We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see in South Africa”
Review of Freedom Park

Freedom Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.26*
and up
Pretoria Capital City Tour
More Info
$230.41*
and up
Pretoria City Guided Day Tour
Ranked #14 of 120 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Freedom Park is the South African tale in the voice of the South African people. Using our unique culture, heritage, history and spirituality, it tells of the events that shaped us and why we are who we are today. It is the heart and soul of our nation captured in one breathtaking space.Situated close to our capital's city centre, Freedom Park stands as a memorial to what we have achieved as a nation. Most importantly, it stands as a beacon to guide all South Africans on the route of hope and patriotism to a proudly united nation. Freedom Park urge use to experience and appreciate our history, to walk where our ancestors have walked and to learn about our shared heritage as brothers and sisters.Go on a guided tour of Freedom Park at 09h00, 12h00 or 15h00; or take a self-guided tour. We are open 7 days a week, except on Good Friday and Christmas Day.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Freedom Park opened in April 2013 and is, in my mind, not only one of South Africa's best kept secrets, but also one of the best museums I have visited in South Africa and the rest of the world. Situated on a hilltop opposite the Voortrekker monument, and joined to the Voortrekker monument site by Reconciliation road, it provides a broad overview of South Africa's history including its geological formation, different cultures, ancient and modern history. The museum itself is well laid out, and highly interactive. The park in which it is situated incorporates historical, spiritual and cultural aspects of the country, with a wall of names which includes the names of people who have played a key role in eight conflicts in the country's history, a sacred area, eternal flame and lekgotla area. The staff are exceptionally well trained, friendly and professional. I think Freedom Park should be a must-see site for all tourists, and that every South African who can do so, should try to visit it. Taking the time to go on a guided tour is well worth it.

1  Thank Felicity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank-you for this brilliant review. You've encapsulated Freedom Park beautifully.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

A monument built as a memorial to those who sacrificed in the name of freedom. A spiritual place but as an attraction I found it a bit haphazard. The focal point is the eternal flame but it was smaller than I thought and you could not really see it very well. I had a job finding the Wall of Names and there seemed to be paths leading nowhere. There is a 'spiritual resting place' consisting of a circle of stones and a small waterfall but it was hidden away at the end of along path. Why not keep everything in one place? Not enough to see to justify the 45 Rand entry fee.I walked there from town crossing over the footbridge that is to the right of Pretoria station into Salvokop. Didn't feel too safe here. Walked up Koch Street to the visitor centre at the top. They gave me a lift to the park in a golf buggy, and afterwards they dropped me off at the gates to Voortrekker Monument where I walked to next.

1  Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank-you for your sharing your experience with us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

And there are many humebling sides to the history portraied here, but scientifically it is not convincing. Also, it does not say much besides that which is evident. Too much effort is instead placed on effects; videos, sound, music, etc. Another thing: we were all alone, no other visitors! A freedom park should be open to all people, especially the poor. This one is not.

Thank AnotherKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank-you for your review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The living museum has been very well done although at times there is information overload and it would be better to be given more time to interpret each event in the struggle for freedom with more contemplation. The park itself is safe and pleasant to walk around but much more could have been made of the 'gallery of Leaders' which was a disappointment frankly. Overall it is a 'must' to see and experience but probably needs to evolve more as it is still relatively new.

Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Your review is appreciated, thank-you.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If there is one thing you do this year it must be a visit to Freedom Park.

It is spiritual beyond belief and you will understand why all Africans feel the way the do .

This is the biggest monument in Africa - do not hold back and you need at least 3 hours - amazing

2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank-you for your positive review on the spiritual space that is Freedom Park.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Park also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing