We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has great potential”

Toni's Fully Furnished Pizza
Ranked #11 of 687 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $129
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has great potential”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have often visited the Toni's in the northern region of Pretoria, that one is very very good. The one in Menlo Park however is not that great, because the toppings are extremely sparse. Not a good sign when the lamb pizza has a teaspoon of meat on it and a lump of fat and gristle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    55
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and with good pizza!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Chamberlain street restaurant has a unique old-house charm to it and sets the scene for a great evening in what otherwise just be another pizza restaurant.

I just love Toni's menu - it is varied and with interesting food and taste combinations. The food is well presented and reasonably priced. So we have become "regulars" in many ways and continue to enjoy going there. I have read about few complaints regrading the consistency of their quality, but after a number of years I can honestly say that the quality is always very good and the only small hick-up we have experienced once was when there was large company group of people with the restaurant's kitchen overwhelmed and the waiters stretched way too thin. But in general, no problem and most enjoyable!

Its also nice to see the owners personal involvement there.

You have to reserve a table (especially over weekends) and that says a lot about a pizza restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We regularly visit this restaurant. It's really the best pizza in town with choice of pizza combinations. The waiters are friendly. the very good speciality is dessert pizza with black Lindt chocolate. Recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IlkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Pizza excellent”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Different options of pizza toppings for an eat sensation, enjoyed the food on several occasions. Bookings essential but they still get it wrong, if the client requests a seat at a specific spot and you agree, don’t change it, an unhappy client will not support you, you don’t need my money

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dismal Service”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Dismal service. Made a telephonic reservation 2 days in advance, but was placed at the WORST table in the house (10cm's from a door which was opened - that is, opened & closed SLAMMED shut - by guests, waiters, & other restaurant staff EVERY 2 SECONDS). That is not to mention that ALL of these people hurriedly rushed past you every 2 seconds! Upon requesting a new table, we were told to wait until one opened up (there were several open tables at such stage, but they could have been booked). We waited another 15min's, until we were moved 1metre away from the original table!!! (Which had been lying empty all of this time anyway). Then, upon the order arriving, it was (indeed) the wrong order!! Called the waiter, he arrived after 3minutes, & then knew that it was the wrong order without my even having to tell him (why bring the order to the table in the first place, if you know that it's wrong? DO you expect me to merely "accept" it??). 8 minutes later, the correct order arrived - with my friend's pizza getting cold through all of this time waiting for my correct order to arrive! :) And then, after they mess-up, they seem overly apologetic, while truly playing "shocked & dumb" that the seating & wrong product were "actually problems"!! .... Just for the record, during our 1.5 lousy hours at this place, 2 other groups of people were placed at the same original table, & ALSO requested to move! Yet yes, they are so very surprised & shocked that that is NOT the place to position a table!! Especially when people are placed at it after making a telephonic reservation well in advance!!! Thank you, but your great variety of pizzas does not beat your dismal service!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelbyLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toni's Fully Furnished Pizza also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Toni's Fully Furnished Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing