We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
44
48
25
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
44
48
25
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bath shower combo up to date business or pleasure home away from home a lovely stay excellent service protea cbd reception supper clients excellence gym venue university conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 127 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Nice place to stay with log of privacy yet well located so close to necessary amenities for more comfort and fulfillment. Rooms are well equipped and with adequate space. Staff is so professional and serve with great diligence.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank zwelithinig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandiMoolman, Public Relations Manager at Fortis Hotel Capital, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Dear Zwelithinig,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital.

As our VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Ofentse Setsiba
Marketing Plan Coordinator
Protea Hotel Capital
marketing@capitalprotea.co.za
+27 12 322 7795

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and I feel so welcome everytime I go back. The staff are friendly and helpful and some even greet me by name when I return. There is a lovely pool with a deck where I always love to enjoy a glass of wine in the evenings, the food in the restaurant is delicious, they put out a big buffet every evening. The rooms have crisp new linen and up to date classical furniture. The bathrooms are old but they are in the process of redoing them, I have seen one of the new ones and it is fantastic. They always seem to be doing some new renovation to improve. I have also noticed that they have put new curtains with great block out in all the rooms recently. I strongly recommend this hotel should you wish to be the CBD. It is close to the State Theatre, Union buildings and the Pretoria Zoo.

Room tip: Ask for pool facing and perhaps one with a new bathroom, you may get lucky
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GorgeousL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandiMoolman, Public Relations Manager at Fortis Hotel Capital, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Gorgeous L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital.

As our VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Ofentse Setsiba
Marketing@capitalprotea.co.za
Protea Hotel Capital
marketing@capitalprotea.co.za
+27 12 322 7795

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

While in the centre of town and well located, this hotel is in need of a total refurbishment. Despite having given them time of arrival they weren’t ready for my travel group.. Their system of checking in leaves a lot to be desired. Their attitude toward the guest after the meal was appalling in that they kept harassing them to pay upfront for the meal instead of the normal pattern of settling the bill before departure.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 20, 2016

Dear Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the service delivery overall. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. Regarding the renovations of the hotel, kindly be advised that we are busy with hotel renovations.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Pretoria.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,
Ntswaki Sindane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

The hotel is situated in a central area, i.e city centre, not very far from Union building and other interesting areas like Sammy max square, taxi rank, station, Gautrain. They two universities are not that far.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobertSegano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandiMoolman, Marketing Coordinator at Fortis Hotel Capital, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Dear ROBERT SEGANO

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Ofentse Setsiba
Marketing Coordinator
Protea Hotel Capital
marketing@capitalprotea.co.za
+27 12 322 7795

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Recently attended a conference and enjoyed superb service, excellent snacks and a delicious meal with a large variety of dishes. Great stuff are made of this! The staff are well trained and equipped to deliver their best. Worthwhile visiting.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandiMoolman, Manager at Fortis Hotel Capital, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear DSMIFF,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your conference. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Yolandi Moolman
Marketing Manager
Protea Hotel Capital

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews