We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town Lodge Menlo Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Town Lodge Menlo Park
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Pretoria
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
437 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A very basic inn suitable for short stopovers if you need to be in the area. The office parks of Eastern Pretoria are just over the freeway, which is inaudible from the hotel, as is the giant Menlyn shopping center.
The rooms are tiny and sparsely equipped. I can't remember when last I was in a hotel room with one standard double bed. Couples sharing will be very much on top of each other. The cleaning is fine but with old-style sheets and blankets on the bed. It's best not to inspect the blankets too closely. A very significant omission for business travellers is an in-room safe.
Breakfast is simple but fine. Staff were good too and there is a pool and free computer if needed. Room service from the attached restaurant was quick and reasonably priced but the food was awful.
Fine for a single-night stopover but I'd need a spectacularly good price deal to keep me here longer.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the front looks at the parking lot and has no privacy. Ground floor at the back look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Menlo Park, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please note that our City Lodge and Courtyard brands offer more features and services than our Town Lodge brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
3
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in town lodge menlopark for most of my visit to pretoria. Very nice hotel with menlopark mall in the nearby area. hotel is good for business traveler and value for money for the service it provides. though would like to see little bit more varieties during breakfast time i would recommend a good hotel to stay if you visit pretoria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhavesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A pretty basic hotel but comfortable with good customer service. The pool area is really nice! The staff were very friendly and eager to assist. I had room-service from the Dros and I must say, it was very fast and piping hot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericksons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Better than I expected. Clean, comfortable and cosy rooms. Good shower pressure. Liked the fact that there was both a square and round power point socket in the room. Could do with more milk in the tea / coffee tray.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just had a most disappointing stay at the Town Lodge in Menlo Park - not the first time I've stayed there and each time before was great! This time I was given a smoking room which stank to high heaven of smoke and the only response to my complaint was "we'll put the ozone machine in your room" - which did nothing at all to lessen the stink. I had to soak the ashtray beside the bed. Instead of being pleased to get home every evening, I reluctantly went home to the smoky room. I do not appreciate this kind of service. And the irony..... the current slogan at the hotel is "We are kind"!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Menlo Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your posting regarding Town Lodge Menlo. We are sorry to hear about your smoking room experience. Please accept our apologies.This will be taken up with management at the hotel. You say that you are a regular guest at this hotel and that your other experiences have been good ones. Rest assured that we will be doing our best to make your next stay another good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Nothing exceptional, but as long as they keep the rooms spotless as they are, we will return. It is convenient, familiar and adequate. Tip - find somewhere better to eat than the on-site Dros!

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairwells can be a bit noisy due to rowdy guests, if this bothers you ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Town Lodge Menlo Park for a night en-route to Sun City. This hotel is conveniently located close to the freeway, so it was ideal for our purposes. The room was your typical no-frills hotel room, clean and comfortable. It is close to the Menlyn Park shopping centre, which was convenient for finding somewhere to eat. (We had previously had a bad meal at the Dros which is next door, so opted for a meal elsewhere this time) We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel in the morning, but were pleasantly surprised to be offered a brown bag with a complimentary muffin and apple when we checked out in the morning - I thought this was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#14 of 71 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
4.8 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
2.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#20 of 71 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Toscana Lodge
Casa Toscana Lodge
#36 of 71 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Menlo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Menlo Park

Property: Town Lodge Menlo Park
Address: cnr Atterbury & Klarinet Roads | PO Box 36866, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Menlo Park 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Menlo Park with a restaurant on the property. The hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Menlyn Park Shopping Centre, 10 minutes from the Pretoria CBD, very close to trendy Hatfield for restaurants and entertainment and also a short drive to Loftus Sports Stadium. The hotel is just 1 minute away from the N1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Town Lodge Menlo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Menlo Park Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing