We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“5 star, mmm! maybe an excellent 4 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star, mmm! maybe an excellent 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel staff where friendly at check in. Taxi service took 15-20mins to arrive so you have to pre-book. Rooms are well maintain and clean. The phone does not seem to be answered after 10pm. I had external calls due to time difference and the switch board would not answer to put calls through to my room this can be a menace if you are on a business trip. Menu limited but the chef was willing to cook outside it which was a great meal. Thank you. Some parts of the neighborhood are not great and some are and two shopping malls three blocks down etc. Staff where attentive to needs. Internet service is great, guests are given 45mins free a day plus a printer, it's adequate if you want to check email or check-in online. One does not need more if you have things to do on an holiday. Breakfast has freshly squeezed juices! Room service is quite prompt.

Room Tip: Ask for a view with Union Buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrietah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel and your experiences during your stay.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff, rooms, internet and the freshly squeezed juice at breakfast.

With regards to the menu we created our food selection and variety as per demand of our guests. Your feedback is very important to us and will be taken into consideration. We shared your comments about phone with the relevant departments and will look into it in order to provide the service our clients come to expect from us.

We hope to see you again for you next visit to Pretoria, South Africa

Warm regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    174
    86
    36
    17
See reviews for
37
133
37
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went just after Christmas from United Kingdom. Service was impeccable. Excellent taxi service provided by the hotel it probably R10 more than the other local taxi but it was worth paying the extra. All staff are attentive to all requests no matter how bizzare they are. I would most certainly go there again If i went back to South Africa. Union buildings are outside the hotel view is magnificent from the first floor balcony space. Gaubus stops right outside the hotel from the Gautrain station.

Room Tip: must have the deluxe room. rooms that don't have the Union buildings view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel has a good location for Pretoria but it is 50 min to Joburg. There is no taxi infront of the hotel, everytime you wanna go somewhere you need to call it thru travel desk which takes around 20 mins to 60 mins to come. The rooms are ok. They have upgrade me to a standard suite. Staff is very helpful. Food is very bad, don't try to eat anything. We ordered salad and the vegetable were dirty:-/ If u r coming to Pretoria for 1-2 days business trip then it is ok to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamil_istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
765 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

At the end of our tour around South Africa, we decided to stay for a couple of nights at the Sheraton prior to flying home. We choose this hotel due to the proximity of the Union buildings and the historic surroundings, also we thought it to be a 5 * hotel.
Surprisingly isolated from shops, malls,and almost all other tourist sights (except for great views of the Union Buildings) the Sheraton is a hotel with a firm diplomatic and business core,
The Sheraton is a bit spoilt ,and definitely needs some sharp competition from another 5* hotel to wake it up, and some of its staff, from its soporific state. It seems to rely on being the place for S A Government officials and business of all type to happen, (hopefully all legitimate).
That said the rooms were very good, except no sound on the television,( anywhere in the hotel), and gadgets galore , some even had instructions on how to use them!
Good bar with ,strangely, a la carte menu (limited). Excellent piano player.
The restaurant was a vast Savannah of a place: well run , almost empty, themed nights (ie curry from previous nights left overs), good wine list, excellent waiters.
And that was the mark of the Sheraton, for every good feature there was something rather annoying (eg the live band at the function outside, so loud that conversation in bars was impossible - goodness knows what it was like in the hotel rooms surrounding the temp bar). Similarly, the staff were either excellent or very poor. Interestingly the best staff were the room maids and luggage men, as well as the waiting staff.
A very mixed stay; and at times we did feel that we really were not welcome there.

Room Tip: FLOOR 7 is best if you pass security test
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation for the last few nights of your stay South Africa. We are very happy to know you enjoyed the state of the rooms and the bar and its waiters. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the loud noise of the band outside.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We reached at night and couldn't see any parking near reception.
the valet & door man looked at us but never moved an inch.
As we parked on the side, again no one came forward to direct us.
we walked past the valet and still no one said anything.
few seconds later, in the middle of check-in, they came running to tell us rudely to move the car. There was enough space for cars to move but the hyper valet was over reacting to the situation, he told me forcefully 3 times in a few seconds.

I don't have issues with moving the car,
the problem is why didn't they say something when we arrived.
and why hasn't anyone trained them to talk with guests.
Hospitality industry staff are usually trained but this was lacking at Sheraton lower level staff everywhere.

Breakfast was nice, chef was good like all other hotels of this level
unfortunately some staff members ruin the whole experience because they don't know how to talk with guests in an appropriate manner.

-before I could sit, I was told not so nicely by the waitress that i must dish quickly as they have a lunch event and will be closing soon. (many other people were walking in long after that and food was still layed out till the normal closing time)
-the coffee was cold and when i pointed it out, she did nothing to correct the situation.
-the toaster didn't work properly, no one was there to help. I called one of the waitresses but she half laughingly told me that this was one of those toasters where you have to stand & watch for the toast as it can burn. and then she left me there to watch? I don't even know of a 3 star hotel that does this kind of thing.
-cutlery wasn't so clean.

For the first time in my life, I walked back into my room angry and hungry.

Tried to distract myself by watching tv but not all channels were available.
went to photograph the union buildings view but it cannot be seen from the window or the pool side as the view is blocked by very tall trees. Why advertise it then? I guess its probably visible from the top floor.

next day i hoped for a better breakfast
luckily food was ok but then i got to the toaster and called the staff to make my toast.
-no one came to ask if i wanted coffee, had to wait quite long to get someone's attention although they were serving many other foreigners veryyy well.
-my toast arrived long after the egg got cold, the toast was burnt from one side and not done from the other. she saw that but still gave it to me.
-my fork was missing, i got one from the other table as I would've waited for eternity for staff.
I wasn't so angry anymore because I was expecting such pathetic service from the staff.
obviously 5 star means facilities and not service standards.

I will never recommend this hotel to anyone
there are lots of other better options

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SA-t0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Pretoria Hotel as your preferred accommodation while visiting Pretoria, South Africa
.
I would like to take this opportunity to offer my most sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced upon arrival.

Your exact detailing of your experiences will contribute greatly in investigating the cause of such issues and taking corrective action. We most certainly value your business as a client of the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and will continue to strive to deliver the product and associated services which you as a guest expect from us.

We thank you once again for taking the time to detail your experiences and apologise for any inconveniences you experienced

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the Pretoria Sheraton in August 2012. This year I observed a remarkable improvement in the check-in process and I was given a double bed as requested. The food at breakfast time is an excellent variety as always and the cleanliness of the hotel is good. The only complaint I had was that my safe failed to work one evening and the manager on duty assured me that it would be fixed early the next morning but the repairs were done after 48 hours. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Pretoria.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Njeri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of the hotel and its associates. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It’s nice to hear that that you experienced an improvement in check-in process and are pleased with the food and the service offered by our staff, they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. I do apologise for the delay with getting you safe fixed, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warm regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Sheraton is probably the best hotel in Pretoria and a solid option for business travel. However bear in mind that it is unsafe to venture outside this hotel unless you are in a car. The customer service is average to poor. Check-in is slow and bureaucratic as is the check-out. The rooms are generally good however some feel a bit dated. The restaurant food is OK but repetitive if you are there for a few days. The gym is dated and the staff are clueless. The rooms facing the main road can be noisy especially the lower level floors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do apologize for any service issues you may have experienced during your stay. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we get. We aim to deliver good quality and attentive service, and will continue to address the inconveniences / problems mentioned, in order to provide our guests with the service they deserve and rightly expect from the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel.

Warm regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.4 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#2 of 73 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#25 of 73 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing