We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scenery”
Review of Kievits Kroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kievits Kroon
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely scenery”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I would probably visit again but was disappointed by a few small things. On the first evening the air-conditioner made a massive noise and we couldn't keep it on or sleep well. They did send someone to fix the next day after I asked so it was fine then there after.

Also the cleaners who cleaned up on our corridor put music on in the one of the rooms whilst cleaning all the rooms in our corridor at the same time and we couldn't have a nice long sleep in on that day (think they had a conference to get ready for). It was a noisy area of the estate. It was a week day but it was dissapointing that it wasnt as quiet as I had hoped.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
I apologise that your experience at Kievits Kroon was disappointing and assure you that we have taken your comments seriously. All the air-conditioners were checked during the recent closure of the hotel for our annual maintenance programme and will be monitored closely. The housekeeping team has been made aware of your comments and the fact that it is absolutely not acceptable to disturb sleeping guests. We pride ourselves on the peace and tranquillity of the estate and will ensure that everything is done to ensure that our guests can continue to enjoy these benefits when staying with us.

ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    81
    33
    11
    17
See reviews for
23
157
8
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've just returned from a night booked with 3 other couples at Kievits Kroon. The facility is spectacular, you feel as if you've entered a wine estate in Franschoek with elegant Cape Dutch buildings, lush green lawns, tall trees and beautiful gardens and water features.

We stayed in a luxury room which was perfectly elegant and clean with all the facilities one could need.

The pool area is ideal.

The only criticism I have unfortunately is a BIG one - the restaurant buffet was sparse and the dinner left a lot to be desired. The restaurant and bars lack ambience as well as a few elements of finesse which would make all the difference to your experience. The buffet was closed and cleared at 10pm without informing us so we missed out on dessert and at 10:10pm when the heavens opened and we required seating inside the restaurant we were told to sit in the foyer as the restaurant was being cleared!

Breakfast had a better offering but still lacked finesse and organization as we had to wait for people to leave before we could be able to get a 2 tables put together to seat our party of 8. The booking was made as a group booking so they surely should be aware of the number of guests needing breakfast.

I would recommend trying the a la carte restaurant when staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronnyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary remarks regarding the estate, our gardens, rooms and pool.

I want to apologise about your experience of our buffet. I cannot understand why the food was cleared before you had finished eating. This is absolutely not the way we do things. Our staff are normally very careful about ensuring that everyone has had dessert before the food is removed.

I had a discussion with the manager who was on duty at the time, and he explained that as you were the only table left, and you were sitting outside, the staff commenced with setting up for breakfast, which is acceptable. Unfortunately they did not expect you to want to go inside as they thought you had finished eating. The foyer, as you know, caters for an overflow in the restaurant and is set up with tables, so it seemed to the staff to be a good solution to seat you there.

I apologise again for the inconvenience it caused you.

I am also sorry you had to wait for a table for breakfast. The hotel has been unexpectedly busy for this time of year and this has put our staff under quite a lot of pressure. We are making every effort to try to ensure that we deliver the kind of service we have become known for, and hopefully we will not disappoint again.

Alan O’Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent 3 days at Kievits Kroon with a conference and we had an amazing time ! The first impressions as you drive in - Tranquility ! Feel like you are far away from the hustle and Bustle of teh city life and yet in very close proximity of Johannesburg and Pretoria. The accommodation provides a confortable retreat after a long day in conference with airconditioned rooms, comfortable beds and even a choise of the type of pillow you prefer ! The Conference venue was really well equippedand the staff are really helpful and friendly. The Restauarant and Bar areas provides a great setting for meals and relaxation. I can recommend this venue, not only for companies for conferences but also a retreat for couples or even a family !

Room Tip: There are a variety of options but I prefer the Cape Dutch style units (3 together)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenierPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
I'm delighted you enjoyed your conference at Kievits Kroon, and the tranquility and comfort of the hotel. Our proximity to Johannesburg is indeed an asset, as is the friendliness of our staff. You have described us, and what we strive to be, in a nutshell. Thank you for this great review. We hope to see you back again soon. Should you decide to bring your family for a stay with us, please be aware that we welcome children over 14 years of age, to ensure that we maintain the peace and tranquility we have become known for.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Becarful the hotel is not really in pretoria but 18 kms away from the city and not easy to find without GPS.
The hotel was built as a replica of the cape houses, the estate is quite big rooms are clean and confortable.
It is not a business hotel but more for a seminar or romantic geteway.
Service is fine, food is just average south african style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worltravelerF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Kievits Kroon is indeed a country estate outside of Pretoria (and we advertise it as such), which makes it ideal for romantic getaways and out-of-city conferencing. We send all our guests a map with directions when they make a booking, just in case they don’t have GPS. The directions are also on our website.
I am glad you found the rooms and service to your liking and hope you will be back to enjoy a leisure break with us!
Alan O’Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I loved the service here. The food was great too. The estate is beautiful. The rooms are large and well-equipped except that the toilet is separate from the bathroom. There is a full spa on the premises. I would go back again anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_E_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for this short but sweet review. I think you summed us up brilliantly - a beautiful estate with great service and food! We hope you will indeed be back.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This really is a beautiful estate with lovely gardens, nice rooms and great conference facilities. A nice spa, several bars and restaurants and an awesome pool complete the picture.

On the negative side, it took me several conversations and a trip to reception to convince them to let me order drinks on my room account. And the staff kept telling me to remember to pay for my drinks when I check out. Very strange behaviour for such an upper class venue, it almost made me feel like they didn't trust me??

The restaurant was nice, but the selection of dishes seemed to be repeated - for example, the dessert buffet was almost exactly the same on both evenings.

Top tip: when you book your room, specify whether you want to be close to the pool / restaurant / spa or not. It's a big estate with a lot of rooms so keep that in mind if you don't like walking far.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Your comment about the dessert buffet dishes has been noted and passed on to the chef so that he can review the menu. With regard to the issue with payments for drinks, our policy is to extend credit to any guest who has a credit card and we usually take an imprint of the card on check in. This is done to protect us from guests who leave without paying.

It is not the norm with conference delegates, because of the size of the groups, which is why staff request cash payments for drinks ordered. However, it should not have been a problem to get an imprint of your credit card and I apologise that you were inconvenienced in this manner. I will take it up with my staff to ensure that everyone is made aware of the process and this does not happen again.

Alan O’Leary, Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The service, the facilities, the food, everything is simply amazing! Highly recommended and will most certainly be going back. We went as a couple to celebrate my wives birthday, and as they were notified of this before we arrived, they made our stay simply unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoltan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for this great feedback and for choosing to celebrate your wife's birthday at Kievits Kroon. I am delighted we were able to help make it so special, and hope that you'll be back to celebrate more memorable occasions... or just for a romantic getaway.

Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
157 reviews
10.3 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
297 reviews
8.9 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
255 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#18 of 73 in Pretoria
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Property: Kievits Kroon
Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning country retreat, synonymous with style and elegance, Kievits Kroon is the perfect hideaway for romantic weekends and an ideal choice for corporate groups that seek a unique business experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Conveniently located just outside Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, the estate is a superb destination that strikes a harmonious balance between sensory indulgence and luxurious hospitality. Known as the "Winelands in Gauteng" because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, the estate boasts expansive lawns and gardens with a sparkling lap pool, a wellness spa with outstanding thermae facilities, and a gourmet restaurant, Granita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing