We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Portugese Restaurant in Pretoria.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LM in the East

LM in the East
Ranked #89 of 668 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
218 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Portugese Restaurant in Pretoria.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent. Best Prawns. Nobody can do calamari better than LM. It is my special place for seafood. The meat dishes also good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EATOUTSUNDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The service, the food, it's all great. We have been going to LM for about 13 years now and we feel part of the family.We go almost every week and love it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xandervt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfectly Portuguese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

When I was growing up in Boksburg we used to visit a Portuguese restaurant that made delicious meals, was family run and had all the makings of a Portuguese mother's kitchen. I have not had Portuguese food like that in years until I found LM in the East! I had the LM steak and it was truly delicious, great value for money and worth a visit if you are in Pretoria.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Time warp...in a positive sense”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Walking into the restaurant took me right back to the 80's and reminded me of a similar restaurant we used to go to in Arcadia. The music only featured hits of the 60's and 70's, taking my husband and I on a trip down memory lane. Service was swift initially but we were in a for a long wait for our food. It seemed that our waiter had many tables, including a large one. The complimentary chicken livers was a bit too salty but the breadroll was nice. According to my husband the prawns were the best he had tasted in Pretoria (and he is not easily pleased...). I ordered the peri peri chicken, which was ok and faintly tasted of gas (proparbly cooked on a gas grill). I would recommend that the manager gets more involved. We were never once asked whether our food was ok. Other than that, I will be back for the prawns.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suziq5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“As usual, great food friendly and efficient service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I am in Pretoria this restaurant is a must on the programme,
Fabulous chicken livers in peri peri sauce and their great selection of prawns.The staff is very helpful and love to have a chat with you.
I will be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LM in the East also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to LM in the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing