We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel for weekend out with friends or family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Pretoria
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great hotel for weekend out with friends or family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

its a great place to be with spacious,rooms clean and friendly staff.The food is amazing,Excellent wont mind spending another weekend there.Could use more waiters though when they have a lot of guests booked in.especially in the bar area took time to get served there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
18
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witbank, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Was there over the weekend with my husband to be, and we had an amazing experiance. The hotel has very friendly staff, the atmosphere is relaxing and calm and very very clean.

I also must compliment them on the free shuttle service they have for visitors,so you need not worry about transport in and around the cbd area.

At the Rockefella Resutrant the breakfast and food in general was amazing, very well prepared,compliments to the chef indeed and amazing decor making you feel right at home,and the hours are very flexiable you need not worryabout waking up too early.

You will hardly realise that you in the cbd,until you leave the building.

Am looking forward to our next visit!

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyTeamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Its clean,staff is excellent.
Near Gautrain station. My room wasn't what I expected. It wasn't a wow experience when I opened my room as compared to my previous stay at other places. Room needed some refurnishing. I would stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Did not realize centre of city? Staff was extremely friendly and the service was excellent. Bufet meals was very good

Room Tip: Most excellent service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornecoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is well situated if you need to do business in central Pretoria. The rooms are comfortable, and there is a complimentary shuttle service to and from most major centers and government buildings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hotel, like many in Pretoria, is used by many government employees when they come to Pretoria for meetings, workshops or training sessions. For this reason the occupancy rate is probably quite high and there is a fair amount of general noise and chatter. Check-in was handled very professionally. Although recently refurbished the hotel is showing signs of age. For example, the windows in the bedrooms do not close properly and so allow outside noise into the room. This hotel has one of the best buffets that I have come across - there is literally something for everyone but the food is lukewarm. I complained to the management on a previous occasion but nothing seems to be done about the matter. Colleagues that I was travelling with complained about the lifts not working and when one is on the 7th floor this is a long way to walk either up or down.

Gripes: the free WiFi did not work.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the intersection of two relatively busy roads and so rooms facing the roads should be av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Staff was friendly from security to rooms. Even had a small card in the room from the cleaner welcoming me and asking me to mention any special requests I might have in terms of how I want my room cleaned. Free shuttle around the Hotel is excellent - drivers very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H7N02W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Capital
Protea Hotel Capital
#22 of 71 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#27 of 71 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#32 of 71 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.0 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 71 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Property: Manhattan Hotel
Address: 247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria - Closest hotel to the Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters). The Manhattan Hotel is an upmarket, 3-star business hotel conveniently situated just outside the Pretoria CBD. In fact, you will find that our location makes us one of the most popular hotels in the city. Even though we're just a 3 star hotel, you should and can expect to receive 5 star service from us everytime. What makes us VERY different from all the other hotel's in Pretoria is our food. Our Lunch & Dinner buffet offers over a 110 dishes each prepare with special care and attention to detail. Be spoiled for choice when you enjoy stay with us. We are also the first and only 3 star hotel in Pretoria with a SPA that offers an array of treatments to indulge and spoil yourself with. The following FREE service offerings are available to all our guests: FREE shuttle service to an from Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters - 1 minute). FREE shuttle service to any 5km radius around the hotel. FREE shuttle service to Brooklyn Mall (5 minutes). FREE Uncapped High Speed WiFi Internet. FREE Internet access and use of the computer/business center for those travelling without Laptops. FREE use of our in-house GYM open all hours of the day. All this is available at excellent prices that offers our clients exceptional value for money. Manhattan Hotel - Redefining the ART of Hospitality!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing