We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could go there every weekend”
Review of Kievits Kroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kievits Kroon
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I wish I could go there every weekend”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed at Kievets Kroon twice now. The first time was in October 2010 and just recently in July 2013. Both times, Kievets Kroon exceeded my expectations. Everything is fantastic from the gardens to the rooms, restaurants, food and spa. I highly recommend this destination which is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for this great feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We hope you don't let too much time lapse before your next visit!
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    90
    34
    11
    17
See reviews for
25
167
9
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked a day spa package at Kievitskroon as a birthday treat for my husband and I. From arriving at the gate of Kievitskroon we were amazed by the friendliness and courteousness of the staff.
The spa experience was amazing! The therapists were very friendly and professional not to mention excellent at doing their job! The facilities are well kept and the ambiance of the spa just what you want to relax and savour the moment.
The package included lunch at Granita Restaurant and that was also very good! The presentation and quality of the food excellent.
All in all it was a perfect day in the middle of winter at Kievitskroon. Will be back sooner than later!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It’s an honour for us when someone chooses to celebrate a special occasion at Kievits Kroon, so I am delighted your day was so memorable. I will pass your compliments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visit Kievitskroon regularly, the last weekend we combined the Lazy Sunday spa treatment with a Saturday stay over. As always the staff is efficient, but not rushed, the room impeccable, extra biltong/fruit hamper was great!
The choice at Kingsleys buffet is extraordinary and Sunday lunch a Granita a must, food is an art form in this restaurant. The Library 41 and veranda is a comfortable lounging space so you dont have to be in your room all the time.
Spa treatment was very enjoyable, well done Thusi!
We only stay a few km's from Kievitskroon, but when we realy want to rest and dont want to travel this our choice destination! You start to relax as you enter through the gates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristaLoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
You have captured the essence of Kievits Kroon perfectly in your review, thank you for taking the trouble to write it. Kievits Kroon is everything you describe – a convenient escape from the city, with great service, excellent accommodation, gourmet food and indulgent spa treatments. And, above all, peace and tranquility to ensure your relaxation. We hope to see you again on your next weekend getaway.
Alan O’Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a fantastic time on Fathers day.
The waiters was top class and the starters, drinks, Main meal and deserts was 5 star quality.
The presentation of the food was top class.
The premises makes you feel home.

Room Tip: If you want a 5 Star restuarant with top quality food, then Kievits Kroon is the place to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I'm delighted you enjoyed your Father's Day Lunch at Kingsley's Restaurant, and appreciate the fact that you took the time to write this review. We hope to see you back at Kievits Kroon again soon, perhaps for our Christmas in July dinner. More info on our website.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groblersdal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It was a very enjoyable break for the week end and I wish we could stay longer.The staff is very friendly and suffieciant.Thanks to Lerato for alovely weekend.We were surprize with a nice Hamper on arrival with alot of nice Fruit and biltong for me.The Spa treatment was the best Iever experience.The Dinner and theBreakfast was very nice with agood variety.The room was spacious and we had a good night rest.Thank you Kievits Kroon for a lovely weekend,Iwill defnitally visi you again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendrikgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Lerato will be thrilled to see this recognition of his great service. Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We hope to see you back again soon.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was the perfect getaway for my husband and I. We were so impressed with the level of professionalism and friendly nature of all staff. The atmosphere is serene and beautiful. Really enjoyed the variety of food and overall this has been one of the best places we have visited. We cant wait to go back there. Absolute bliss!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you Verona and Akash for this fantastic feedback! I will be sure to pass it on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you back at Kievits Kroon.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everything was perfect, no complains. The food, atmosphere, service/people and location just perfect.

Food was great with a good variety and our romantic picnic was amazing in their lovely gardens. Great hotel to get away from the city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liezlcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for this fantastic feedback! It is very gratifying for us to know that we are getting it right. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again soon.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.3 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
10.3 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
304 reviews
8.9 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
264 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Property: Kievits Kroon
Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning country retreat, synonymous with style and elegance, Kievits Kroon is the perfect hideaway for romantic weekends and an ideal choice for corporate groups that seek a unique business experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Conveniently located just outside Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, the estate is a superb destination that strikes a harmonious balance between sensory indulgence and luxurious hospitality. Known as the "Winelands in Gauteng" because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, the estate boasts expansive lawns and gardens with a sparkling lap pool, a wellness spa with outstanding thermae facilities, and a gourmet restaurant, Granita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing