We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic breakaway in Gauteng”
Review of The Orient

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Orient
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

In February my wife and I returned to this wonderful hotel, for dinner and overnight this time, after we had dinner at the Hotel's restaurant Mosaic before. The owners converted the property into a Moroccan Castle with 10 Oriental themed rooms. We were in the Udaipur room and found it truly authentic. I've stayed in the Palace on the Lake in Udaipur 10 years ago and I must say this room really reminded me of that trip. The service is remarkable, friendly and unobtrusive. We received vanilla scented sparkling wine as welcome drinks upon arrival in our room. The room consisted of a sleeping area, separate lounge area, very spacious bathroom with a view over the garden from the shower and a balcony. The rooms are luxurious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Friends joined us for dinner in the Restaurant Mosaic. Once again the food was superb, true French cuisine and the wine pairings complemented the dishes perfectly. Breakfast the next morning was memorable. We had a 6 course plated breakfast at the pool overlooking the luscious garden. After breakfast we visited the on-site museum full of bronze sculptures. In the garden you can find secluded spots, furnished with couches and Persian carpets, to relax in. This was truly a unique experience and we could not believe that we were in Gauteng. It rather felt more than somewhere in an exotic location. We were totally unaware of the hustle and bustle of the City (Pretoria) that that is a mere half hour drive away. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DirkEksteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for The Orient
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 96 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Step in time to the world of the maharajahs. Once you enter you will feel like one until sadly you have to leave.
This unique hotel stands out in authenticity, attention to detail and impeccable service. In addition it boasts an art collection of sculptures by Tienie Prichard. A collection of remarkable vintage Rolls Royce of the owner a huge conservatory filled with Eland and other buck where one can talk afternoon stroll or walk. The wonderful ten suites each named after a city were decorated by all the trinkets the owners collected over a period of time. Dramatic entrances, glorious wood work and collections of their anthology flow though this remarkable hotel. To boost Chantal culinary skills are superb. The staff is well trained and friendly. Well worth a visit even to have lunch. A five star definite.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the main hotel. Samarkand and Constantinople is nice and the ones around it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

As far as five star hotels go, they're really great to stay at, but never quite home. Here is a remarkable exception.

No check-inn, no arrangements at the leisure desk, no quarrels with the concierge - just arrive and before you know it you're sipping some bubbly and chatting to the owner about what's on the menu for the evening.

Surrounded by a dazzling array of fine South African arts, each room is essentially a gallery of antique furniture, sculpture and canvases. Opulent to say the least but supremely comfortable.

Dinner in itself is an experience close to religion at this establishment. Prepare to have your senses bamboozled by the extent of flavoursome creations from the award winning chef.

Just like home, only better. The only thing you have to worry about is which of the hundreds of wines on offer to choose from with dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The secret behind The Orient Hotel is not the mesmerising art collectiion or antiques from the world over - it is the personal attention and interacrion of the owners in every element of the experience.

From a 300 year old bed to 12 course dinner from South Africa's most celebrated and talented chef Chantel Dartnal in the Tiffany Room, their is little to find fault with.

I applaud Marie and Chantel for the experience!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthurTwigge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hunter46Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pretoria
21.2 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
357 reviews
12.8 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
309 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
166 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
81 reviews
12.1 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient

Address: Francolin Conservancy | Crocodile River Valley, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the tranquil surroundings of the Francolin Conservancy, Restaurant Mosaic at The Orient is a perfect retreat for any gourmet traveler. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing