We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mini San Simeon in Pretoria!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Monte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castello di Monte
Ranked #2 of 355 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A mini San Simeon in Pretoria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Built 11 years ago by somebody who had Randolph Hearst ambitions! Italianate and grand with lovely furnishings and mirrors throughout. Not quite my taste but a great sense of luxury for one night. We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite on arrival - a very nice touch - you could fit much of our house in it. His and hers bathrooms and a spacious walk in dressing room. The view from the lovely bedroom of the sun setting over Pretoria was lovely as was that of the garden.

The large bed was comfortable - all in all a pity we only had one night and needed to leave early in the morning!

Room Tip: If you fell cheeky or flash ask for the presidential suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    36
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
133
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Castello di Monte is amazing in every regard - from the excellent service to the cleanliness and not to mention the delicious meals. I highly recommend this beautiful guesthouse! I will be sure to stay there on every trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Casstello for our aniversary and since our stay there I've been telling all my friends to go there as well, even if it is just for a weekend. It was so special and every need was catered for. Thank you so much Castello! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CharleneS846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are looking for a open rooftop with an incredible view of PTA, Castello di Monte is your place. My advice would be to check what time the sun sets on your date, and go 20 minutes before to catch it! That way you get both the day and night view of scenery.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simonvandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed there the night after our marriage. The staff was friendly and the service was good. We also had a lovely massage that afternoon. Awesome breakfast the following morning with a 360 view :)

Francois Burger

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank saguran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic - highly recommended!
Lovely interior and finishes, safe and secure environment.
Immaculate views and atmosphere.
Highly professional service and attention to detail.
Upmarket and very romantic!


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Being from Tuscany, this was a trip back in time for me as I have rarely been back since arriving in SA 40 (gulp!) years ago. When it dawned on me that my 2nd wedding annisersary was coming up...I searched and found this place on the net. Less then an hour away from home it sounded perfect, so I booked the Honeymoon Suite. What a beautiful place it turned out to be, with gorgeous attention to every detail. The biggest surprise, other than the sparkling wine on ice in the suite, fresh fruit, a romantic dinner for two in the uppermost terrace had to be the standard of the food...absolutely top class!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerio1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.1 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 73 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#13 of 73 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
3.3 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monte

Property: Castello di Monte
Address: 402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 355 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Monte 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Monte Is a Five Star Guest House, situated in Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria. The Tuscan style estate portrays pure luxury and elegance and offers spectacular views of the hills in and around the capital city. The landscaped gardens with mature olive trees and lavender bushes give an Italian flavour to the African landscape.You will hardly notice that you are in the middle of a bustling city. At Castello di Monte it is easy to believe that you had found paradise Introduction If luxury is in the detail, then a stay at Castello di Monte is filled with pure indulgence whether you are walking the dramatic stairways made of the finest granite or feasting on the elegant art that adorns our walls you will be pressed to find a more extravagant surroundings. Be it for a corporate meeting or a romantic getaway on our Panoramic deck, Castello di Monte offers the perfect setting. When it is time to retire, you will be spoiled for choice. Will it be our presidential suite complete with a grand fire place and a four post bed or our honeymoon suite decorated with hand painted murals or our freshly made classic rooms fit for royalty, a sumptuous night is ensured. Castello di Monte's sixteenth century splendour is complimented by every modern amenity. Fully stocked minibars and DSTV right down to underfloor heating, air-conditioning and the creature comforts of tea, coffee and local papers, at Castello di Monte your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Castello di Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing