We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at this hotel. Our room was a good size and well furnished. We found the staff pleasant and helpful at all times, although the check-in was rather slow and seemed a bit disorganised. British Airways had lost my luggage but the staff provided me with a full set of toiletries and a free golf shirt within minutes of my mentioning it.

The bar snacks are pretty good and we had very good steaks in the restaurant.

Prices might be high by S A standards but if you're a Brit and used to London prices, it's very good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtistheBlackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear OtistheBlackCat

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It was such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, the snacks at the bar and your meal in the restaurant.
We were sad to hear that you had lost your luggage and hope that you managed to recover it. Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay at check-in.
We look forward to welcoming you back for you next visit to Pretoria and hopefully you will get a chance to stay a little longer to enjoy all that the hotel has to offer.

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    194
    100
    42
    18
See reviews for
42
159
41
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Sheraton Pretoria is modern hotel near many embassies and government buildings in Pretoria. The standard room is a bit smallish in comparison with similar properties in South Africa. To my surprise, the amenities in the room were not par to other Sheraton Hotels in the US, Canada or Europe. The quality of the amenities (soap, shampoo, etc.) to the condition of the towels (need replacement) left a not so memorable impression. The free internet service was acceptable, yet it took a while to connect. The breakfast buffet was very good, with a great variety of options, including fresh fruits, cured meats, cheeses and omelet bar. I have to say the bartender was attentive and the wine special (about 30Rands per wine glass) is a great deal, nonetheless, ordering food from the bar menu was mission impossible. The chicken salad was not tasty and the quality of the chicken was literally cut from some day-old piece of chicken in the kitchen. The bartender and the chef did apologize for the bad quality of the food and on their second attempt to prepare the chicken salad, they got it right. The check-out was slow and perhaps, the management might want to increase the personnel during the morning rush. Aside from all these mishaps, the Sheraton Pretoria is good location for a short visit to Pretoria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear martinae94,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as you’re preferred accommodation while visiting Pretoria. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well as the wine during our Social Hour.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with the food and the slow service at check out. We greatly appreciate that you chose to share your experiences. You exact detailing will contribute to our on-going efforts to improve our services and ensure that we provide our guests with the service & products they deserve and rightly expect for the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to Pretoria.

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in December and I must say I was a little underwhelmed. I had always been at the Sheraton for meetings etc but had never stayed there. The service was below par and the setup at the reception coupled with slow service means you are left standing waiting for long periods. On top of that the hotel was very inflexible with a late checkout of one hour, initially refusing, then accepting, then later informing me on the invoice that it was not possible. The rooms were standard upper class chain hotel rooms, although the price was well below what I imagined for a hotel I had heard such rave reviews about. Of course the hotel has a fantastic view of the Union Buildings and is still a cut above the other chain hotels around Pretoria. The underground parking is very convenient but at quite a cost. Not a bad experience, perhaps I expected too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DopeyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear DopeyMo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the view of the Union Buildings.

I am sorry to read that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced at our Front Office with regards to the slow service and the late-check out. We very much appreciate your comments as such feedback gives us the opportunity to recognize the areas the needs improvement on our side.

I sincerely hope to have you return for another stay in order for us to reflect a new perspective of outstanding Sheraton guest hospitality.

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is one of the grand business hotels in Pretoria. It is guaranteed to impress your clients or associates when they visit. Decor is grand Tuscan Villa luxury, and the service is impeccable.
Prices for room service, breakfast, drinks, and spa services are totally absurd though. Expect to pay over R200 per person for breakfast!!!! There is a MacDonalds two blocks away, and the view is toward the Union Buildings, so its really not a bad location. Rooms are quiet and the stay is relaxing and refreshing. I stayed for 5 nights, and it was a most enjoyable stay.
Each room has an iron and ironing board, as well as a lovely desk to work at.
The Lavazza coffee machine in each room is a special treat, with a lovely aroma and the perfect cuppa to begin the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear AK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such an amazing review. We really do appreciate it and more importantly the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments with regards to the prices as such feedback gives us the opportunity to recognize the areas that affects our guests satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in hopefully not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Clean rooms, responsive and courteous staff. The personal attention from Check-In to check out made the stay a pleasure. I appreciated the check-in desk. They removed the large formal desk and replaced them with small informal check in desks scattered around the lobby entrance. Made for a personal touch. The location is good if you have government business, as it is right across the street form the Union (Capitol) building. great view!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Hp83,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you had a excellent stay at our Hotel. I will be sure to share this feedback with our team, who I am sure will be ecstatic with this review.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Pretoria for two days. The hotel is nice, the lobby is beautiful and picturesque and the staff are very friendly. But, the hotel is away from everything. There is nothing close by and it can get pretty boring if you are not working or do not have activities planned. The rooms are nice and spacious, the bathroom is awesome. The room cleaning crew are not that friendly but they do their job well. There are flyers that tell you to keep your things safe and that the hotel is not responsible even if things from the safe get lost. I think that it is just a regular update, since I did not lose anything even though I left things in the safe and went out. We got an awesome room on a top floor with a view of the Union Buildings and it was just wonderful.

Overall I would say the hotel is not a bad choice but it is not in the midst of things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear V R

Thank you for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding your recent visit. I am pleased to read that you had a good stay at the hotel and enjoyed the bathroom and the amazing view of the Union Buildings. Your feedback in much appreciated as it assists us in improving any service shortcomings.
.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Pretoria.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Choose to stay here because I wanted some luxury in the middle of a chaotic 2 week multi city trip around SA. Rooms seem perfectly good. But the restaurant/bar option is akin to an Ibis. Both are in essentially the foyer, the menu choice for both a la carte and buffet is terrible, and the drinks prices ought to make Paris, Helsinki or Tokyo blush. There must be better in Pretoria. Keep looking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcurtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear paulcurtley

Thank you for taking the tome to share your comments. I am pleased that you liked the rooms.
It was sad to read that you were disappointed with the food in the restaurant as well as the prices of the drinks. I shall share you feedback with our executive team this will help us in our on-going efforts to improve on our guest satisfaction.
We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
256 reviews
10.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing