We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning place and excellent service!! Highly recommended!!”
Review of Kievits Kroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kievits Kroon
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning place and excellent service!! Highly recommended!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We've been to Kievitskroon twice now and all I can say is great food, wonderful staff, comfortable rooms and a spa worth visiting. This establishment is well run with staff that's properly trained in customer satisfaction. I can highly recommend Kievitskroon for a getaway that will create beautiful memories!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post this wonderful review.
We hope to see you at Kievits Kroon again soon.
Alan O'Leary, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    79
    33
    11
    17
See reviews for
23
155
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I went for the Lazy Sunday package at Kieviets Kroon and it was one of the most memorable days of our lives. We started at the Spa where the service and friendliness of staff was exceptional, the facilities were spectacular and the massage was one of the best I've ever had. After that we went for the 3 (actually seven) course lunch where once again the service was fantastic, and the food was of top quality and well presented. Finally we ended off by relaxing in the Jacuzzi as the sun set. The facilities were exquisite and clean and the ambiance of the lodge makes one feel as though one is of royal importance. I cannot recommend this enough! And on top of all this it is extremely well priced and great value for money; we'll definitely be doing it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalabam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Lalabam

I'm delighted you enjoyed our Laid-back Sunday package ("Lazy" is a good word to describe it!), which is relatively new and proving to be very popular. It's a great way to prepare for the new week.

Many thanks for posting this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kieivits Kroon.

Kind regards

Alan O'Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My sister and I decided to get away and relax. The beauty about Kievits Kroon is that you do not have to drive far yet the moment you drive into the gates you feel as though you have escaped into another world of relaxation and tranquility. We were welcomed with a cocktail and very friendly staff. The Cape Dutch architecture and beautiful gardens add to the surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Katevh
Thank you for this great review. You really have captured the essence of Kievits Kroon - a fantastic escape just outside the city. I'm very happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Alan O'Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed overnight here at a two day conference. The conferencing facilities were good, except for VERY bad WiFi, which I consider an essential for a good conferencing facility. Food and rooms were ok. The gardens and general surroundings were beautiful. The bar and terrace were really nice, as was the pool. Easy to access from Pretoria or Joburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianainspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear dianainspace

I'd like to apologise for the slow Wi-Fi connectivity which you experienced at your conference.

This is the feedback from our IT Manager Mpho Mufamadi:

"We have four 4Mbps ADSL lines, bonded by a Vox Datapro Fishbone router which makes it virtually a 16Mbps line. These lines are run from Telkom copper cables which are constantly being stolen. When this happens, as it did recently, we rely on our backup line, which is a 1Mbps fiber-optic line, and is not as fast as the 4 ADSL lines.

We are, however, working on a plan to move away from copper cables and add both a microwave and an upgraded fibre line. Both options will exceed the current ADSL speed, and give guests a much faster internet connectivity.

The fiber upgrade is underway and the microwave will be completed by end January 2013."

Kind regards

Alan O'Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very tranquil surroundings, nice atmosphere, and excellent dining. Complained about being given a room that was not cleaned or serviced yet (well after check-in time), and a very noisy service door which kept banging all night long disturbing our sleep, amongst a few other below-par experiences. We were asked to fill in lengthy questionaires, but nobody from management bothered to contact us or apologise for the problems. The Restaurant (where we had the 'Wine Pairing menu') is very sparsely decorated and lacks atmosphere, but the food more than made up for that. For the price, I expected a better room and management attitude for a 5* establishment, but I was very impressed with the dining.

Room Tip: Away from service doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TradewindExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear TradewindExplorer

I am disappointed that your stay with us was marred by some poor experiences and apologise sincerely that they were not dealt with at the time. We are addressing your concerns internally and I understand that our hotel manager has been in contact with you directly to make amends.
Kind regards

Alan O'Leary
Managing Director
Kievits Kroon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had booked the "Spring True Romance" package to celebrate our anniversary. On our arrival we could clearly see that the bar staff member could not handle all the guests' requests. He got irritated with us and our cocktails didn't seem to have any alcohol in (maybe because it was free?). The spa treatment was odd because we had specifically asked for attention to feet; both therapists barely even touched our feet and the therapist who treated my husband couldn't give him a firm enough massage. On the other hand I can just say that the spa is very well kept. The buffet dinner was just another buffet and very average. Besides this, the hotel and its grounds are very beautiful. I still don't understand why they asked us when making a reservation "what is the occassion?" because we didn't get anything special. The whole experience was actually very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Jeannette S
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your experience clearly did not meet your expectations and I'm as disappointed as you are. Our Hotel Manager will be in contact with you to discuss what happened so we can address your concerns.
Kind regards
Alan O'Leary
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hi Yolanda

On behalf our the team at Interactive Captives, we would like to give a big thank you to your wonderful staff. The service at Kievits Kroon is first class, the staff & very friendly, courteous & definitely go the extra mile for not only their guests but to us as service providers. It was an absolute pleasure staying with you last week for the Aberdare conference. Please give your team a well deserved round of applause for the sterling job.

Hope to work with you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hazel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.3 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
10.2 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#18 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
10.3 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Property: Kievits Kroon
Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning country retreat, synonymous with style and elegance, Kievits Kroon is the perfect hideaway for romantic weekends and an ideal choice for corporate groups that seek a unique business experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Conveniently located just outside Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, the estate is a superb destination that strikes a harmonious balance between sensory indulgence and luxurious hospitality. Known as the "Winelands in Gauteng" because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, the estate boasts expansive lawns and gardens with a sparkling lap pool, a wellness spa with outstanding thermae facilities, and a gourmet restaurant, Granita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing