We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room After Upgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
capetown
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Room After Upgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel has amazing decor however you do feel like you in a prison if you stay in a standard room. The standard rooms are very small. I upgraded to a executive suite and had all the space in the world. Staff are friendly , location is great & the free services does help the budget , would stay again just not in a standard room.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard rooms , its very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words and feedback, we really appreciate it.

Thank you for staying at the Manhattan Hotel, we look forward to welcome you back at the Manhattan Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Nico Rowan
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
21
8
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Manhattan Hotel is such a stunning hotel in Pretoria. The hotel promises their guests five star service even though they are only a three star hotel, even though the hotel also looks like a five star hotel. The beautiful decor and atmosphere is so unexpected as my expectations of a three star hotel was completely exceeded and more. The hotel is stunning and very stylish. You feel as if you could be in Manhattan New York. The food great and LOTS to choose from. Not sure how the hotel gets all their employees to be so attentive, caring and will to go the extra mile, but that was really outstanding. I will definitely be back when I visit Pretoria and will recommend the Manhattan Hotel to anyone I know will need a hotel in Pretoria when they travel. Kind regards, NAD

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NADELAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words and feedback, we really appreciate it.

Thank you for staying at the Manhattan Hotel, we look forward to welcome you back at the Manhattan Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Nico Rowan
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed here because of it's location to Pretoria Train Station as I had to be awake early since I was catching the Blue Train early Monday morning.

I was exceptionally disappointed with the hotel.
From the moment I walked in until the moment I signed out, I felt like I was being ignored or treated like a second-rate guest...and that's the times I actually received any help.

I have travelled to a few locations so when my key card refused to work one, two, three, FOUR times then I knew there was an issue with the card and not with me yet the staff kept accusing me of placing my card too close to my cell phone.

I was told to sign the transaction slip even though it stated that NO CARDHOLDER SIGNATURE WAS REQUIRED ...so I enquired about it, the response: Just do it, everyone has too.

There was no room service menu in the room, then when I called the restaurant to ask what was on the menu, I was read the entire menu...I asked if they had something I could read since I cannot remember everything, the response: We don't do that.

When I received my food, most of it was cold and tasteless.
As I was tired and it was late, I decided not to complain, this is something I regret.

When checking in, questions were barked at me, like a military commander--but ruder.
Name. Address. Email. How many nights.

When I was asked to spell my email address, it was spelt incorrectly.
Even after spelling it phonetically, they still managed to spell it incorrectly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Manhattan Hotel Pretoria is as close to the CBD of Pretoria as you can get without being in the cold heart of the business district itself. The proximity of the hotel to the Gautrain Station is a huge plus factor and without mentioning that they also have a shuttle service from the station will be an injustice.

Do not be fooled by the surroundings of the Manhattan Hotel as you first need to step into the foyer and experience their hospitality and the ambiance of their lounges. It is not your typical 3 star hotel as their services surpasses their star rating. The Hotel had a very recent upgrade and they are still continuing that on a continuous basis.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with all the necessary trimmings. Their boardroom and conference facilities are of a high standard.

What impressed me was the free wireless internet and then for me the best of all was the elaborate and definitely very scrumptious buffet. I have not seen the likes of this in a 3 star hotel.

Although I have not utilized their spa I did have a look at it and it is of high standard and very intimate with 2 lovely ladies.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are less preferable due to the trafffic noise that does seep through a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianos888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great! If you don't mind the following:

- Old windows that seemingly amplify street noise to an unbearable level

- Music played loudly in the hallways starting around 05:45. Yes, 05:45 in the morning. No reason to be up that early? Better hope there's not a speaker outside your door!

- Proximity to the train station... And nothing else.

- A restaurant and room service that close at 21:30. Hope you're not jet-lagged and hungry outside the hours they're willing to serve you. You should probably just try to go back to sleep since you'll be woken up at 05:45!

- A shower that will, without any warning or transition period, become extremely hot and leave you with superficial burns on your arms as you frantically try to adjust the temperature.

In fairness, the restaurant is good and affordable (if a bit repetitive after a few days). The staff is also very friendly, especially at the bar/restaurant. The front desk staff is usually distracted talking to their friends who are hanging out with them. The rooms are clean.

In conclusion, pack some ear plugs, aloe vera, & trail mix, and enjoy your stay in Pretoria!

Oh, and if you book a transfer from the airport, make sure they don't mysteriously book it 2 days after your check-in. It'd suck to have to wait 2 hours for them to show up. Hypothetically, of course.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MehWhatevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The stay here was comfortable and the staff were exteremely courteous. The food however was at best average. Hotel amenities such as the gymnasium were pretty basic. The hotel provided a shuttle service to the nearest mall and station which came in quite handy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

A short walk from Gautrain. I arrived early on a Sunday morning. One of the security guides didn't want me to walk to the hotel alone so she accompanied me (and carried my bag). A nice touch as the area is a bit "seedy" at that time of day.
Although I was so early I was given an immediate check in.
The room was fine for my needs and there are no complaints at all.
It is actually walking distance to the main station for me to catch the Blue Train. I didn't realise and the hotel provided a free shuttle for me.
It's a business hotel and perfect for the purpose of using the trains..

Room Tip: The bar is a smokers delight! Difficult to get service in the other area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#33 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
814.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#16 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Property: Manhattan Hotel
Address: 247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria - Closest hotel to the Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters). The Manhattan Hotel is an upmarket, 3-star business hotel conveniently situated just outside the Pretoria CBD. In fact, you will find that our location makes us one of the most popular hotels in the city. Even though we're just a 3 star hotel, you should and can expect to receive 5 star service from us everytime. What makes us VERY different from all the other hotel's in Pretoria is our food. Our Lunch & Dinner buffet offers over a 110 dishes each prepare with special care and attention to detail. Be spoiled for choice when you enjoy stay with us. We are also the first and only 3 star hotel in Pretoria with a SPA that offers an array of treatments to indulge and spoil yourself with. The following FREE service offerings are available to all our guests: FREE shuttle service to an from Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters - 1 minute). FREE shuttle service to any 5km radius around the hotel. FREE shuttle service to Brooklyn Mall (5 minutes). FREE Uncapped High Speed WiFi Internet. FREE Internet access and use of the computer/business center for those travelling without Laptops. FREE use of our in-house GYM open all hours of the day. All this is available at excellent prices that offers our clients exceptional value for money. Manhattan Hotel - Redefining the ART of Hospitality!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing