We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambiance Guest House
Ranked #4 of 362 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay!! We felt welcome from the moment we arrived, Deidre certainly goes the extra mile for her guests. We stayed in a beautiful room and we enjoyed every minute at the guest house. Excellent attention to detail! Hope to visit Ambiance Guest House in the near future!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
23
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was my dream guest house! The interior design was superb, especially for the price. The website boasts a refreshingly apt portrayal of each room: unlike other B&B's with misleading photographs, we didn't feel cheated when we saw our room.

What struck me was everything was done with such heart - the decor, the garden and especially Deidre's interaction with us. This is a business run with excellence and passion, and that comes through in everything. Every now and then we'd hear a guest arriving or leaving - but other than that, we felt like the only people there. I simply can't recommend this enough.

Room Tip: If you need to unwind, the Paris room has an amazing bath and lavender incense, with bubble bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Three of us (self, partner and grandson) arrived at Ambiance after an overnight flight from London, expecting the rest of our party to arrive a couple of hours later, having flown from Newcastle via Paris. In fact they were 24 hours late due to plane problems. Deidre (with whom I'd had much friendly correspondence prior to our visit) and Pieter were extremely welcoming. The rooms were comfortable and they couldn't do too much to make our stay happy, including getting hold of SA sim cards for our mobile phones. I would definitely stay there again and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to arrive in a warm and welcoming place,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieE186295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Randomly choosing an affordable place to stay in Pretoria during the World Cup rush was daunting, but my family and I definitely chose the perfect place when we reserved at the Ambiance Guesthouse. We were so lucky!
Deidre and Pieter welcomed us with sincere warmth and went the extra to assure that we - and all their guests - were happy and enjoyed our experience in South Africa. Indeed, we felt we were visiting friends. Our room at the Ambiance was comfortably decorated and fully equipped. It included a kitchenette stocked with staples and snacks, sofa, television, table, chairs, desk etc. and free wi-fi. It was very relaxing and opened to the garden. They did have two very friendly and polite dogs, no cats.
The guesthouse was conveniently located in a safe and quiet neighborhood, and there was a small shopping plaza with banks and supermarket a short walk away. On match day we were able to walk to Loftus stadium and the Hatfield and university area. The Brooklyn and Menlyn malls were within close driving distance, It was also easy access to the major highways - the N4 and N1- as well as only 45 minutes from Tambo international airport.
Staying at the Ambiance Guesthouse and meeting the wonderful people of South Africa were the highlights of our World Cup experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuaMulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

we stopped at the Ambiance during the world cup and couldnt have asked for a better place to stay, from the first moment we arrive both Diedre and Pieter looked after us as though we were part of the family, Diedre made our breakfasts every day no matter what time we got up and she makes a mean full english with a south african twist, Pieter was a true gent and wouldnt think twice about putting a glass of pinotage in your hand and having a chat. They put on one of the best braai (bbq`s) that i have ever been too and if you dont return with a few excess pounds around the middle i will be very surprised, the guest house is nicely situatted between Brooklyn and Hatfield so plenty of bars and restaurants to go to, if you fancy trips out during the day, we visited the lion park, cheetah sanctuary,sun city , soweto, cullinan mine and many other places within easy reach by car and if you dont want to hire a car then ask Diedre to ask her friend Laurinda to take you around she has very good rates to ferry you around and she is a excellent tour guide. we loved our stay at the Ambiance and cant wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarlingtonPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
3.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
3.5 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#2 of 362 in Pretoria
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#1 of 362 in Pretoria
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moroccan House
Moroccan House
#5 of 362 in Pretoria
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Mont D'or Bohemian House
#3 of 362 in Pretoria
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiance Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiance Guest House

Property: Ambiance Guest House
Address: 28 3rd Street, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 362 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambiance Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French country comfort in the heart of Pretoria! Walking distance to shopping centre, restaurants, pubs, Hatfield student mecca, bus & taxi routes, university. Just round the corner from all major routes, accessible to embassies, Pretoria Country Club. 5-10 mins by car to Brooklyn & Menlyn Park shopping malls. Central, cosy & peaceful. Automated garage entrance with parking by your room. All rooms with private entrances and patios. Decor-with-a-difference! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing