We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opikopi Stay review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opikopi Guest House
Ranked #1 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Facilities are excellent. Breakfast and area around the pool great. However, TV reception and picture quality was poor and limited channels. Parking sometimes a bit tricky. All and all good value for money and I shall be back next visit

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tinus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your review on Opikopi Guest House.

I am so glad that you have enjoyed the food as well as the tours that we have organized for you.

We do supply 14 DSTV channels in all the rooms. That include sport, news, movies, local channels as well as series channel. We do have problems with the quality of the channels if the weather is stormy or thunderstorms in the area. That we do not have control over. Hope that the next time you visit us we will have sunny sky's. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 277 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very good and secure place to stay when visiting Pretoria. Staff was very friendly and service minded. They helped us book a local guide "Ted" who is excellent and has a deep knowledge of all important sights.
This B&B also offers dinner and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments on Opikopi Guest House.

We always try to make use of Ted as our in-house tour operator. His knowledge of history and all the tourist attractions is so extended. The bonus is that he is such a lovely person as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Opikopi. The place is so lovely and tranquil and the staff so friendly and obliging. If I ever need a place to stay in Pretoria again, Ill definitely book there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our Guest House.

It was a pleasure to accommodate you at our guest house. Hope that we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Opi-Kopi is a guest house in the eastern surburbs of Pretoria and conveniently nearby the N1, yet in a quiet area. It is indeed located on top of a ridge with pleasant views from the rooms, I enjoy my stays. The reception is warm yet professional, the rooms are large, well appointed and with enough space to do your early morning exercises. The food is excellent, room service quick and the owners take trouble to make you feel at home, Some of the parking spaces need experienced drivers, but the staff are very helpful in showing you in. I'm already booked for three future weekends this year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teuns V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for choosing Opikopi Guest House as your accommodation destination in Pretoria.

We will strive that the service will always be up to you expected standard.

Looking forward to spoil you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent.....it was the best stay ever!!!! :-). All areas of service were Excellent as stipulated below. The VENUE as well as the neighbourhood is really peaceful and provides for perfect relaxation....Awesome.....food even more AWESOME!...;-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

It's was such a pleasure to accommodate you and your family at our guest house.

Hope that we can spoil you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Opikopi is the best guest house in the area. The staff are always friendly and helpfull. The rooms are neat, clean and very comfortable. The food is execellent and they will try to accomodate your tastes. I have been using Opikopi for the past few years and will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ajith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comment. It's always a pleasure to accommodate you at our Guest House. Hope that we will se you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The whole place is really nice, the reception very friendly, the security excellent. However, the cupboard (clothing) had a terrible mouldy smell - so much that I didn't put anything in it but left everything in my suitcase. The bed was small (for 2 people) and well worn through - one tended to roll into the worn Areas. The shower area is nice and big but the water squirted out of the head in all directions, the shower head in the bath tub was worse. We only ate breakfast here - the breakfast area is nice and cosy, the staff very pleasant and kind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnneTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Good day dear Opikopi Guest.

It's always good to hear good as well as bad things about our establishment. Good is better :) but with the bad we can do something about the problem.

I have checked the room that you have used and just a few points that I would like to make.

The bed size in the room is a queen size extra length. Standard for a 4 star size bed in a guest house in South Africa. 80% of my rooms do have a king size extra length matrass in, but the room that you have chosen on the internet had the queen size bed. In addition we fitted a memory foam convertor for more comfort on the bed. That tend to make the bed very soft and cosy. Maybe that is the reason for your rolling over towards your partner. I can assure you that it is new beds. I have upgraded the beds in December 2012 in the entire guest house to the extra length matrasses.

As the smell in the cupboard: We do not find any problem at the moment. We are checking it now on a daily basis and so far their is no smell at all. I can only suspect that the previous visitor kept something in the cupboard the day before your arrival. I do not know for sure. Sorry about your problem. You should have reported it immediately and we would have moved you to another room.

The old outdated bathroom: I have spend a lot of money to fit these authentic taps (although they are new when we installed them 4 year ago) into the bathroom. The bathroom theme is 1940's with a slipper bath with brass legs and brass taps.
The showerhead that was a problem, (only one hole that was blocked and created the water to spray in an odd direction) was ordered in November 2013 and is already fitted. Waited 3 months for delivery. We do have also sometimes dirt / ? that will block small holes in the showers and we will not notice the problem unless guest, like yourself, will bring it to our attention. . That is why we do appreciate comments like this.

Hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that we can spoil you again in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.0 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 73 in Pretoria
284 reviews
6.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#2 of 364 in Pretoria
259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Mont D'or Bohemian House
#4 of 364 in Pretoria
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opikopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opikopi Guest House

Address: 581 Verdi Street | Erasmuskloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: $88 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Opikopi Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Tourism Winner as BEST GUEST HOUSE IN SOUTH AFRICA WITH DINNERS IN 2012 AND 2014. Tshwane Tourism Award Winner 2010: Guest HouseOpikopi is situated centrally in a quiet Eastern Pretoria suburb called Erasmuskloof and is close to numerous attractions and offices: Botanical Gardens, Voortrekker Monument, Union Buildings, Menlyn shopping Mall, Sita Offices, Kloof Medic Clinic, Waterkloof and Wingate Park Golf Course, N1 freeway and only 20 min from OR Tambo Airport! This makes our Guest House ideal for the local and international visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Opikopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing