We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid stay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A solid stay for business”
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Thanks to the folks at the Sheraton for a comfortable stay. I have had some bad experiences in Pretoria in the past, and I will definitely return here for business. All of the amenities one expects, with better service than I have had at other similar establishments in Gauteng.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmiles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    193
    97
    42
    18
See reviews for
42
156
40
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
715 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This was an excellent hotel stay for our purposes (on business -- you may have other priorities.)

The room and bed were very comfortable, with all the amenities expected in a typical business-class hotel (in-room safe, toiletries, good towels, good water pressure, etc.) Comfortable bed; good closet and drawer space. My room and bathroom were spacious enough -- typical by most US standards, but more spacious than many hotels I've stayed in Europe by comparison. My view was up a busy street toward the Union Hall Government buildings, but still was quiet. Very good housekeeping.

There is a nominal charge for internet acceess (less than $12 US,) so this charge was less annoying than the usual ripoff, but I still want it included in a room rate at a business class hotel.

What sets this hotel apart is the obvious care given to the food and wine in the restaurant and bar/lounge. The breakfast buffet had the usual nice fruits and quality pasteries and cereals, but also won my heart with a very good omlette man cooking omlettes to order. One minor service ding: you have to be assertive with the well-meaning staff to get coffee quickly in the morning, and refills. There were two breakfast buffet options -- approx. $16 US for the continental, $21 US that included the cooked options. Not cheap, but excellent quality and good value.

Because of our work schedules when traveling, we appreciate a good on-site restaurant, and the options here did not disappoint. The chefs are very talented. Two nights we had excellent dinners, where the menu offered a nice choice of first and main courses that also included some local cuisine options. Someone also pays a lot of attention to stocking excellent and well-priced South African wines, available by the glass. (I have wine every night with dinner -- I know what I'm talking about.)

The bar area was being renovated during our stay, but bar service and the lighter food options were available in the lobby-lounge. On another two nights, we ate here. Again, the talent in the kitchen came through. The grilled/sauteed chicken sandwich (I forget if it was Lebanese style, or Syrian style, or what ethnicity) was so good that I ordered it again the second night.

The pool is not large, but the water is heated and the pool area is nice. There is an on-site fitness room, but didn't have time to use that, either.

The hotel is safety/security conscious and calls a trusted cab service if you need to go somewhere. Trust their service.

The hotel is in the center of Pretoria and well-located to shopping, etc., but I'd still take a trusted cab where you need to go.

Since I'll need to come back to Pretoria sooner than later, I'll happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a excellent stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is an exquisite Sheraton overlooking the parliament building. Surely accustomed to receiving diplomats, this hotel offers the most courteous service i've seen. From greeting to check-out, all was perfect during our stay. The rooms are very large and luxurious and I believe equipped with the Westin heavenly bed. The food fresh and delicious, valet fast and helpful, lovely outdoor pool, wifi throughout the hotel. There is not much to walk to from the hotel but this is probably true of any location in Pretoria. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a excellentt stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Perhaps my expectations were lowered by previous reviews; perhaps only government emissaries stay here (it is across from the Union Buildings and there appear to be few other reasons to come here), or perhaps management shaped up following those reviews, but this hotel far exceeded my hopes. Check-in was efficient and polite. I would definitely try to get upgraded to the club floors. We were placed on the 7th (top) floor (Starwood Gold) in a large corner room (718) with magnificent views towards the Union Buildings/Park and Church Street east. The lounge is elegant and quiet, and those on the club floors are offered complimentary internet (230Mb limit, but you can ask for more). The outdoor pool area is pretty enough and the fitness room is small but adequate. As mentioned by others, the minibar items are free (there are no hard liquor items) but I forgot this till the last day and guzzled two beers before I left. The Union Buildings park is lovely, great for a walk, and while you can't actually tour the buildings, there is a small market consisting of stalls selling costume jewelry, wood crafts and other souvenirs for what I thought were pretty reasonable prices. Not far from the hotel is a pizza shop called "Roman's" (Tel [--]) on the corner of Church and Hamilton. They don't deliver, but you can walk there, pick up your pizza and salad, bring them to the lounge and enjoy with a bottle of red wine. Anyway, the hotel and service appear to have shaped up considerably.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We went to South Africa at the end Nov/ early Dec. starting in Pretoria, staying at the Sheraton Hotel, taking the Blue Train to Cape Town, staying at the Table Bay and using Cape Convoy (tour guide) to show us around Cape Town. See separate reviews for these. The trip was arranged by Natalie with Best at Travel in London, who did a fantastic job arranging the tailored trip for us and at a price we were happy with – I would really recommend Natalie, she gave us some really good advice.

The Sheraton was a standard International hotel – we stayed one night arriving pretty late and leaving early, so didn’t really use any of the facilities, but we did bump into a couple of the England cricketers in the bar. The area around the hotel may have been safe but didn’t look it, so we didn’t walk outside, and it did not feel too safe – there are guards at the entrance and exit! The only advice I can give if you are staying at the Sheraton is ask for a room facing the Union building – amazing views!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WomblesofWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

I visited this hotel for business and it was fine for this purpose. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and it was good value for money. The area does not however offer much in the way of entertainment and we had to drive to Pretoria East for shopping and relaxation.
Staff was nice and there was no problems during my stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Spent two nights for work in December 2009, and paid extra (nearly double for the Club Floor). Benefits of the Club floor include check in/out at the lounge, daily breakfast, drinsk throughout the day, evening canapé's with drinks, butler service, etc. We were told that as the Club Floor was not busy, breakfast would be served in the main restaurant. During the day you had to look for staff for service, there were no drinks or snacks available unless you asked, and on the 2nd night there were no evening canapes. Check out was done at the main reception and took over 20 minutes. When I mentioned that we were disappointed with the club floor benefits I was told that they are shutting it for a month from the 20th of December.

Otherwise, it is a good business hotel, The room was large and spacious. It does need upgrading, as all the lighting, air conditioning, do not disturb signs are done manually. The mini bar is free (not sure if they top it up daily, as ours was not). The bathroom is large (toiletries not replenished) with a separate bath, good power shower, and fluffy towels.

Overall service was good, and the hotel has a very good car service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
253 reviews
10.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
137 reviews
4.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing