We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Lodge Menlo Park
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A very basic inn suitable for short stopovers if you need to be in the area. The office parks of Eastern Pretoria are just over the freeway, which is inaudible from the hotel, as is the giant Menlyn shopping center.
The rooms are tiny and sparsely equipped. I can't remember when last I was in a hotel room with one standard double bed. Couples sharing will be very much on top of each other. The cleaning is fine but with old-style sheets and blankets on the bed. It's best not to inspect the blankets too closely. A very significant omission for business travellers is an in-room safe.
Breakfast is simple but fine. Staff were good too and there is a pool and free computer if needed. Room service from the attached restaurant was quick and reasonably priced but the food was awful.
Fine for a single-night stopover but I'd need a spectacularly good price deal to keep me here longer.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the front looks at the parking lot and has no privacy. Ground floor at the back look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Menlo Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Please note that our City Lodge and Courtyard brands offer more features and services than our Town Lodge brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in town lodge menlopark for most of my visit to pretoria. Very nice hotel with menlopark mall in the nearby area. hotel is good for business traveler and value for money for the service it provides. though would like to see little bit more varieties during breakfast time i would recommend a good hotel to stay if you visit pretoria.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhavesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A pretty basic hotel but comfortable with good customer service. The pool area is really nice! The staff were very friendly and eager to assist. I had room-service from the Dros and I must say, it was very fast and piping hot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ericksons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Better than I expected. Clean, comfortable and cosy rooms. Good shower pressure. Liked the fact that there was both a square and round power point socket in the room. Could do with more milk in the tea / coffee tray.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just had a most disappointing stay at the Town Lodge in Menlo Park - not the first time I've stayed there and each time before was great! This time I was given a smoking room which stank to high heaven of smoke and the only response to my complaint was "we'll put the ozone machine in your room" - which did nothing at all to lessen the stink. I had to soak the ashtray beside the bed. Instead of being pleased to get home every evening, I reluctantly went home to the smoky room. I do not appreciate this kind of service. And the irony..... the current slogan at the hotel is "We are kind"!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Menlo Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your posting regarding Town Lodge Menlo. We are sorry to hear about your smoking room experience. Please accept our apologies.This will be taken up with management at the hotel. You say that you are a regular guest at this hotel and that your other experiences have been good ones. Rest assured that we will be doing our best to make your next stay another good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Nothing exceptional, but as long as they keep the rooms spotless as they are, we will return. It is convenient, familiar and adequate. Tip - find somewhere better to eat than the on-site Dros!

Room Tip: Rooms near the stairwells can be a bit noisy due to rowdy guests, if this bothers you ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Town Lodge Menlo Park for a night en-route to Sun City. This hotel is conveniently located close to the freeway, so it was ideal for our purposes. The room was your typical no-frills hotel room, clean and comfortable. It is close to the Menlyn Park shopping centre, which was convenient for finding somewhere to eat. (We had previously had a bad meal at the Dros which is next door, so opted for a meal elsewhere this time) We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel in the morning, but were pleasantly surprised to be offered a brown bag with a complimentary muffin and apple when we checked out in the morning - I thought this was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
#15 of 74 in Pretoria
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Capital Menlyn Maine
The Capital Menlyn Maine
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 74 in Pretoria
294 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#17 of 74 in Pretoria
202 reviews
4.5 mi away
Southern Sun Pretoria
Southern Sun Pretoria
#7 of 74 in Pretoria
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Menlo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Menlo Park

Address: cnr Atterbury & Klarinet Roads | PO Box 36866, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: $71 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Menlo Park 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Menlo Park with a restaurant on the property. The hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Menlyn Park Shopping Centre, 10 minutes from the Pretoria CBD, very close to trendy Hatfield for restaurants and entertainment and also a short drive to Loftus Sports Stadium. The hotel is just 1 minute away from the N1 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Town Lodge Menlo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Menlo Park Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing