We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good standard, service a bit varied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“good standard, service a bit varied”
Reviewed April 15, 2006

I stayed for three days in the Sheraton. The room was spacious and clean and came with the usual amenities: mini bar, large bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. Breakfast is extensive and comes with free local champagne (though at almost € 15 extra) a bit steep considering the already high room costs.

The service was lacking a bit focus. The room was not ready when I checked in and no attempt was made to offer a free drink or coffee while I had to wait (after 13 hours flying it would have been nice). The curtain rail was a bit loose on the second day (clearly visible) but this was not repaired! On the day of the departure I came back to the room after breakfast and the bed was already stripped! Surely this can wait until after the departure of the guests! When this was brought up at check out no attempt was made to compensate.

Good standard hotel but service could be much better!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starflyergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    194
    100
    42
    18
See reviews for
42
159
41
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2005

Everything one would expect from a Sheraton Hotel. However you could be waking up anywhere in the world. The staff were professional but somewhat distant. The rooms were large and furnished to an extremely high standard and we had excellent views of Union Buildings. The sunday brunch at R120 per head approx £10 was a feast fit for a king and was exceptional value for money

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2005

The Sheraton Pretoria is a first-rate hotel for business travelers. In fact, it would be a first-rate hotel in any American or European city. Once secluded inside the gates, you could close your eyes and be in New York, London, etc. Further alienating the mood, just about everyone I ran into was from Washington, DC! Ambiance, though, is my only gripe about this very comfortable hotel. The room was very clean, the bathroom large and well appointed, and the bed with duvet quite comfy. There is a small pool area with a wonderful view of the Union House, and a good lounge, serving breakfast and tea, available for guests staying in the Tower (which I recommend). Staff was professional and polite. Of course, you can't go wandering around the neighborhood -- especially after hours -- and there are minimal shopping opportunities within the hotel. Internet access was spotty at best -- so we are in Africa afer all!

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GlobalGirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2005

An excellent 4+ start hotel located less that 5 minutes from city center and next to the embassy stretch.
The rooms are nicely furnished and big rooms and exceptionally clean. Comfortable beds, modern bathroom - all fittings worked! - lovely big tub. Recommend to take breakfast inclusive - great hot buffet breakfast served from 06:30 perfect for the early birds. Inhouse dining is okay - recommend the buffet, which vary daily.
The WiFi / wireless network is a bit moody - and relatively expensive!
Very friendly staff.
No hesitations in staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cngw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
257 reviews
10.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing