We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow wow wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosaic

Mosaic
Ranked #1 of 668 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $76
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant Mosaic at The Orient Private Hotel is this country’s finest destination restaurant and private hotel. Award-winning South African Chef Chantel Dartnall is known for presenting the art of nature on her plates through her botanical cuisine to take you on a culinary tour of pure indulgence. Bask in the sophisticated atmosphere of exotic spaces; an Oriental style oasis set in lush and tranquil 280h of the Francolin Conservancy. The Mosaic cellar is unparalleled in this country with some of the most exceptional and rare wines from both South Africa and internationally.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We went to Restaurant Mosaic in December for our anniversary.

What an extraordinary experience! Superb food, superb service, excellent wines. I especially loved the fact that the chef came to each table to explain the menu - which consisted of many intricate and unusual dishes.

I can HIGHLY recommend this restaurant for a special occasion, it truly was one of my best dining experiences ever!

Helpful?
1 Thank Saar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    17
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The dégustation menu proposed is a very nice journey into tasteful delicacies, with a lot of gastronomic fantasy. We took the SA selection of wines, very good. It would be interesting to alternate european and SA wines in a menu, just a guess. But it is not all about food. My wife and I were impressed by courtesy and professionalism of the service. The ambiance is really great, will certainly come back for the new seasonal menu.

Helpful?
Thank Varrialik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gastronomic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was blown away by the detail, attention to wine paring and absolutely fantastic food!!!!! I can not wait for my next visit! My favourite was the pumpkin dessert plate. Absolute perfection!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aletta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
204 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional - would give a 6th star for this special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Truly, this is one of the best meals I've ever had. The food was beyond fabulous - the chef Chantel comes out and explains the menu. The service is extremely good - special "bread server", etc. Presentation of food on plates was truly a work of art. I've never seen such detailed arrangement of edible flowers and game "footprints". Additionally, special courses/adjustments were made for my gluten free/dairy free diet - all elaborate and sumptuous. Add to this an unbelievably beautiful setting with unbelievable works of art (famous artists!) and you are guaranteed one magical experience. There is also a boutique hotel - we would love to return and stay here for a special celebration. Out of this world! One of the best memories of our incredible trip to South Africa.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCMosaic, Owner at Mosaic, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear BarbaraP101

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiance during your recent visit to Restaurant Mosaic at The Orient. We are delighted that you enjoyed our little touches, and hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa.
Warmest Mosaic Regard
Chef Chantel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best restaurant experience possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

What an exceptional fine dining experience. There are a few very good restaurants in Pretoria, but this restaurant is great. The cuisine crafted by Chantel is itself art, and the international wine pairings by top international sommelier Germain will take you on a taste journey which is thrilling. We found everything to be meticulously prepared, fresh and exquisitely tasty and matched by friendly and superb service. If they don't have a Michelin star, they should.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maeson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing