We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Stay”
Review of Sherewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherewood Lodge
Ranked #20 of 362 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Secunda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Could not ask for a better place to stay!!! The venue and rooms are absolutely stunning, the breakfasts amazing and the staff out of this world!!!! Just one little problem in that we could not stay longer!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mccullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla1958, Manager at Sherewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear McCullys

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We want Sherewood Lodge to be your home away from home. Thank you for the kind words. I am blessed with an excellent team and we strive to make our guests stay an unforgettable one. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. And next time we hope to your stay will be longer.

With warm regards

Lorraine and the Sherewood Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    35
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
52
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fourways, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our stay at Sherewood Lodge was fantastic
The welcome on arrival very warm and helpful and the property clean and beautiful.
The accommodation at Sherewood Lodge is TOP and really takes you back to the bush veld in the way the building's & decor blends in with the surroundings.

I will recommend a stay at Sherewood Lodge to any one traveling to PTA for business or just a break away from the city.

Regards
Cobus Van Den Bergh

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cobus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla1958, Manager at Sherewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Cobus

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that you had a fantastic stay at Sherewood Lodge. We do want Sherewood Lodge to be your home away from home. We are privileged to experience the peace and tranquility of the bushveld each day.
Thank you for recommending Sherewood Lodge to any one traveling to PTA for business or just a break away from the city. Hope to see you soon.

With warm regards

Lorraine and the Sherewood Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Lucia
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited Sherewood Lodge in July and really enjoyed our stay. The manager, Loraine, is an excellent host, very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The Breakfast was very tasty, every morning was another surprise, not same breakfast everyday. The rooms are clean, spacious and has got everything you would need for a relaxing stay. The beds are huge and very comfortable. Linen is soft and proper percale. Unit 10 is the best unit as it has a balcony which overlooks a little dam, private and spacious. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KarBia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla1958, Manager at Sherewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear St Lucia

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the kind words, I have an excellent team and we do want our guests to have a memorable stay. I am so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. We cannot wait to see you again.

Kind regards

Lorraine and the Sherewood Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Really a good location, much nicer then expected from the pics. And a nice and good cook! We had a family room at the back, with a lovely garden.
We were very surprised with the good food. We spend the day at the swimming pool, but the pool was very cold, that was a shame.





  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank svdmeijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla1958, Manager at Sherewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear S vd Meijs

Thank you for the review. The garden is peaceful, and we have lots of birds!! We want your stay with us to be a memorable one. We do special breakfasts for our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed it. You will have to come back in summer so that you can enjoy our pool.

With kind regards from the Sherewood Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabie, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

As a family we have stayed at Sherewood Lodge a few times, last year and we returned again this year. We will return again. Superbly run. Friendly people. Great rooms. Delicious breakfast. Bushveld feel close to the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MalaysianFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla1958, Manager at Sherewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Malaysian Family

It was like welcoming back home loved family members back from a holiday. Thank you for the kind review. We do want our guests (Sherewood Lodge Family) to have a great stay.

Cannot wait to see you again.

With warm regards from the Sherewood Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Really great hotel. The service is outstanding and the breakfast is amazing. Nice clean rooms and a beautiful garden and pool where you can relax and safe parking inside the gate. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla1958, Manager at Sherewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Thomas

Thank you for the wonderful review. We always strive to make your stay an unforgettable experience. If you enjoyed our beautiful garden in winter then you must experience it in summer with our sunny South African summers.

Kind regards
Lorraine (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Thanking Ozzie for his friendly welcomed service on Saturday. As usual everything was perfect, that's why we came back again, and will do again :-) Close to shopping centers. Breakfast was delicious. Love Helen & Julius!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla1958, Manager at Sherewood Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ellen

Thank you for the review. It is always a privilege to welcome back our guests. We truly have the best of both worlds – Sebesebe (peace, rest, comfort & tranquility) and then the lovely shopping malls nearby. We love our dogs that we have adopted from the SPCA. But they need names, please like our Face book page and give them names. The lucky winner will win one night for free!!!
Keep well.
Regards
Lorraine and the Sherewood Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
10.2 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
508 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
338 reviews
9.2 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
9.7 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#25 of 73 in Pretoria
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherewood Lodge

Property: Sherewood Lodge
Address: 100 Cole Road | Shere, Pretoria 0041, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 362 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherewood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherewood Lodge is a boutique guest house situated in Shere, Pretoria. The lodge is characterized by lush vegetation of Fever, Rock Fig, Karee and Acacia trees, which give the landscape a breath-taking quality of natural beauty. The Thatched guest house and cottages are designed in an urban-rustic style with warm African colors and natural materials of stone, wood and slate which create an atmosphere of complete peace with the natural surroundings. Despite being nestled within the green landscapes of Shere, the lodge is actually conveniently close to all of the necessary facilities and amenities; both tourist attractions and natural retreats. The lodge is conveniently close to the M4, offering easy access to the bigger Pretoria area, the urban hub of Johannesburg and the OR Tambo International Airport. Sherewood promises visitors a real treat as they escape the hustle and bustle and immerse themselves in a ‘Sebesebe’ experience, Sotho word for rest, peace, tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sherewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing