We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and moving”
Review of Freedom Park

Freedom Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.62*
and up
Pretoria Capital City Tour
More Info
$219.17*
and up
Pretoria City Guided Day Tour
Ranked #13 of 116 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Freedom Park is the South African tale in the voice of the South African people. Using our unique culture, heritage, history and spirituality, it tells of the events that shaped us and why we are who we are today. It is the heart and soul of our nation captured in one breathtaking space.Situated close to our capital's city centre, Freedom Park stands as a memorial to what we have achieved as a nation. Most importantly, it stands as a beacon to guide all South Africans on the route of hope and patriotism to a proudly united nation. Freedom Park urge use to experience and appreciate our history, to walk where our ancestors have walked and to learn about our shared heritage as brothers and sisters.Go on a guided tour of Freedom Park at 09h00, 12h00 or 15h00; or take a self-guided tour. We are open 7 days a week, except on Good Friday and Christmas Day.
Pismo Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and moving”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I visited Freedom Park for the first time in July and found it a truly wonderful place. In a country full of monuments to racial hatred, such as the nearby Voortrekker Monument, Freedom Park stands out with its emphasis on quiet reflection and reconciliation. The guides are very knowledgeable and far from being intrusive want to share with you their enthusiasm. It is particularly great to have the experience as we did of visiting the Park at the same time as a group of South African high school students singing in celebration of their freedom from apartheid. In short, a great place to discover history, beautifully laid out and landscaped, and incorporating a very moving wall of names modeled on the Washington Vietnam Memorial.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hewlettPismoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank-you for your positive review.

We are glad that the experience had by your wife and you was 'peaceful and moving'.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    20
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moving, inspirational, thoughtfully executed”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The park is so beautiful and was conceptualized and executed with such care and thorough attention to detail and multiculturalism. Easily my favorite place visited in Pretoria, the guide was very knowledgeable and spoke to many different aspects of the park, including the main focus of healing and rebuilding upon which the site is predicated. An excellent way to gain perspective and new insight to the very rich history that is South Africa's.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank-you for your positive review.

We are thrilled to hear that this was your "favorite place visited in Pretoria".

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A sight for sore eyes...”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

You feel like a victim and the attitude of the people at the monument are not friendly and are following you like a hawk...did not enjoy it at all!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyT165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom_Park, Webmaster at Freedom Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank-you for your review.

We have noted your feedback and apologise for this experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Park also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing