We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Freedom Park

Freedom Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.98*
and up
Pretoria Capital City Tour
Ranked #13 of 112 things to do in Pretoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Freedom Park is the South African tale in the voice of the South African people. Using our unique culture, heritage, history and spirituality, it tells of the events that shaped us and why we are who we are today. It is the heart and soul of our nation captured in one breathtaking space.Situated close to our capital's city centre, Freedom Park stands as a memorial to what we have achieved as a nation. Most importantly, it stands as a beacon to guide all South Africans on the route of hope and patriotism to a proudly united nation. Freedom Park urge use to experience and appreciate our history, to walk where our ancestors have walked and to learn about our shared heritage as brothers and sisters.Go on a guided tour of Freedom Park at 09h00, 12h00 or 15h00; or take a self-guided tour. We are open 7 days a week, except on Good Friday and Christmas Day.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very impressive experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Although not yet completely finished, Freedom Park already gives the visitor a moving experience. The memorial flame, the steel 'reeds' that surround the monument and especially the wall of names and the walk to the holy place are something every South African should experience. The gallery of leaders is rather disappointing - not yet finished, but I hope the authorities decide to improve this soon because these great leaders deserve a more thought-out and well-designed set up.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank-you for your positive review of Freedom Park, and for sharing your thoughts on the Gallery of Leaders.

There are indeed plans to improve this space; and we would like to inform you that the completion of the Gallery of Leaders is planned to commence in March 2013 with printing and installation being conducted at this point. Thirty leaders have been been verified by our Names Verification Committee for exhibition, with plans to improve on the actual layout of the banners, as well as the introduction of sound.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    20
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE MISSED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

If ever there was a spiritually healing place - this is it - do not ever miss this if you are in Pretoria.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank-you for your positive review.

Freedom Park is indeed a place of spirituality, healing, heritage and nation building; and we are glad that you shared your experience with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beauty in diversity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

An absolute must visit when in Pretoria. Freedom Park is situated in the middle of all the other historical monuments in Pretoria. Strategically placed in this manner so you can see all the other monuments from there! A very interesting and insightful place!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TrouVrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank-you for your positive feedback.

Freedom Park does indeed provide a great view around Pretoria; and is easily linked with the Voortrekker Monument through Reconciliation Road.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I visited Freedom Park for the first time in July and found it a truly wonderful place. In a country full of monuments to racial hatred, such as the nearby Voortrekker Monument, Freedom Park stands out with its emphasis on quiet reflection and reconciliation. The guides are very knowledgeable and far from being intrusive want to share with you their enthusiasm. It is particularly great to have the experience as we did of visiting the Park at the same time as a group of South African high school students singing in celebration of their freedom from apartheid. In short, a great place to discover history, beautifully laid out and landscaped, and incorporating a very moving wall of names modeled on the Washington Vietnam Memorial.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hewlettPismoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank-you for your positive review.

We are glad that the experience had by your wife and you was 'peaceful and moving'.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moving, inspirational, thoughtfully executed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The park is so beautiful and was conceptualized and executed with such care and thorough attention to detail and multiculturalism. Easily my favorite place visited in Pretoria, the guide was very knowledgeable and spoke to many different aspects of the park, including the main focus of healing and rebuilding upon which the site is predicated. An excellent way to gain perspective and new insight to the very rich history that is South Africa's.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank-you for your positive review.

We are thrilled to hear that this was your "favorite place visited in Pretoria".

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Park also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing