We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

One of the nicest hotels I have found in many years travelling - not particularly cheap but well worth it. Reception was most helpful, room was very comfortable, food was excellent. Location offered lovely views of Pretoria's jacarandas.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very pleasant
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roythurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at 131 on Herbert Baker after going to Notten's Bush Camp for a 3 day safari. We only spent one night there, before going to the Pretoria station for our Rovos Rail trip to Victoria Falls. Wow. They arranged for Gift to pick us up at the airport and bring us around to the guest house. Three people helped us take in our bags, brought us water, arranged ice in the room, and checked us in. What a beautiful setting. We sat on the patio outside our room door looking over the mountain side to the city and enjoyed a great cheese and snack tray from the kitchen. The room was modern, luxurious and spotless. In the morning, Mike came around from the entry and walked up the tiled patio to greet us as we are sitting outside again. Mike owns the guesthouse but is only the boss when his wife is not there. He clearly wants to satisfy just about any want or whim. We asked about changing some cash for smaller bills and he told us his accountant has not arrived yet but he will check. Regardless, he will arrange for our driver to stop at an ATM on the way to the train station. At breakfast, we had no less than three waitstaff helping us. If we are in Pretoria again, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Did not know what to expect as we arrived at our hotel in a very elegant and private residential neighborhood overlooking Pretoria. We were treated as special guests, even though the hotel was at capacity. From the moment we stepped out of our vehicle until we were driven to the train station, every effort was made to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. The service, food, beverages were all excellent. The kitchen was outstanding as was the wine selection. The owners and Willem made sure that every request was handled with courtesy and professionalism. Our room was beautiful, spotless, and spacious. Lucky us to have found 131!

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor with a view of the city
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

131 Herbert Baker is a gem of a hotel. The staff is attentive, the rooms are gorgeous, and one simply feels at home. The owners are wonderful and go out of their way to make sure that your stay in South Africa is not only utterly enjoyable, but also successful. In our case, they volunteered superb relocation services. If your rooms faces out back, you have a chance to see some wildlife from the comfort of your own bed. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: If you want to see city lights, face out front. If you want your chance at spotting wildlife, face o...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cuculhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

From the time Willem Potgieter met us at the door until we left four days later we were treated like we were the only guests. As I normally stay in budget hotels, the 131 is easily the best place I have ever stayed. The rooms are perfectly inviting with every detail well thought out. The hotel restaurant served the best food I've had in Africa. From their version of a continental breakfast to the exquisite dinner entrees, everything was perfect. The team even made a to-go meal for our safari as we left long before breakfast started. I cannot say enough good things...STAY HERE!
and thank you to Willem and his awesome staff.

Room Tip: IF available choose a room in the front overlooking the city.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

we had an overnight stay after completing a Rovos Rail trip from Capetown and prior to our flight to Kruger National Park. we were warmly welcomed and made to feel like we had arrived at a dear friend's house. staff were lovely, food was excellent, wine selection was very good, service was personal and impeccable. the room we were upgraded to was simply amazing.

my wife took a spa treatment and they arranged for the hotel vehicle to take her there and back. too bad the spa only had room for a one-hour session open, as she could have easily done a two-hour session. the train trip aggravated her back but all the pain was all gone after the spa session.

made us wish that the train trip was shorter and that we had more time here. we will be back the next time we are in the Jo-burg area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a group of four stay for 8 nights. We were treated with exceptional service, food, and comfort. The manager assisted with any needs including arranging a Safari trip. The staff were very friendly and courteous. If you have an opportunity to be in Pretoria, this is THE PLACE to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.7 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#2 of 73 in Pretoria
272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
308 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
513 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
355 reviews
11.5 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Address: 131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: $124 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incredible 180 degree view of the city of Pretoria, the exceptional 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel stands primely positioned in the leafy suburb of Groenkloof. Bordering on the Groenkloof Nature Reserve, the private boutique hotel offers discerning visitors to Pretoria and Johannesburg an exclusive refuge from the bustle of the city. Originally built as a private residence, 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel was exquisitely transformed to provide outstanding hotel luxury, catering perfectly to the refined tastes of its clientele. The meticulous attention to every detail, together with impeccable service and superb dining, creates a distinctive boutique experience that has quickly earned 131 on Herbert Baker an excellent reputation. The hotel offers nine beautifully appointed guest suites and rooms, each with its own private balcony or patio/terrace. For guests who prefer to celebrate life in supreme style, the magnificent Presidential suite includes its own private lounge and dining area. Guests are invited to relax, unwind and savour a delicious drink in the hotel lounge or on the lawn, with its magical sunset views. The hotel's extensive drinks menu includes a remarkable wine list, to impress even the most selective connoisseurs. For culinary delights and a spectacular view of the city, the hotel's exclusive Ristorante Grissini is open daily. A full English and continental breakfast is included in the daily rate, while lunch and dinner guests are treated to sumptuous gourmet creations. In-room dining is available to those who prefer to relax in the privacy of their own room, and al fresco breakfasts, lunches or dinners may also be enjoyed on your balcony or terrace. Weather permitting, extravagant high teas are served on the front lawn daily. Booking is essential! In addition, the hotel offers transfers, a boardroom that can accommodate up to 18 people, and a private swimming pool located in the inner courtyard. Accommodating up to 60 cocktail style or 35 seated people, the hotel may also be hired exclusively for intimate celebrations and private functions - ideal for corporate groups and diplomatic parties. 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes' drive from the Pretoria CBD, with easy access to all major highways. A mere 35 minutes' drive from the Johannesburg CBD and 5 minutes from the highly efficient Pretoria Gautrain station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing