driver, showed up 15 minutes early and was most pleasant and professional. He waited for our horseback ride to be over and transported us back to our hotel. The entire experience far exceeded our expectations!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jcw174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely family Business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I found this was a lovely and unique experience in South Africa. A well run family business. I'm no horse rider but they took the time to match a horse to me and also to go through the basic of riding a horse. I loved being able to get close to wild life. I also walked with the Lions and got to hold a baby lion, one of the highlights for me. It was great just chilling out and watching the Giraffe. Overall a wonderful experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend the morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is one of three reviews for the horse riding the accommodation and the lion tours which are all run at the same place, this one is for the riding specifically. Riding at horseback africa was a great experience, some major plus points were that they take time to brief you properly and match you carefully to a horse, they give good tips on the way including a bit of tuition, the rides arent boring and cater carefully for all levels of riding so you find it interesting no matter if you are a beginner or pretty advanced, the horses are spectacularly well trained and in our case they sent us out with Brandon who runs the horse riding side of things, so the guiding was also great and done with so much enthusiasm. He really cared that we had a great time and felt safe (in my case) and got to do lots of canters and gallops (in my partners case). The places that you ride are beautiful and you get pretty close to some lovely wild life. For us, the only downside was the cost which was a little bit high in our opinion, but even so would still totally recommend doing this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_is_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An excellent experience of Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

If you only have a day and you want to experience genuine African hospitality and a taste of Africa then this is the place to go! An easy drive from JHB or Pretoria. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Roy00000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“this is a place where you can experiment horses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

the atmosphere not that good when you are welcomed to the place.When you inside that's when you will feel more welcomed than the reception area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kgomotso L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horseback Africa also viewed

 

Been to Horseback Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing