We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and Manicured!”
Review of Kievits Kroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kievits Kroon
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed in KK for 4 days as part of an international conference held in the hotel. Overall satisfying experience, as the hotel is magnificient, with manicured lawns, white colonial buildings. On the pros side, the excellent restaurant, lounge, and perfect conference services. On the cons side, very slow service at the restaurant located near the lobby, differences in standard between the villa and the executive wing, and the hotel is very far from any attraction, so you need to ensure that your driver knows how to go and come back there.

Room Tip: Get a room in the executive wing if you are on a business trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoNonSenseTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments. I’m pleased to hear that our conference services were ‘perfect’, but disappointed that you experienced slow service in the restaurant. This is something we are working to improve. There is definitely a difference in the various accommodation options on offer at the hotel and this is reflected in the pricing structure.

Alan O’Leary, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 439 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night to celebrate our 8th wedding aniversary. The service is great. From check-in to departure. Beautifull setting and great food. The Spa is very average if I compare to others I have been to in Gauteng, but we still enjoyed it. The buildings crying for a bit of paint outside?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanjavdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

A great deal of our focus at Kievits Kroon is focussed on offering the best possible service to our guests, and your positive feedback is appreciated. You will be pleased to hear that the hotel received a new coat of paint in December! We have a rigorous maintenance programme, but being on a gravel road, the buildings do tend to collect dust.

Alan O’Leary, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The ambience is great with the Cape Dutch architecture. The hotel is well maintained and has a moderate 5* look and feel about it.

The spa is superb and one of the best around - it's full service from the treatment rooms, chill room, jacuzzis, steam rooms, snacks and lounge area, indoor pool - no gym though. I believe they are seeing to this in 2013 though.

The main dining room is cosy and we had a privat wine and food pairing in the wine cellar room - food was good and presentation very nice. Waiters and staff in general were so friendly and helpful.

There is a variety of accommodation to choose from - we were in Superior rooms and they are more than comfortable with all amenities you would want. Free wi-fi through out too which is great.

The pool area has recently been done and it is fabulous for aprivate function or for hanging out on a lounger or on sunbeds IN the jacuzzi pool with a cocktail in hand!

The breakfast buffet is extensive and of good quality as is the lunch buffet.

Conference wise there are more than 20 conference and function rooms to choose from so you can't go wrong.

Price wise this hotel is well priced and slightly more reasonable than competitive products which I think gives it an edge.

Definitely worth going to for a special night way from town that's in accessible proximity to Jhb or Pretoria or for a small or big company event.

Room Tip: For private stays - stay in a superior room. For business/conference stays - stay in a more corpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMoss101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this very comprehensive review! You really captured the essence of Kievits Kroon. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Alan O'Leary, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were looking for a short drive get away from Johannesburg as we did not want to be to far from the city - we stumbled across the ultimate jewel of a Hotel - Kievits Kroon - only 45 minutes drive from Sandton.

From arrival to departure the staff were excellent and friendly and the quality of the stay was excellent.

I highly recommend Kievits Kroon - try eat in both the Fine Dining Granita as well as the buffet in Kingsleys.

The spa is out of the world and very affordable too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your romantic getaway and appreciate you taking the time to compliment us on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Alan O'Leary, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Kieviets for a Birthday weekend and stating on booking in it was for a birthday, I did not expect the reception I got from all the staff that we dealt with. On arrival we had drinks while waiting to check in and the staff member that came to check us in surprisingly new it was my bday and sang happy birthday to me, surprisingly he had a very good voice as well... The room was very nicely presented with a basket of biltong, chocolates, sparkling wine, etc. At dinner I was served with small chocolate cake and happy birthday written on the plate, was a very nice experience the dinner in itself. I would strongly recommend Kieveits Kroon to all my friends, family and clients. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room presentation is awesome, the food is exceptional, wine list is great. All in all an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marceldpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We are pleased to have been part of your special day and glad that you had a good birthday. Thank you for taking the trouble to post this very nice review.
Kind regards
Alan O’Leary
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This place was beautiful. It reminded me of a gorgeous country estate that might exist in the southern U.S. The location was difficult and we had problems getting a reliable driver who knew where we were going and almost missed the wedding we were there to attend. The estate would be better off to keep their own drivers as we did not feel safe in the vehicle they arranged for us. It appeared to us that they did not take care in booking someone reputable even though they were given ample notice. It was a little disappointing considering the cost to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laceyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

The issue with your transfer is regrettable, but unfortunately the very reliable transfer company we normally use was not available. I apologise for the inconvenience and stress that this caused you.
Kind regards
Alan O’Leary
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to the venue where we had to attend a wedding. The driver that was provided for our transport was inept, having to ask directions from Kievits Kroon staff, stopping at 2 gas station enroute and not even seeing the sign for our destination. What should have been a 5 to 10 miinute drive turned out to be 45 minutes and we almost misse the ceremony that we had come to attend all the way from Canada. Very nice accommodations but make your transport arrangements carefully or rent a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleinwiehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We apologise for this bad experience with your transfer. We use a very reliable local company for guest transfers but they need to be booked in advance and I understand that they were not available on the day.
Kind regards
Alan O’Leary
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#7 of 74 in Pretoria
195 reviews
8.9 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 74 in Pretoria
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#26 of 74 in Pretoria
178 reviews
10.2 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#12 of 74 in Pretoria
323 reviews
10.3 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: $153 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kievits Kroon is a beautiful, tranquil country estate just 10 minutes from central Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, known for its luxurious accommodation, gourmet dining, and outstanding leisure and conference facilities. Acknowledged as “the Winelands in Gauteng” because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, award-winning Kievits Kroon is a sought-after destination for couples looking for a country getaway or corporates seeking a unique business experience. The hotel has 142 stylish, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, satellite television and complimentary Wi-Fi. Enjoy a gourmet picnic in the landscaped gardens or sip a cocktail at the sparkling lap pool. Granita restaurant offers a fine-dining experience, while Kingsley’s carvery restaurant serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Winelands Spa boasts outstanding thermae facilities including saunas, Jacuzzis, Swiss showers, plunge pools and a heated-indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing