We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy, extremely friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Marion Guest House
Ranked #6 of 360 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A cozy, extremely friendly place”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

On our way from old Europe to Mozambique my wife and I were looking forward to the opportunity to discover a bit of the Pretoria aerea and to get some rest in the process. As we always do, we reverted to TA for counsel, picked up the number one choice and went to Glen Marion and, as usual, the review was sound and the choice wise. Really I have nothing to add to my fellow travelers comments if to say that our room was even cleaner and our guests, Billy and Poppie, kinder and more helpful in a totally friendly and yet not intruding way than we could espect and imagine. Thanks, Billy and Poppy,for your wholesome hospitality, you run a beautyful house and we reccomand it heartfully. We hope seeing you again. Best regards and wishes, Sergio and Françoise


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Sergio and François

Thank you for your review. You were the first guests from the "Old Europe" and we did not know what to expect. We just did what we are used to and it was responded to with your much appreciated review.

Our small guest house can only grow with feedback from our guests. We are planning some extensions for the 2014 and will let you know of the progress.

Thanks for your support and visit to Pretoria, South Africa.

Glen Marion Guest House management and staff wish you a Merry Christmas and prosperous 2014.

You are welcome to visit us again on your next trip to South Africa.

Regards' Billy & Poppie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
26
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Secunda, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

When on a Business trip, the only requirement i need is to find a Home away from Home.This was my second time around at Glen Marion and the Hosts Billy and Poppie realy made me feel at home from the moment i walked in until i departed 4 days later.Thank you Billy and Poppie and all of your staff and i will surely recommend your Guest House to friends and collegues that will visit the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerhardstoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy H, Manager at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Gerhard

Thank you for making time to write a review. We really appreciate your effort.

The management and staff of Glen Marion Guest House is proud of what they do. Guest service and comfort is our primary goal.

It was a great pleasure and privilege accommodating you.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Regards
Glen Marion Guest House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a gem we found when we recently stayed at Glen Marion guesthouse in Pretoria! The hosts Billy and Poppie were so friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived that it felt like family we visited. The rooms are beautiful and spacious enough so that you can relax in front of the TV with DSTV channels or work at the table if you need to. If we wished to do so we could sit at one of the tables outside the rooms that overlook the very well kept garden and swimming pool.All the staff members we came across were so friendly and efficient it felt unreal!We only ate breakfast but that was so good I would have liked to have dinner there as well.I would really like to recommend this guesthouse for there excellent service and reasonable rates to one and all!

Room Tip: If available I would always ask for the more spacious rooms but since they are limited the smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Martie

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated and inspiring.

Glen Marion Management and staff are dedicated to customer service and the reviews are our reward.

Regards

Glen Marion Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visited the place for a first time after a long drive from a rural area around Eastern Cape. a very worm welcome from management with smile on their faces. Served with delicious dinner then to my bedroom with DSTV, free WIFI, very neat bathroom as well as bedroom. then I go to my bed, clean blankets. I slept very well after a long drive. Everything was so wonderful and Perfect, quiet place to stay, no noise the whole night.

Room Tip: very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Linda

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated.

We are inspired by reviews like this to do even better!

Hope to see you again when you are next visiting Pretoria.

Regards

Billy & Poppie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Glen Marion is a beautiful guesthouse with friendly staff and hosts that makes you feel welcome and at home. The breakfast was incredible and with small kids they surely made us feel welcome.
Thank you and we recommend this to anybody. Great location as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yvonneb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Yvonne

Your review on is much appreciated. Our passion is what we do - Customer service, clean rooms and good value.

We hope to see you again when visiting Pretoria.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was my first time to visit Pretoria and as a non-citizen, i was very worried if i would find safe and reasonably priced accomodation. Glen Marion guest house provided that and more, friendly staff nd hosts, good food, clean rooms, DSTV, WIFI. The furnishing in the room and beds are excellet and without doupt 6 star. My wife loved the place and my mom couldnt believe she slept like a baby in a foreighn country. Since ariving home from Pretoria i have been recommending the place to any of my frinds who plan on visitting Pretoria.

Room Tip: I was in room 204 and i had a wonderfull view of part of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Selepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Selepeng

Thank you for the review. It is our passion to provide A+ class accommodation. We appreciate our client's feedback which inspires us to do even better.

We trust that you and your family had a safe journey home and that your son is progressing well.

Hope to see you again next time when you are visiting Pretoria.

God Bless you and your family.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent accomodation with everything that you need, tranquility, beautiful gardens and good service. The rooms has everything that one needs. The hosts are friendly and assist you with anything you need and both greeted us even though we turned up late. The food was 1st class and all the help very friendly, we will surely return here when we come again. In overall a fantastic stay. Kevin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Kevin

Thank you for the review. It was a privilege and pleasure accommodating you and your family.

Your review is inspiring to even better our high standard.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, when next you are visiting Pretoria.

Regards

Billy

Glen Marion Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
6.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.1 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Capital Menlyn Maine
The Capital Menlyn Maine
#26 of 73 in Pretoria
11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#2 of 360 in Pretoria
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Marion Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Marion Guest House

Property: Glen Marion Guest House
Address: 257 Annette van Zyl Street | Garsfontein, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 360 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Marion Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Marion Guest House offers upmarket hospitality for a comfortable stay in Pretoria East, South Africa. The amenities at your disposal include 7 en-suite, double rooms, with flat screen TVs & full DSTV, free broadband Wi-Fi, Fridge, electronic key-less safe, a tea & coffee tray (with kettle, milk etc.) per room. We align ourselves to cater for the discerning businessman, touring traveler, overseas guests or family groups. Included in our reasonable fees is a full breakfast, with bottomless coffee. Lunches and supper can be served with prior arrangement. Safe parking, a large safe pool, four lounge areas and a comfortable barbecue area are some of the additional benefits available for our guests’ use and comfort.We are conveniently located in a quiet residential area close to large shopping centers, business parks, training colleges and business centers. Glen Marion Guest House was nominated as the 2014 and 2015 finalist in the accommodation category of the Lilizela Tourism Awards. Certificate of excellence was awarded for 2014 and 2015 by Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Marion Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing