We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed April 29, 2013

2nd stay - 2nd time really appreciated the extremely courteous staff all throughout the hotel. A big difference to most hotels in Pretoria area, and making so much of a difference. Location ok. Perfect for short business stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear MarcusZug,

We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Sheraton Pretoria hotel for a second time. Thank you very much for your appreciative comments about our staff, they work exceptionally hard to ensure our guest enjoy their stay.

We look forward to welcome you back for your third visit to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 517 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Neat hotel, very good service, could be the best hotel in Pretoria if they had a good kitchen.
Rooms are big and very well maintained staff is helpful and smiling.
The lobby bar is well furnished and a nice spot to start the evening.
Internet is slow and unfortunately the food is not very good.The swimming pool is too small and sad.
This hotel just miss a good restaurant, and a pool bar that actually works as it is abandoned (you ll just find a phone and the room service number)... then would be perfect.
Thanks for a wonderful stay as usual.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel and its staff. It was nice to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy the food and that the internet was slow. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments and will help us in our on-going efforts to improve the hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Pretoria

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is fine (though over glitzy for my taste) but do avoid the dinner buffet. When I went down to eat at 20h30 it was empty and took ages to restock with poor quality food (Boerewors Casserole???). I was reduced to eating tepid soup while I waited for something more substantial to arrive. There was no butter for the bread and I had to scratch around for cutlery as no one had bothered to relay the tables properly after the hordes who must have decimated the buffet had left. I was never offered a drink so bad was the service. I eventually ate some very poor greasy garlic potatoes, half a gem squash stuffed with frozen peas and a hard piece of fish. Yuk! It was not cheap either.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank ChrissieBGrahamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear ChrissieB

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am grateful that your experience in the restaurant was brought to my attention. I would like to take this opportunity to offer my most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced.

You’re detailing of your experience has helped us to isolate where we went wrong and how we can improve on our service in the future. Your review has been shared with the chef and restaurant teams who will action and address the points raised to ensure that we provide our guests with the service and products they deserve and rightfully expect from the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

First the advantages.

This is a thoroughly professional hotel. It's clean with comfortable rooms and is well positioned opposite the Union Buildings. For this position the rates are reasonable.

But it's souless. In contrast to everywhere else we stayed in South Africa, the atmosphere was anaemic, the food was indifferent and the service was no better than average. It may be that staff had been sent on a special corporate training course to show them how to address guests in a way that would give no offence but they conveyed no warmth or sense of welcome either. If this was the intention, it succeeded.

It follows an international fomula, suitable for deal making in a capital city where it is actually a bad thing to interact with guests. Those not wearing sharp suits are looked down on.

You may be grateful of a good night's sleep at the Sheraton. You may even like it. But you won't love it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Skwirral,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about you recent stay at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

It was very interesting reading through your comments about the hotel and its staff. This is definitely not the impression we want portray to our guests. We will continue to strive and deliver good quality and attentive service to ensure our guests feel at home while staying with us.

Thank you for your comments which will help us in our on-going efforts to improve our service.

Warm regards,
Pascal Fouquet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As I am currently based in Pretoria, I haven't needed to stay overnight at the Sheraton, but it has for some years been my preferred place to take business or overseas guests for lunch or dinner. There was a large restaurant, with an excellent buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus a reasonable a la carte menu.
I was shocked this week, when taking an important out-of-town business guest to the Sheraton for lunch, to find that effectively the restaurant has closed !
I\m told they still provide the buffet breakfast, but then, so do very much cheaper hotels.
At lunchtime, when the place would usually be busy and filled with guests and many diners from town, including major political and business figures, we found the large restaurant EMPTY. We were told that they no longer provide the buffet lunch or dinner, " unless we have many guests staying at the hotel " ( someone later suggested to us this might mean at least 15 guests staying the night, which raised my fears about why this 170 room hotel, until recently the only genuine 5 star hotel in Pretoria, had so few guests. In the 2 hours we were there, maybe 8 others came in for lunch. There was one waiter and one wine waitperson. It felt like lunchtime on the Marie Celeste !
We were languidly invited to stay for lunch, and offered what looked suspiciously like the Room Service Menu ( certainly it was as limited as any room service menu I've encountered ). Pathetically limited.
Service was languid, too. There was no wine list, but a handful of wines available sitting on a table. We mentioned that we had 2 hours maximum for our business lunch. We both ordered the only chicken option, which seemed to take around 45 minutes to arrive, preceded by some microwave heated fluffy rolls and rock-hard frozen butter. The chicken was a really small portion, resting on a bed of a small amount of spinach with melted feta in it, and 4 tiny scraps of potato. It was only when I'd moved the chicken that these small accompaniments were even visible ! The plate was very hot, and it appeared that this was a long pre-prepared meal popped in a microwave or under the grill.
I ordered at about the same time, as desert, a creme brulee. As our 2 hours were nearly up, we became anxious that the desert had not appeared. Waving at the two people, presumably some form of maitre d', achieved nothing as they were deep in discussion. I actually half stood, waving both arms vigorously, and only after several minutes was this noticed. After a further delay the desert appeared, the waiter explaining something about having to go way "downstairs" to fetch it, making it sound like a lengthy and dangerous safari. When it eventually arrived, it was passable, and accompanied by a scoop of this Sheraton's well-known flavourless ice cream, lacking taste, sweetness and desirability, as has been the case here for years.
I could not imagine now booking any of our overseas or business guests into the Sheraton Pretoria, with only this pathetically limited room service menu ; to get anything else than this poor food at high prices, they'd have to walk several blocks to a McDonalds !
What a shame ! Once a very viable and valuable venue with good if not outstanding food, now at high prices providing less than a Holiday Inn or City Lodge.

Room Tip: Do NOT book to stay here without a guarantee that the full restaurant service and buffet meals will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayuriPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear MayuriPretoria,

Thank you for your review on your recent lunch at the hotel and I was sorry to read about the poor service in the restaurant. You’ve indicated that the restaurant was closed. It’s unfortunate that on the day you chose to have lunch, the restaurant was not filled with guests, the menu was not adequate, you were not presented with a wine list when seated and the service in the restaurant was extremely slow. Please accept my sincere apologise for the poor experience that you have encounter.

However, we honour you as a valued customer and will continue to utilize all customer feedback for internal training and service needs in order to deliver the service our guests have come to expect and are accustomed to. Your points were address with our food and beverage team, our menu was redone and we do have an interesting wine list in place unfortunately was not offered to you.

Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and I would like you to get in touch with me. I look forward to meeting you in the restaurant when you make your next reservation.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were walkin guest, so service was pretty efficient and speedy. Dinner was rather expensive, compared to the surrounding restaurants, why is that?. Breakfast was marvellous and there was enough to eat and wide range selection to choose from. The only downside was it took several trips to reception to have an additional bed brought to the room for our son. WI-FI should be for free. Had a room overlooking the Union Buildings, great view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1toSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear 1toSweeper,

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our dinner buffet offers a variety to choose from to accommodate both local and international guests and is therefore priced accordingly. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused by the delay when delivering the extra bed.

We hope to see you soon for you next visit to Pretoria

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Probably one of the better/best hotels in Protoria. The hotel sits on a nice hunk-o-land with good visible security throughout. Large open lobby area and check in desks, not a central front desk area make it feel a bit more personal. Welcome drink and cool wash cloth greeted me on arrival.

The rooms are spacious, good views and a fun espresso-like machine in the room. Beds comfortable, marble-shower and full bath were additional nice touches. Two baby-sized bottles of water in the room were complimentary.

Food prices were really steep, particularly for dinner. Dinner buffet was scarce and worth far less than the $25. It was rather embarrasing to the Sheraton brand the limited selection available. Breakfast on the other hand was impressive with treats to tempt foodies of all types. Unfortunately, other eats are not nearby the hotel. Parking was about $10 a day.

The fitness center was decent, including one multi-use weight machine, a set of dumbells and four or so cardio machines and a small stretch/abs area. If fitness is important to you, this is definitly a good starting point (many hotels in SA don't have fitness centers!).

Staff were friendly throughout the stay from the restaurant to lounge, check in desk to fitness center.

Room Tip: Don't eat dinner at the restaurant / seek out better options outside the hotel unless truly in n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank X1432GLmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Pretoria.

It was such a pleasure reading that you consider the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as “one of the better\best hotels in Pretoria”. Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel, services and it’s staff. Your detailing of your experiences during your stay is highly appreciated as it gives future guests a good idea of what to expect from us and is also seen as an opportunity to evaluate our service level and facilities. We shared your comments about breakfast and dinner with our restaurant team and will look into it.

Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back

Warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
1.4 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Pretoria
Southern Sun Pretoria
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: $89 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing